We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wheal Rodney Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The shower is a electric one, water pressure is low. Room is lovely. Within walking distance to Marazion town centre and St Michael's mount. There is also an exquisite restaurant, Ben's Cornish kitchen in town.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Minizizi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sian L, Owner at Wheal Rodney Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Great review thank you. As you have stated we are in a fantastic location to visit the whole of West Cornwall. We are glad that you loved our little town and the things it had to offer.

Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (328)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 328 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

I came to this campsite with much anticipation mostly because I really need the Whitsun holiday, I had never been to South Cornwall before and this site seemed to tick all of my boxes.

-First impressions of the campsite are that it is a little bit drab. Sadly, as the week progressed this impression didn't improve much. The site itself is kept reasonably well, but there are lots of small touches that could make all of the difference. There's not a lot of colour around the place so a few more flowers would be nice, and the lodges (which I'm sure are nice to stay in) are an eyesore! Bland grey pebbledash buildings which spoil any potential view we could have had.

-The facilities are adequate, although the washing machines and dryers seemed to be in constant use by the management for linen in the lodges!

+Bathrooms are clean and showers are good.

+Pool is lovely and warm, and what is the biggest incentive to stay here as it is free for campers.

-Shame the same couldn't have been said about the wifi. £5 for 500mb is a bit steep. You can do just as well with your own mobile network provider and network coverage is good.

+Staff were helpful and friendly

-Shop has some helpful equipment for camping but there isn't a lot for cooking meals with, especially meat. The nearest store is 3 miles away, so wouldn't be a bad idea to have some there.

+Pitches are a great size and pitch 11 is close to the facilities so very happy with that.

Wheal Rodney is a great staging point for all of the wonderfulness that is this part of the world, but I have to say I would rather pay much less for a pitch and have no swimming pool but have nicer surroundings, so unfortunately, I don't think I will be back, but I did have a nice time.

Room Tip: Pitch 11 great for facilities, good protection from weather with trees but you pay for it with tweet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sian L, Owner at Wheal Rodney Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Thank you for your summary of our lovely little campsite. We appreciate the comments you have made about our great facilities here at Wheal Rodney. We would take issue with a few of your comments – a huge planting programme has taken place over the last few years, and this seasons hanging baskets recently arrived. The flowers are now starting to bloom and the site is looking its usual immaculate self. A great deal of hard work is put into keeping the site in tip top order by management and staff, and the site has much greenery and beautiful flowers This is reflected in our latest AA report for 2014 conducted . Your summary of our holiday lodges which you didn’t stay in is a little hurtful! Perhaps it was raining throughout your stay which does paint things sometimes in a slightly different perspective. We have spent considerable amounts recently on the Wi-Fi so that it is available to the whole of the site, and not patchy as is often found with poorer quality installations. We pay a monthly fee for this installation and just ask for a small charge for this facility. Wi-Fi is available from just £2.50, and can be as little as £5 for a full week. We feel it would be wrong to add this charge to our general tariff so that all guests would be paying for this facility when often they don’t require it, so in an effort to keep our prices at the very reasonable level they are, we would prefer that those wishing to avail themselves of this service, pay a small cost towards the excellent package we have put in place. Regarding our washing machines, we do have a separate laundry away from the general facilities that we use for our own linen service, but we had a machine down for a few days, and during quiet times our housekeeper did use one of the machines. Apologies if you were inconvenienced by this, our own laundry is now fully operational again so this is not a problem that usually affects any guests. Regarding your comments on our ‘shop’ for a tiny site such as this it really is quite unusual to be able to offer any kind of shop – our own experience of being on holiday in similar sites is that shops are usually only available on much bigger sites, and smaller sites tend to have extremely limited opening hours. By providing some general groceries in our reception shop we feel we offer a valuable service for our guests though naturally there are limits to what can be provided. As a very small site it is impossible to keep fresh meat products available – we have tried! , we simply aim to provide the basics for any campers who may be on foot and not be able to easily get provisions. I would take issue that the nearest alternative shop is 3 miles??? I think you mean a large supermarket? The nearest alternative shops to Wheal Rodney are found in Marazion itself – 2 minutes in the car, or 10 minutes on foot to the nearest one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The pitches are well marked out and you can park a car on your pitch. The showers, toilets and dish washing area are really well maintained. The pool is great. Had to wait for a shower on a couple of occasions which would have been worse if the site was busier.
Easy 10 minute walk to the Fire Engine pub, another 10 minutes into Marazion for the Cutty Sark (excellent) and Godolphin (good but some dishes not great value for money.) Will be going back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JennieHedgehog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sian L, Owner at Wheal Rodney Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you found our site to be 'fantastic.' We do try our best to please all of our customers and we are glad that we did this with you. As you stated our pitches are well marked and very spacious that you can fit your car on as well. We updated our showers last season from three standard size showers to two larger showers as most of our customers preferred the room.

We hope to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed for just two nights self-catering but found everything we needed without having to take lots of our own equipment. It is so unusual to get linen and towels included in a short stay s/c. The chalet was clean and comfortable, the site was well kept and quiet. Everyone was friendly and helpful with no hassle either arriving or leaving. It is just a short walk to Marazion which is a lovely little resort with sandy beaches and a great pub with fantastic views across to St Michael's Mount. Would not hesitate to use this site again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lanbeone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sian L, Owner at Wheal Rodney Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Thank you for reviewing us. We are glad that you found our site to be well maintained, lovely and quiet. Our location is a great one as we are situated in the countryside but only a 5 minute walk to Marazion, and then a short walk to the beautiful St Michael’s Mount. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

On arrival we checked in and went to find our accommodation, it was clean spacious and well stocked for a self contained apartment. After settling in we went to the pool, it was lovely and warm and the shower and changing room was very clean. The staff were lovely and had advice on what was going on and how far places were. Really enjoyed staying here and would happily stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sian L, Owner at Wheal Rodney Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Thank you for your kind words! We are so pleased that you loved the swimming pool. We find it an extra bonus to your holiday, as it is great to relax in after you have been out all day exploring Cornwall. Our staff try to be as helpful as they can be by giving our customers as much information as they want. As they are all local they do know a lot about the areas and if they don’t then they can search it for you. We hope to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Rooms in chalet are fully equipped. Absolutely spotless. Quiet location as well and near the pub too! Swimming pool is warm, clean and power showers afterwards! Cannot say enough positive things about Wheal Rodney. Loved our stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sian L, Owner at Wheal Rodney Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Thank you for your review. We are so delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us again. This is one of our biggest aims, to get repeat custom, as it means we are definitely doing our jobs correctly. We hope to see you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Lovely little holiday park nice little chalets that we could come and go as we pleased and one night we were in a local pub and the owner of wheal rodney recognised us and offered us a lift home ...very thoughtfull. ideally based for seeing things on the south west coast.would recommend

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lesley p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sian L, Owner at Wheal Rodney Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Thank you! We try and make your holiday as relaxing as possible, that’s why we do not have gates at the entrance so you can come and go as you please. Work doesn’t just stop for us when we leave the park, even if we do end up in the pub on occasion You are more than welcome with the lift home. Thank you again and we hope to see you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marazion
1.5 mi away
Old Vicarage
Old Vicarage
#2 of 3 in St Hilary
40 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mount Haven Hotel & Restaurant
0.7 mi away
Godolphin Arms
Godolphin Arms
#2 of 8 in Marazion
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Marazion Hotel
Marazion Hotel
#2 of 3 in Marazion
335 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rosario
Rosario
#5 of 8 in Marazion
73 reviews
0.4 mi away
Glenleigh House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wheal Rodney Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wheal Rodney Holiday Park

Address: Gwallon Lane, Marazion TR17 0HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Marazion
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Marazion
Price Range: £59 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wheal Rodney Holiday Park is a quiet and peaceful holiday park. It is just a 10 minute walk to a stunning view of St. Michael's Mount, the local pub and the shops and centre of Marazion is just a 15 minute walk down the hill. Wheal Rodney Holiday Park has a warm and well maintained swimming pool on site, which kids and adults alike love - the cost of your swim is included in the nightly price per lodge/pitch. Our holiday park is very family friendly and also welcomes dogs if booked in advance. We provide some great off season prices and our self-catering bungalows/holiday cottages are always very popular, so book early to avoid disappointment! We are always more than happy to answer any queries or questions you have, so please feel free to contact us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Wheal Rodney Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wheal Rodney Holiday Park Marazion, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing