We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must see”

St. Michael's Mount
Book In Advance
More Info
US$362.56*
and up
Spectacular West Cornwall Highlights Luxury Private Tour from Devon
Ranked #1 of 9 things to do in Marazion
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Cross the causeway where a legendary giant once walked. Follow the footsteps of pilgrims or boat hop to an island where modern life meets layers of history. Discover an evocative castle, a sub-tropical garden paradise and a close-knit island community.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A must see”
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We had a wonderful trip to St. Michael's Mount, I'd definitely recommend it to anyone visiting that area of Cornwall.

The path (I use that word loosely) to the castle is very uneven but it's worth it when you finally get to the top. The views are spectacular and the set out walk around the castle is quite good. The gardens were shut when we went, so if you want to see those it's worth checking which days they're open on before you go.

Food at the cafe was very nice and reasonably priced for a tourist attraction.

We were able to walk back across the causeway which was a fun and slightly surreal experience.

It's somewhere I'd definitely recommend and I would go back if I went to that area of Cornwall again.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rosie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,233
    871
    150
    41
    16
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
78 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great attraction”
Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

Visiting here takes some planning. The views are beautiful so you want decent weather. You need to check the website for information on the tides because it's most fun to be able to walk at least one way across the causeway and take a boat the other. This is really worth the effort. We walked on the costal path from Penzance (easy walking there) then out to the Mount. Plan to allow a few hours. They also have an interesting garden but it's only open on specific days.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank SANDRA S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A must see”
Reviewed 18 December 2013

This is a wonderful place to see. We started to walk across but the tide came in a bit fast so we backed out and took the boat over - costs only 3 pounds. Make sure you have plenty of time to visit the castle - it's amazing. Also, wear sandshoes/sneakers...it's a bit steep up to the castle and around it. And take water with you.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Aussie2424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Ancient jewel in a sparkling sea”
Reviewed 14 December 2013

From the approach, at low tide, the walk to the mount is magical. It is a rocky path, so watch your step, but walking there gives a surreal experience because it is so far from the coastline. The island is preserved and looks much as it did when it was first built. The castle is not so much grand and boastful as warm and cosy. It is the sort of castle that I think I could live comfortably in and not worry about massive heating bills. The views are some of the most stunning views that you will see. As with all ancient sites, legends and mystery abound. Look out for the giants heart on the steep walk to the top. By the time we had finished our visit, the tide had rolled in and so we took about to the mainland. Again, this was wonderful.
All in all, it had charm, stories and views to die for. It is much smaller than its sister island, Mont St. Michel, ( incidentally, built by the same monks) but it has a more relaxed feel and a more old world feel.
Check it out for yourself.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fairyland comes alive here”
Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

What a magical place. Your first view of the mount takes your breath away.The castle is very ininteresting particularly as the family still live there. The views from the mount across the bay are just fabulous. I was lucky enough to see a double rainbow right over the castle. I wish I hadn't been driving or there would be an amazing photograph.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank 1cornish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed St. Michael's Mount also viewed

 
Perranporth, Cornwall
 

Been to St. Michael's Mount? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing