We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“The ideal home away from home”
4.5 of 5 bubbles
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Silver House

The Silver House (inset) with view to St Michaels Mount
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Silver House (inset) with view to St Michaels Mount
The dining area looking through to the kitchen Dining room again
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Very good
10 reviews
The Silver House (inset) with view to St Michaels Mount
The dining area looking through to the kitchen
Dining room again
Here is the cosy kitchen
Living room in the sun
The patio, perfect for elevenses
The stylish bathroom with bath and shower
Comfort in the main bedroom
Time to sit back and admire the view
Feel pampered in the main bedroom
Bedroom 2: warm and cosy
Outside: the secret garden
The garden from above
Close up of the Mount from the garden
Gorgeous unspoilt scenery in Mount's Bay
The Silver House in the sun
Looking out to sea
The view from your doorstep
Mounts Bay looking towards Penzance
The Silver House on Higher Fore Street
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Marazion, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
4.5 of 5 bubbles Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
tashal197...
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Mixed views”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We cannot fault the property itself (it is in need of some attention) or its location - it is a fantastic location, but..... We were so disappointed to arrive after 5 hours travelling to find we had to clean!! We were not greeted by wine, flowers, tea bags etc as other guests had reported, we were greeted with dead flies and spiders on the carpets and rugs (which our son thought were raisens!)and cobwebs, dust and a bag of rubbish in the lean too. Whilst we have no objection of tidying up our mess when on holiday we don't really want to clear up after others.
The property is reasonably equipped but could benefit from a stair gate,as cot and high chair are available.
Marazion is just wonderful, in every way.
The house offers the most perfect view, which made up for our initial disappointment and overall we enjoyed our stay. We would recommend to others but we would warn them they may need to get the Hoover out!! Which you don't expect to have to do for £800 pw!!!

3 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 2 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
3 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 3 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
3 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 3 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
3 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: Having to clean on arrival!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jul 2013
We are so sorry to hear that the house was not spotless when you arrived. Our housekeepers pride themselves on taking great care – indeed our guests go out of their way to tell us how immaculate the house is (as the Visitor's Book will testify). In all the time we have offered The Silver House for rent, we have had only compliments on that score. So please accept our apologies and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiel, Germany
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: the whole atmosphere about the place. Ideal for a family with two children.
Liked least: the backyard has suffered a lot from the very wet summer.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Regensburg, Germany
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2012 for a stay in September 2012
4 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The view! Directly opposite St. Michael's Mount.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Chester, United Kingdom
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012 for a stay in April 2012
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The views and the master bedroom
Liked least: The shower
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
c0c0lin0
Prüm
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
Google Translation
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Der Blick auf den St.Michaels Mount von zwei Zimmern aus.
Liked least: Die Waschmaschine hatte keine Wasserzufuhr. Sollte vorher abgeklärt werden!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Sep 2015
Birgit and Matthias,
Vielen Dank für Ihre freundliche Bewertung und ich bin so froh, dass Sie unseren Aufenthalt in unserem Haus . Bitte besuchen Sie uns ein anderes Mal !
Best wishes
Alex
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karin3052
Bern, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$128
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing