We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive view of the Mount”

St. Michael's Mount
Book In Advance
More Info
US$369.16*
and up
Spectacular West Cornwall Highlights Luxury Private Tour from Devon
Ranked #1 of 9 things to do in Marazion
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Cross the causeway where a legendary giant once walked. Follow the footsteps of pilgrims or boat hop to an island where modern life meets layers of history. Discover an evocative castle, a sub-tropical garden paradise and a close-knit island community.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Impressive view of the Mount”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

As one approaches Mount St Michael, you are greeted with an impressive view of the church and village which looks very imposing. However as you drive into the town you are greeted by barriers in and out of town. It has got very commercialised and you are guided to a car park where you collect a ticket to enter the carpark.

Be warmed to check the cost of your stay before you get onto the many busses that go to and from the Mount. The journey on the busses to the mount, even for disabled people in chairs is fine as you get taken straight there. Mind, once in the Mount, the lanes are uneven and uphill so one may struggle abit but for the able bodied lots to see and go upstairs for to see the amazing views.

Not really suitable for people with any form of disability or in wheelchairs as main street is very uphill and uneven and may struggle. Lots of places to eat and toilets to refresh oneself.

On our way out of the car park, you need to be aware that it's card only for payment and the money gets taken off automatically and the barrier was slow to raise for us. Mind all in all, a good place to visit.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank aroperofmischief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,129
    837
    140
    41
    16
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely Place - very picturesque! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Great place to visit. Just a few miles from where we are staying. Please can you list Wayfarers camping and caravan site in St Hilary, Penzance as I would like to write a very well deserved review!

Helpful?
1 Thank Lou C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A memorable experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

This attraction was recommended by a colleague of mine. We timed it to cross the causeway at low tide (with 20mins to spare). By the time we reached halfway across the causeway, it dipped so the water level was knee high (being 5ft 3). The kids (6 and 7 yrs) found it fun- it is worth wearing swim wear/ shorts to cross the causeway. My trousers and knickers got wet, as i was wearing a longish tunic I took off my troiusers and explored the castle and grounds trouserless!! The kids were kept busy with a quiz and the climb / walk to the top of the castle was worth it for the magnificent views. The 'climb' is steep and suitable footwear is a must!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tomandli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
223 reviews
135 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“worth looking at”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Called in at Marazion in July, picked up Fish and Chips just a few yards from the Beach and ate them while admiring the view of St. Michaels Mount, I must add the Fish and Chips were first class and Marazion is worth a longer stay with its winding streets and quaint old shops.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank lionel b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“In Cornwall, Then Go!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Being National Trust member for quiet sometime this has been one of my "places to do". Arrived at approx 10 o clock in the morning as we knew it would be a busy attraction. We parked and the car park just outside of marizon which is approx a 30 minute walk to st micheals mount. I had checked the tide times and managed to walk across oppose getting the boat. Once on the island it was brilliant, plenty to see, do, eat, buy. Gardens are lovely, just a word of advice take some suitable footwear as the paths don't really exist and its rocky under foot. spent a few hours here and was lucky enough to enjoy the boat trip back as the tide had gone in. Highly recommend to go here if your on holiday in cornwall.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed St. Michael's Mount also viewed

 
Perranporth, Cornwall
 

Been to St. Michael's Mount? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing