We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a find.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ben's Cornish Kitchen

Ben's Cornish Kitchen
Ranked #1 of 19 Restaurants in Marazion
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$45
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What a find.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

You must try this place for yourself.
We stayed in Marazion for 2 weeks and had such a brilliant meal the 1st week we had to go back in the 2nd week.
The food and service are both exceptional. If it wasn't 400 miles from home we would visit more often!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tricky990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    754
    79
    25
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lucky Table”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

We tried to get booked into Ben Cornish Kitchen, but it was fully booked for days in advance. Went on the web site and they had a table booking option. Looks like there was a cancellation, because we got in on Saturday night. We were not disappointed.
What a lovely place, with a nice warm atmosphere, friendly attentive staff and great food. I think we could have chosen anything on the menu and it would have been cooked well, beautifully presented and tasted great.
As part of our holiday we try to have a couple of meals out during our stay and this place was memorable and well worth going out of our way to get to.
But you need to get it booked in advance, you can't just turn up in the evening.
A lovely evening.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Smartymart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
70 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Jay Rayner missed the dessert of a lifetime”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

In his August 2 review of Ben's Cornish Kitchen in the Guardian, he says he didn't want to risk spoiling a great meal with the "Sweet Curry Plate" dessert. He missed out big time. At my wife's birthday party there on July 25 this year one of our party chose it and we all agreed it was spectacular.

BTW, I agree with everything else Jay said. It's a great restaurant; not cheap, but certainly some of the best and most innovative food I have tasted.

One thing however; I live in the US where dress code is only an issue in the fanciest eating places. We dressed up for dinner only to find we were sharing the room with a few guests in shorts/jeans/T-shirts. Mind you, if I owned the restaurant, I'd find it hard to refuse to serve anyone. So what can you do?

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank M N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best meal of our trip.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We booked based on reviews and it did not disappoint. Staff were extremely accommodating of us with our 10 month old baby. Its nice to still be able to have great meals out and not settle for a chain just because we have a baby! Food was excellent quality and well presented. The lunch menu was great value, so we had all three courses. Just two or three choices but that's all you need if you are not a fusspot. And if you are, then just head to a maccy d's.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pigsyandtrud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
133 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“A little disappointed with choice on menu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Having eaten here before, we visited with friends as a special occasion.
The food we had was superb but the menu was limited in its meat dishes of lamb or chicken .... no steak available, which was disappointing as it was so beautifully cooked last time. It seemed more fish orientated this time, even on the starters.
We had the lamb which was delicious.
Service was efficient and friendly.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Raptormad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenPrior, Owner at Ben's Cornish Kitchen, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Hi Raptormad

So glad you enjoyed your evening with us but sorry you felt the selection was not right for you. I just wanted to let you know that next time your about you can pre order a steak on booking 24hr notice. Finding quality beef this time of year is a problem with the demand so high and the huge prices.

I try to please everyone as much as possible so anything I can do just call next time please.

Kind regards Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ben's Cornish Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Ben's Cornish Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing