We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wheal Rodney”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wheal Rodney Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Taunton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wheal Rodney”
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Lovely staff and very clean lodge but the swimming pool was dated and really hot and the mens showers by the pool were cracked and need refurbishing. The plumbing meant that the water didn't drain away correctly in the shower. The mens shower in the swimming pool cahnging rooms also did not work. Otherwise an okay expereince but would not camp here as you need a good shower in the mornings and the lodges would be better if they had some outdoor space.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sian L, Owner at Wheal Rodney Holiday Park, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
Thank you for your review, we are so please you found the staff to be helpful and friendly and that the lodge was cleaned to a very high standard. The swimming pool is very warm as we keep the water to 32.c all year round which suits the majority of people. We clean and test all daily and really can’t understand this comment. The shower in the gent’s pool changing room was out of action but only for a few days- 3 other showers were available during this time. Over the winter of 2013 the ladies showers have been completely refitted to a very high standard and this is why the AA have scored us even higher than last year. All showers- both ladies and gents have an excellent powerful flow rate. All lodges have outside seating. Guests are welcome to use all the outdoor space around the lodges- picnic tables are available close to the lodges and also tables and chairs are provided on the patio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    56
    17
    1
    0
See reviews for
111
124
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We enjoyed our visit on some of the hottest days of the year.Facilities were good with indoor pool a bonus.The only let down were the gents showers.Very cramped,difficult to keep clothes from getting wet and strange plumbing which got in the way resulting in accidentally turning hot water tap off.Sudden cold shower a bit of a shock.One other criticism,the shower in the pool changing room(gents)was out of order so no means of showering after swim.Otherwise a good experience.

Room Tip: Stayed on Campervan pitch
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sian L, Owner at Wheal Rodney Holiday Park, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
You were very lucky with the weather and we are glad that you experienced Marazion in the beautiful sunshine.
During the winter of 2013 we planned to refurbish the ladies and gents shower areas. We managed to complete the ladies, however we then discovered our lovely indoor swimming pool had an underground leak in which the pool was losing a lot of water. Instead of closing the pool for our guests for the summer season we didn't refurbish the gent’s showers this winter, alternatively for guest’s enjoyment we fixed the swimming pool.
We are glad that you enjoyed your experience with us overall, and we are always working to make our small site better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Awesome site, location and wonderful staff. Extremely clean and well cared for. Swimming in the pool compares with swimming in Antigua. Wonderful pubs and best pasty shop in world nearby. Easy to walk to all facilities in Marazion. A visit to the Mount is a must. If you love cycling like we do, you can cycle to Newlyn via Penzance, practically off road all the way. One of my favourite cycle rides. We love this site so much that we married from there two years ago. A quiet wedding after 24 years together but once the staff and fellow campers found out, our awning was covered with flowers, cards were left and and gifts of wine and bubbly. Truly one of the best days of my life. We stayed there again in our camper last week and it is still as lovely as ever. The staff work really hard looking after all the hanging baskets and are some of the friendliest folk in Cornwall.

Room Tip: All the pitches that we have stayed on are well kept and a good size for our camper van and awning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank GloucesterBonnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sian L, Owner at Wheal Rodney Holiday Park, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. We are so glad that we still lived up to your expectations after you had your wedding with us a couple of years ago. It just goes to show that it wasn’t a one off and we try our very best so that all of our customers whether new or returning enjoy every aspect of their stay with us. Thank you about your kind comments about our staff.
We hope that you do not wait another two years to come and see us again, even if you wanted to get away in the winter remember we are open in our lodges all year round.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Nice quiet campsite, Good sized, well maintained pitches. Clean and well maintained toilets and showers. Very friendly and helpful staff. Good position for visiting Marazion and St Michael's Mount. We would recommend the site.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MalcolmR88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sian L, Owner at Wheal Rodney Holiday Park, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
We are glad that you had a ‘very enjoyable stay’ here with us at Wheal Rodney. This is what we aim for with each customer. Our pitches are very spacious and are mown frequently to keep them ‘well maintained.’
Our location is very good if you want to visit St Michael’s Mount and if you want to be far enough away out of the main town but close enough to walk.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Camped for 3 nights in July 2013. From arrival to leaving the staff were very helpful and friendly. The facilities are very good. We had pitch 6 which was level and clean with privacy provided by hedging. The swimming pool is very nice. The toilets are clean with excellent hot powerful showers. The kitchen washing up area is well equipped and very clean. A freezer is supplied for ice pack re-freezing, with the availability of free use of their ice packs whilst yours re-freeze. The site is nice and secluded but easily accessible. It is an easy safe walk to the village of Marizion. Overall an excellently run relaxed site, thank you.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ruthless57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sian L, Owner at Wheal Rodney Holiday Park, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. Here at Wheal Rodney we do pride ourselves on what we have to offer here, we can even charge your mobiles, laptops, cameras etc. for free as well as the ice pack service you mentioned above.
We are glad that you found the site ‘excellently run’ because this means that our customers can gain the best experience of Wheal Rodney. This is why are staff are very ‘helpful and friendly’, why are pitches are as level as they can be, why our site is clean and our hanging baskets look stunning, so that when you leave Wheal Rodney you want to return.
We hope to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland
1 review
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We had a lovely stay at Wheal Rodney. We had just the 1 night, and had booked a breakfast. This was waiting for us, and excellent!
The place was spotless! Towels were provided, beds made up!
we could not use the pool, because of lack of time....
It was a bit more out of the way, and the walk into the nearby lovely village, might be too long for some (especially younger children)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank N B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sian L, Owner at Wheal Rodney Holiday Park, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
Thank you for your lovely review, it is as shame that you couldn’t stay for longer and get to use our lovely warm pool.
We are glad that you noticed our high standard of cleanliness and that you found us to be ‘excellent.’
Many thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trogen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

The campsite was very easy to find, staff on arrival very friendly and helpful. The site for my campervan was well maintained and large enough, all the facilities were well kept and I had only one minor downside; where I was parked the Wifi signal was weak and/or intermittent. This site from my point of view rates 5 star

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Judith9043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sian L, Owner at Wheal Rodney Holiday Park, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Thank you for your lovely review.
We do provide directions so that everyone finds us easily so we are glad that you did. The area we provide for our camping spots are very spacious as you state this to allow are campers more comfort and more privacy.
The WIFI that we have here at Wheal Rodney is Fibre Optic Broadband and we have 3 different boosters. The only problems a person could get is if they are sitting in a metal vehicle as this can block internet signal. If you sat outside or by window then this should have been fine.

We are thrilled that you would rate us 5 stars and are glad that all of work here at Wheal Rodney is being appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marazion
0.6 mi away
Marazion Hotel
Marazion Hotel
#2 of 3 in Marazion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mount Haven Hotel & Restaurant
20.8 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
3.1 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
11.9 mi away
Polurrian Bay Hotel
Polurrian Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mullion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wheal Rodney Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wheal Rodney Holiday Park

Property: Wheal Rodney Holiday Park
Address: Gwallon, Marazion TR17 0HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Marazion
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Marazion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wheal Rodney is a beautiful campsite and caravan park. It is just a 10 minute walk to a stunning view of Saint Michael's Mount, the local pub and the shops and centre of Marazion is just a 15 minute walk down the hill. Wheal Rodney has a very warm and well maintained swimming pool on site which kids and adults alike love. The site is very family friendly and quiet and also welcomes dogs. We provide some great off season prices and our self catering bungalows/holiday cottages are always very popular so book early to avoid disappointment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Wheal Rodney Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wheal Rodney Holiday Park Marazion, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing