We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent campsite”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wheal Rodney Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Excellent campsite , friendly staff , well looked after , facilities great , the showers were the best i have used with plenty of hot water , I did not use the swimming pool so i cant comment on that but im sure it was great just like the rest of the site , I couldn't find anything to complain about only that its 360 miles from where I live otherwise I would be camping there a lot more next summer , my partner & I stayed for 6 nights the first week of sept & had a fantastic time & we will defiantly be visiting again next year , thanks
Darren Peters

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Darren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sian L, Owner at Wheal Rodney Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Thank you for your review. We do try and make every visitors stay with us as great as we can, and we are so pleased to find that we made this happen for you. Next time you come you should definitely use the swimming pool.

We will see you next year. If you want to come in peak times and you have a specific pitch that you would like then we do recommend you book quite far in advance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (320)
There are newer reviews for Wheal Rodney Holiday Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 320 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2013

Facilities excellent, very clean. All the staff were friendly. We had a great time camping and would definitely stay there again. The only thing that would make it better would be a small bar for the people staying there.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Louise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sian L, Owner at Wheal Rodney Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2013

We are delighted that you found our campsite to be ‘excellent’ and that are facilities are also outstanding. The main reason we do not have a bar on site is that we are a small quiet site and this is what our regulars love about us. They are not worried about their children or themselves being woken up by noise. We also thought it would be unnecessary as just a 5 minute walk up the lane is our local pub which you can enjoy a drink in until late at night. We hope to welcome you again and thank you for your kind honest review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

This was a lovely little holiday park, chalet was lovely and clean and well presented. The staff were very friendly and helpful and we thoroughly enjoyed the swim in the indoor heated pool. Very good facilities and a lovely little spot to stay. We only stayed overnight on the way home from St Ives. Would definitely recommend this site.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank bencoxey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sian L, Owner at Wheal Rodney Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Even though you had a short stay with us we are glad that you had a lovely time and enjoyed all we had to offer. We do make sure that the lodges are of a high standard of cleanliness and that they are presented well, this makes a guests stay that more enjoyable. We are open all year around so come and visit us again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We do not do camping, but what a find.
We stayd in one of the lodges,very comfortable,clean and everything you need,including ironing board and iron.
We stayed hubby, mum and brother on thursday 12th september.
Staff very helpful, on site shop had the basics and not a rip off.
Hubby and i would normally stay 3 4 or 5 star accomodation,no complaints at all.
Well done to the team.

Room Tip: all you need is your hairdryer
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theresa c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sian L, Owner at Wheal Rodney Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review us and leave such lovely comments. We are glad that you came and stayed with us and had a great experience. We try to make everything available to our customers so that they are as comfortable as they can be whilst staying with us.

We do have hair dryers in reception that can be borrowed whilst you are staying with us. We don’t provide them automatically to save on storage space in the bedrooms.

We hope to welcome you back sometime in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

A lovely quiet small camp site. Staff extremely helpful and friendly. Toilet/shower blocks lovely and clean. Laundry facilities brilliant. Tent pitches were a lovely size - only issue was that not all the pitches were sheltered - it is quite an exposed site. Didn't use the heated pool but was informed by another holiday maker that it was lovely and clean too. Fantastic views. Definately go again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steviej0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sian L, Owner at Wheal Rodney Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Thank you for your review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us. We try to give people a choice of where they would like to camp because some people like to be under the trees and sheltered where as other people like to have no trees around them so they can have the sun on their pitch all day. We are happy that you found the pitches to be a great size and that the facilities and stay were also very good. Next time you come to visit us you will have to use the pool it is lovely and warm.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Stopped at Wheal Rodney on the camping field. Slight slope to ground but nothing horrendous. Site was really well kept, staff were friendly and helpful.
The washing facilities were really good. It was great to go into a shower with real taps and not have to pay 20 p every 2 minutes or stopping to press a button.
Didn't use the pool but did dip the toes in - felt like a bath.

Nice area to walk the dog which was also made welcome.

Thank you for a pleasant stay

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank carlb360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sian L, Owner at Wheal Rodney Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2013

Thank you for your kind comments. We do try to make our site as guest friendly as we can, and we believe that small things like not having to press buttons or add 20p to the meter makes a huge difference especially when you have soap in your hair. We also do things like free hair dryers and a socket where you can plug hair straighteners/curlers in. All these things make a customer’s stay that bit more special, more comfortable like a home from home.

Dogs are always welcome on our site, and as you have stated there are a lot of beautiful places that you can walk your dog without them being banned.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

This is the third year of returning to the site. It is lovely quiet little site that is brilliant for children. The pool is amazingly warm when it is chilly outside and the facilities generally are good, although there were issues with the showers by the pool!! Overall the site is excellently located with a hand lane to the centre. We will return.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bosse10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sian L, Owner at Wheal Rodney Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Thank you for your review.
In the next week we will be starting the works on the pool showers. We couldn’t do this in peak season as we have to close the pool whilst the work is being carried out as the floor has to be dug up. To cause less inconvenience we made the decision to keep the pool open so that our guests could still enjoy a lovely swim, we also made it that the campers showers were available to use to pool guests so as to try and remedy the problem.

We look forward to seeing you again for your fourth visit to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marazion
0.4 mi away
Mount Haven Hotel & Restaurant
0.6 mi away
Marazion Hotel
Marazion Hotel
#2 of 3 in Marazion
328 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Penventon Park Hotel
Penventon Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Redruth
1,257 reviews
5.2 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
2.6 mi away
River Valley Country Park
River Valley Country Park
#1 of 19 in Penzance
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wheal Rodney Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wheal Rodney Holiday Park

Address: Gwallon, Marazion TR17 0HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Marazion
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Marazion
Price Range: £63 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wheal Rodney is a beautiful campsite and caravan park. It is just a 10 minute walk to a stunning view of Saint Michael's Mount, the local pub and the shops and centre of Marazion is just a 15 minute walk down the hill. Wheal Rodney has a very warm and well maintained swimming pool on site which kids and adults alike love. The site is very family friendly and quiet and also welcomes dogs. We provide some great off season prices and our self catering bungalows/holiday cottages are always very popular so book early to avoid disappointment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Wheal Rodney Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wheal Rodney Holiday Park Marazion, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing