We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“back again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wheal Rodney Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Had a fantastic holiday AGAIN this year. The accommodation is wonderful, the pool is a god send in the mornings and when raining ( which didn't come too often this year ), and the staff have become more like friends to us over the years. Already looking forward to next year.

Room Tip: All chalets are quiet, comfy and clean
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (320)
There are newer reviews for Wheal Rodney Holiday Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 320 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2014

Only a short (2 night) stay with the DLW and the Nuisance Boys, staying under canvas (well nylon really) in the camping meadow. Lucky with the weather which always sways impressions when camping.

The meadow is small, well sheltered and quiet with good drainage. We had a generous family pitch so lots of space. No real communal space to run around but on such a small site this was not a problem. The fact that the toliets, showers and indoor pool were about 50m away, rather than a 5 min trek was appreciated! The communal areas were clean and pretty new. Small shop onsite as well as the full range of washing facilities, microwave and laundrette. The fact our camping neighbours were booked in for 4 weeks, had already booked in for next year and were repeat visitors speaks volumes.

minus points - none really for me. If I was using hook-ups then these pitches are close to the (quiet) road and not so nice; also I wouldn't fancy one of the lodges as they seem to lack any real private outside space but hey! I was camping. Be ware Ralph the ginger cat if he's in a bad mood though...

Acid test - would I use it again? Definitely.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank klymmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

We spent 9 nights here. Cracking location for west Cornwall, easy trips out to the main sights. Marazion a short walk away which has plenty of eateries and watering holes. Wheal Rodney is difficult to fault. Staff friendly, site easy to find. Suitable for families, pool is an added bonus for those inevitable rainy days. Site has both electric hook up pitches and basic pitches. Enough facilities to cope, showers, washing up etc. Free ice block freezing and electronic device charging were an added bonus. Great time had, would recommend.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank nostawnitram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Second time camping at this site. The facilitates were again at a high standard. The small camping meadow meant that noise on the whole was not an issue. The onsite pool is clean and well maintained. The access to a freezer for ice packs is a god send.

Room Tip: Family pitches have plenty of room.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank s_new1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed here a few times but this is based on most recently. Firstly, the updated showers are much better, in the old ones my clean dry clothes would always get wet whilst hanging up! The shop seems to have all the essentials. The pool is lovely although can get a bit humid in there, on a hot day the back door deffo needs to be open! The swimming pool changing rooms & shower could do with being updated next. We stayed on the camping meadow and it is small but lovely, in fact one of the nicest days of our holiday was when we just stayed around the tent, letting the kids run about on the grass. The only complaint that I'd have is that the ground is very hard, and we have lost quite a few pegs to them being bent. Perhaps rotavating 1 pitch a year? I dunno, but the peg gets a few inches down before you hit rocks or something?! And this has been the case in previous years also. The staff were very friendly and helpful, facilities were kept very clean and tidy. Games & books to borrow is a good idea for rainy days. Lots of information and leaflets available for things to do or places to visit. Plan to be visiting Weal Rodney again, many times.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jodie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I stayed at this site for more than 3 weeks! Lovely clean site, gardens and hedges pretty and well maintained - showers and other facilities very clean and the pool clean and warm. The staff were friendly and helpful and there was plenty of information available for attractions, restaurants etc. The shop was well stocked with essentials and more! The only comment I could make that is slightly negative, is the way the wifi is charged, it is charged not only by time but also by amount of use - I found it very confusing and these days when most places offer free wifi, it worked out to be fairly expensive. It is not a complaint as I wanted to have internet connection, but it is an observation and something which I think would make the site 10/10!! Lovely - thank you :)

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank LesleydeC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

When we drove onto the site we were so very impressed. Clean, tidy, flowers on the lodges and in the gardens.

Everyday, the gardens were tidied, the flowers watered and the lodges have a daily maid service.

Beautiful indoor pool. Very clean.

All staff very helpful.

A "quiet after 10.00pm" site which was wonderful

The beach is only 20 minutes walk away.

We will definitely stay again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Diana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marazion
0.4 mi away
Mount Haven Hotel & Restaurant
0.6 mi away
Marazion Hotel
Marazion Hotel
#2 of 3 in Marazion
328 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Penventon Park Hotel
Penventon Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Redruth
1,261 reviews
5.2 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 20 in St Ives
2,694 reviews
2.6 mi away
River Valley Country Park
River Valley Country Park
#1 of 19 in Penzance
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wheal Rodney Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wheal Rodney Holiday Park

Address: Gwallon, Marazion TR17 0HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Marazion
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Marazion
Price Range: £63 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wheal Rodney is a beautiful campsite and caravan park. It is just a 10 minute walk to a stunning view of Saint Michael's Mount, the local pub and the shops and centre of Marazion is just a 15 minute walk down the hill. Wheal Rodney has a very warm and well maintained swimming pool on site which kids and adults alike love. The site is very family friendly and quiet and also welcomes dogs. We provide some great off season prices and our self catering bungalows/holiday cottages are always very popular so book early to avoid disappointment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your Wheal Rodney Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wheal Rodney Holiday Park Marazion, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing