We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Limited Winter Accessibility”

St. Michael's Mount
Book In Advance
More Info
US$371.59*
and up
Spectacular West Cornwall Highlights Luxury Private Tour from Devon
Ranked #1 of 9 things to do in Marazion
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Cross the causeway where a legendary giant once walked. Follow the footsteps of pilgrims or boat hop to an island where modern life meets layers of history. Discover an evocative castle, a sub-tropical garden paradise and a close-knit island community.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
England
Level Contributor
94 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Limited Winter Accessibility”
Reviewed 23 January 2012

As a National Trust Member I was hoping to visit, but surprised to find out that it was only open a couple of days during the week. Not very helpful for people that work during the week. The nearby town had many places closed leaving little for a winter tourist to see or do.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mindings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,164
    846
    142
    41
    16
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ivybridge
Level Contributor
122 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“The causeway”
Reviewed 14 January 2012

We busked here ,
when we were much younger.
Its a very good place to play .

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank BasilIvybridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire, England
Level Contributor
123 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“A memorable place to visit”
Reviewed 5 January 2012

St Michaels Mount loks good from the coast and is really good and worth visiting. Walking across the causeway is the first part of the fun for all the family - or if the tide is in, then take the boat across. Its a great walk if you do the causeway. Then walking round the outside of the Mount is a must as well as taking in the interior. Inside there are some fascinating rooms, paintings, objects and artefacts - and you can learn a lot of history. The National Trust run a very good restaurant/cafe there too.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank JonoLion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“My Magic Castle”
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Have always wanted to see St Michael's Mount, my Fairy Tale Castle built on an Island in the middle of the sea. Well it certainly lived up to my expectations. From my first sighting, to walking across the causeway was truly magical. We had a wonderful visit, didn't have enough time to take everything in though.I am looking forward to returning & seeing more. But next time I think I'll take my 3 Grand daughters, this is definitely a Castle of Dreams!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank GrannyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Plenty to see whether you have the energy to climb to the top or not”
Reviewed 5 January 2012

St Michael's mount is an Historic castle, church, and gardens with plenty of refreshment points to build up or replace the energy expended in climbing up the mound or walking through the garden or both!
The caste is still lived in so there are some areas out of bounds to the general public but he parts that are open provide a great insight into the living styles of the original occupants. There are items of furniture and fittings from the earliest times with the rooms decorated in the original styles.
The narrow passageways and stairways are not easy for some people but they are worth negotiating just to appreciate the lifestyle and beauty.
The attached church has some very interesting brasses, carvings and paintings. There is also an Alacombe apparatus (for ringing the bells) and the pews are all original.
The gardens are worth a visit on their own if you do not wish to climb all the way up the mount to the castle and church, with terraces of unusual plants that benefit from Cornwall's mild climate. I recommend walking across the causeway at low tide to get a different perspective to that viewed from the small boats that provide an ongoing ferry service when the tide is too high to walk across the causeway; it is worth experiencing both!
Allow at least two hours for the gardens and four hours for the mount!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank geoff_grayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed St. Michael's Mount also viewed

 
Perranporth, Cornwall
 

Been to St. Michael's Mount? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing