We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent place to visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of St. Michael's Mount

St. Michael's Mount
Book In Advance
More Info
US$322.38*
and up
Spectacular West Cornwall Highlights Luxury Private Tour from Devon
Ranked #1 of 9 things to do in Marazion
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Cross the causeway where a legendary giant once walked. Follow the footsteps of pilgrims or boat hop to an island where modern life meets layers of history. Discover an evocative castle, a sub-tropical garden paradise and a close-knit island community.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Wickford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent place to visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

interesting and unique place to visit. Avoid the boat service to the island - wait for lo tide and walk across the causeway.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank JulianLees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,089 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,073
    821
    139
    41
    15
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Caddington
Level Contributor
465 reviews
159 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Despite the gales, a great visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

On one of Cornwall's windiest days we chose to visit St Michaels Mount, and after waiting for the tide to drop to reveal the causeway to cross over, as the boats were all cancelled due to the sea and wind conditions we were able to get up to the castle to explore its amazing views and history. The grandchildren really enjoyed the quiz and getting their winners medal whilst learning a lot about the family history. Not a disabled visitor friendly attraction due to the steep uneven pathways up, but for those with moderate fitness the effort is extremely well rewarded. A fantastic visitor attraction.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hinton, Canada
Level Contributor
87 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

Such an amazing place. We got to watch the tide come in and flow over the path!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank C F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good attraction for Marazion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

Not to be missed. The views from the castle are not to be missed and anyone who is a member of National Trust will get in free.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank bikeryorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Unique, beautiful, interesting and lots of walking & climbing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

I spent a morning with a group of friends exploring St Michael's Mount. We were dropped in Marzion and had to figure out getting to the castle - at high tide it is an island, while at low tide it is accessible via a walkway. We took a small ferry across at 10:00 am when the castle opened. It was a bit of an adventure figuring out where to catch the ferry - but we watched others and made our way across part of the beach to a small rock dock. By the time we finished our tour, we could walk back to town on the walkway - fun to experience both!
There is a lot of walking and climbing a steep hill with rugged cobblestones. But the climb was worth it - the castle is liveable and there were many rooms to see. The view from the top is SPECTACULAR. We only had time for a quick look at the gardens, but did see them from above too.
A fun and interesting visit.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank MHboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed St. Michael's Mount also viewed

 

Been to St. Michael's Mount? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing