We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really Good Value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wheal Rodney Holiday Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wheal Rodney Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Really Good Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Its location is excellent.
Very easy access to many local points.
And it is silent and peaceful.
Kitchen facility is good enough.

One minor thing is the weak water pressure in shower system.
In short, it is really good.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nuno K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sian L, Owner at Wheal Rodney Holiday Park, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank you for your review.
We try our very best to ensure that everyone enjoys their stay with us and we are glad that you found our site to be peaceful and silent. We are situated in a great location to visit the whole of West Cornwall.
We hope to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    54
    16
    1
    0
See reviews for
107
123
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

We returned to Wheal Rodney in our motorhome after staying there with caravan over 4 years ago.

Whilst the site is very well organised and the facilities and information boards are very good, we struggled with noise, (and mess) from the rookery crows in the trees above pitch one. We couldn't really move as this is one of the best pitches for access with a motorhome. The rooks were noisy from 5am to 10pm. Not at all relaxing to sit outside. and we have had to scrub are motorhome and awning. There was also an incident with a car of youth driving past a shooting and air rifle into the trees,

The pool is lovely though it seems to be very busy as the local area public swimming pool so we didn't use it that much. Lots of cars coming and going all day as local residents come to use the pool

The new showers are lovely with lots of hot water though access if you are elderly or have an injury would be difficult as there is a large step up, no grab handles, and no where at all to sit. A stool would be great (believe there are stools in the gents?)

The wifi was expensive for campers (I believe it is free for people in chalets) and the coverage on pitch was one was hopeless.

The two washing machines and tumble driers also serve as the laundry for the chalets change over washing, and are very rarely free for campers use. I really struggled to get my washing done, having to have a bag of wet washing sitting around all day until the driers were free from chalet washing after 7pm. the site was quiet so I imagine washing in high season would be impossible.

The lane to Marazion is a lot busier than it used to be, seems to be a rat run now and imagine in the summer it would be quite dangerous.

So all in all we were disappointed with our trip back to Wheal Rodney. We love Marazion though still and will be using another campsite next time

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Carolineb007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sian L, Owner at Wheal Rodney Holiday Park, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We do appreciate every ones feedback. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your experience as well as last time.

Every year we do our upmost to alleviate the issue of the rooks in the trees above some of the pitches. This year because of the horrendous winter they did in fact nest earlier than usual and caught us out. Thank goodness the nesting season is very short! When birds nest it is ILLEGAL to move them hence why they were still in the trees when you camped with us.

Many pitches are easily accessible with a motorhome so you could have been moved to 9 other pitches that were available to you. If you had come to reception we would have been more than happy to assist you in any way we could. We are here to help you. Moving pitch may have also helped with the WIFI, however if your motorhome is mostly metal this does affect the signal. To keep costs down for camping but to also offer the service of WIFI there is a small charge. The charges start from £2.50. The price of WIFI is incorporated into the lodges prices, whereas when you come camping you don’t usually have all of the luxuries with you.

With the youths this is totally out of our control so there is nothing we can do about the general public outside of our park. When you stayed in April it was the Easter holidays and because of this we had many families visiting us. During these two weeks the pool was quite busy with residents who were staying with us. There are always periods however during the day when the pool is open (9am-715pm) when it is not busy at all.

We are glad that you enjoyed the new showers we have had some very very positive reviews on this as we strive to improve all of the time.
Over the Easter period our main washing machine that we use for our Lodges was broken therefore for this short period we did have to use the laundry facility. We are sorry that you could not use the laundry for a period of time. Again if you asked reception we would have been more than happy to put your washing in ahead of the lodge washing.

Thank you again for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Stayed for two nights in chalet. Clean with all the essential facilities. Staff very helpful and friendly.
Will return later in the year with our camper van.
Good location close to the town of Marazion.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Perfectly located for touring West Cornwall. Excellent staff. Chalet clean and roomy. Very reasonable cost. Small and peaceful. NISM. I was rather germy all week, so didn't try the heated swimming pool.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Alan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

Simple but very comfortable lodge. Great to have a bit of space when away with children unlike a hotel room. Handy for St. Michaels mount and marazion. Swimming pool is lovely and warm and all staff were so friendly and helpful. Visited Lands End, Sennen, Newlyn and Penzance in no time and perfect for pop to St. Ives on way home again. Would definitely stay again. Lodge had everything we needed, very clean, towels, bedding and tea tray provided. Fantastic weekend break thank you.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sam I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sian L, Owner at Wheal Rodney Holiday Park, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Thank you for your review. It is great that we are nestled in the countryside but St Michael’s Mount and Marazion are only a short walk away from us. We are also situated in a great place where all of West Penwith is only a short drive away. We are glad that you found everything you needed in the lodge. We hope to welcome you back for another ‘fantastic weekend.’
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wroclaw, Poland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

It was really nice place and very good prize...include everything what we need...very clean rooms...
Staff was really helpfull...
This place is very close to many Cornish atraction as St. Michelle for example.
I will definetely back there in next ocasion...

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dominika P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sian L, Owner at Wheal Rodney Holiday Park, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Thank you! We do try to keep our prices as reasonable as possible for our guests and we are glad that you found this. We hope that you come back in the future and enjoy your stay with us once more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

Very comfortable stay in 2 bedroomed bungalow. We spent 3 nights here. It was very quiet with helpful, welcoming staff and a lovely heated swimming pool.

It was nice to have a tea and coffee tray waiting for us and the electric radiators were turned on for when we arrived on a chilly February afternoon. It was also great to have towels and bed linen included.

Marazion, the beach and St Michael's Mount is only a short distance away and the site is close to lots of other areas of interest. Would definitely recommend this property.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kokler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sian L, Owner at Wheal Rodney Holiday Park, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments. We always pride ourselves on being a quiet family site and we are glad that the staff were ‘helpful’ and ‘welcoming.’

We do try and provide the best service possible to all of our guests and we believe that providing simple things like complimentary tea and coffee help us to achieve this. We also try to make people feel as welcome as possible whether it be in the winter or the summer.

We hope to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marazion
0.6 mi away
Marazion Hotel
Marazion Hotel
#2 of 3 in Marazion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
20.9 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 6 in Truro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
5.1 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mount Haven Hotel & Restaurant
3.0 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
12.0 mi away
Polurrian Bay Hotel
Polurrian Bay Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mullion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wheal Rodney Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wheal Rodney Holiday Park

Property: Wheal Rodney Holiday Park
Address: Gwallon, Marazion TR17 0HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Marazion
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Marazion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wheal Rodney is a beautiful campsite and caravan park. It is just a 10 minute walk to a stunning view of Saint Michael's Mount, the local pub and the shops and centre of Marazion is just a 15 minute walk down the hill. Wheal Rodney has a very warm and well maintained swimming pool on site which kids and adults alike love. The site is very family friendly and quiet and also welcomes dogs. We provide some great off season prices and our self catering bungalows/holiday cottages are always very popular so book early to avoid disappointment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Wheal Rodney Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wheal Rodney Holiday Park Marazion, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing