We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Dog Friendly”

St. Michael's Mount
Book In Advance
More Info
and up
Spectacular West Cornwall Highlights Luxury...
Ranked #2 of 10 things to do in Marazion
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Cross the causeway where a legendary giant once walked. Follow the footsteps of pilgrims or boat hop to an island where modern life meets layers of history. Discover an evocative castle, a sub-tropical garden paradise and a close-knit island community.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Dogs in the garden, NT miss a trick, if you are visiting with your friendly canine companion - there is nothing to do.. all areas allowed with dogs could take you 20 mins at a push....
Just very disappointing - overrated if you visit with dogs! Be. aware....

Thank Colin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saintmichaelsmount, Guest Relations Manager at St. Michael's Mount, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Many thanks for your comments and apologies that you have had cause to complain. Whilst we appreciate that our dog policy can be frustrating for some, we do try and be as accommodating and welcoming as possible whilst preserving and conserving a 600 year old heritage, tidal island.

We do welcome dogs and they are allowed across the causeway and around our village and harbour side. However, they can't go into the gardens and up to the castle at the summit of the Mount, not only for heritage and conservation reasons, but also due to steepness and safety and the island being a family home to the St Aubyn family and 30 island residents.

We do attempt to be as transparent as possible regarding our policy and information is included on all our marketing collateral, website and mainland signage prior to a visit. However, appreciate that you may have missed this on your visit and do hope you are able to visit us in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,738)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More languages
All reviews
"national trust"
in 328 reviews
"low tide"
in 297 reviews
"tide times"
in 143 reviews
"steep climb"
in 146 reviews
"boat ride"
in 138 reviews
"cobbled path"
in 54 reviews
"visited st"
in 98 reviews
"sail loft"
in 44 reviews
"small boat"
in 36 reviews
"walk up"
in 50 reviews
"car park"
in 175 reviews
"well worth the effort"
in 64 reviews
"stunning views"
in 104 reviews
"per adult"
in 69 reviews
"nt members"
in 52 reviews
"magical place"
in 51 reviews
"sunny day"
in 83 reviews

2,600 - 2,604 of 3,738 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014

great place to visit, but if you have trouble climbing or are unsteady on your feet this is not the place to visit as there is one way up and down and no other way,

1  Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

You need dry weather because the paths will be slippery as well as rough, uneven and steep in many places. At that stage it is no place for uncontrolled children or the infirm. But on a lovely sunny June day we had a fantastic visit. The castle and church are wonderful and the gardens, which we were visiting for the first time were amazing. How did they ever construct the building without modern machinery? Everything looks well maintained and the gardens are breathtaking especially when you walk around them, seeing how they cling to apparently sheer cliff faces. Refreshment at the harbour are good quality and plentiful. The staff make you feel very welcome.

1  Thank Bob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Was a lovely place to visit, some steep cobbled paths so good footwear is essential, charges to park and the shuttle boat was in my opinion high but expected at these tourist hotshots, well worth the visit!

1  Thank UK_Stoofer_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Spur of the moment visit. Found Susan in the office most helpful and informative when we rang to enquire about accessibility. Joe on the island proved equally helpful. All the staff seemed enthusiastic about working there and contributed to a very positive experience. Access with mobility scooter is limited but we'll worth the visit.

1  Thank Bill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed St. Michael's Mount also viewed


Been to St. Michael's Mount? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing