We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You really can't be in Cornwall and not see St Michael's Mount”

St. Michael's Mount
Book In Advance
More Info
US$371.59*
and up
Spectacular West Cornwall Highlights Luxury Private Tour from Devon
Ranked #1 of 9 things to do in Marazion
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Cross the causeway where a legendary giant once walked. Follow the footsteps of pilgrims or boat hop to an island where modern life meets layers of history. Discover an evocative castle, a sub-tropical garden paradise and a close-knit island community.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“You really can't be in Cornwall and not see St Michael's Mount”
Reviewed 28 December 2011

St Michael's Mount is unique, at least in Britain: an island with a tiny village and castle/manor that you can walk out to when the tide's out. I've been out to it twice, and really enjoy it. It doesn't take long to see - an hour would be enough for a quick walk-through, 2 to 3 for a more leisurely tour. It has gardens, forest, rocky terrain, cemeteries, a tiny village, a harbour, and a castle all in one place. Well worth the visit in my opinion. And kids seem to really enjoy it because it's not all indoors.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank UK_Gator_67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,164
    846
    142
    41
    16
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea County, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Everyone should go at least once.”
Reviewed 27 December 2011

The whole concept of an island which you can walk to at low tide is one of those fantasy story ideas you read about in novels. To visit the "actuality" is one of those strange events in life where you see something with your own eyes but still can't quite believe it. 
We've been a couple of times, now, and on our first visit made the outbound trip on a small boat, near high-tide. Weather conditions were poor and, all in all, it was quite a rough ride. We walked right to the top of the mount and did the Castle tour too. Took some lovely photos, on the way around. We took our time on the climb, tour and descent, visited the obligatory shop and ate a pastie in the cafe, with a fine glass of Caffe Latte. By this time, the tide was out and we were able to walk back along the Causeway. 
On our second visit, we walked out at low tide, and walked back as the Causeway was just about to flood, lingering along the way to watch the sea creep in behind us. Several people chose to wade through the water both with, and without, Wellington boots. The flood is very gentle at first, but it's acceleration is vicious. 
If you're going, get a set of tide tables, plan in advance, and make the most of your day. 
Everyone should go at least once. 

Helpful?
2 Thank TheDeacon1323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Stunning - but crowded”
Reviewed 23 December 2011

Parking was not a problem and so, with the sun beaming down, my family and I set out along the causeway towards the Mount. This was an experience in itself and to be honest, I was rather excited to be walking along this rocky path with the sea either side of me, as so many others have done, for so many hundreds of years.
We paid upon arrival (payment is extra for the gardens) and started the long climb up the hill, along the winding path towards the Mount itself. This climb was actually very interesting. for there is plenty to see and the views towards the mainland are outstanding. My two young children complained more than once about the walk up the hill ("my legs are tired Daddy!") but they soon found themselves enjoying the fact that they were so high and could see so far.
However, this enthusiasm quickly waned when we arrived at the entrance to the buildings and saw the hundreds of other tourists who had also walked up the hill. If you decide to visit the Mount, my advice would be to avoid August, especially on a warm day in the summer holidays. We were not given such advice and as such were stuck in a long, long queue.
Eventually, we squeezed into the ancient building and were pleased to find that the children were given a quiz to complete. Walking around was very interesting, although more signs and explanations would have been useful - I am sure that I am not the only person to object to buying a guidebook after paying for a whole family to enter. Nevertheless, we all learnt a lot and were particularly interested to find ourselves next to a sofa upon which Queen Victoria once sat!
Eventually, we wandered back to the causeway and walked back to shore, just as the tide started to come back in and tickle at our ankles. We then sat on the rocks on the mainland beach, watching other people try to walk along the causeway as the tide rose higher and higher! Don't worry though - nobody drowned - and there are small boats to transport you to and from the Mount if necessary. All in all, a very enjoyable afternoon and one that all of us will remember.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank thommo 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brackley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a visit”
Reviewed 16 December 2011

We walked across at low tide and caught the boat back to the mainland, it was a great days visit and although the cafe's there were pricey (captive audience!) the food was fine. We walked to the top and visited everything possible to make it a full day and there was nothing that wasn't interesting. I would say worth a visit but if possible plan for a whole day and take your time, but possibly take a packed lunch....

Visited January 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“what a view”
Reviewed 20 November 2011

this is well worth a visit, the walk is great (watch that tide)

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank 9chuckademus9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed St. Michael's Mount also viewed

 
Perranporth, Cornwall
 

Been to St. Michael's Mount? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing