We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful Cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Chy Lowenna arrowed - just 2 minutes from the causeway to St Michael's Mount
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Chy Lowenna arrowed - just 2 minutes from the causeway to St Michael's Mount
Chy Lowenna is on the high street of Marazion village Sitting room, from the kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
20 reviews
Chy Lowenna arrowed - just 2 minutes from the causeway to St Michael's Mount
Chy Lowenna is on the high street of Marazion village
Sitting room, from the kitchen
Sitting room - from the front door, has two sofas
Main bedroom, with kingsize bed, is on the second floor with sea glimpses
Main bedroom with kingsize bed
The kitchen - small but perfectly formed!
Twin bedroom
Modern bathroom
Beaches are VERY close!
Marazion is close to Penzance in West Cornwall
The small 'crows nest' patio is up some steep steps to the rear of the cottage
'Dora' lurks in the stairwell :-)
The causeway to St Michael's Mount
The Mount
Ancient causeway to St Michael's mount is just 150m from Chy Lowenna
St Ives is just 9 miles from Marazion
Dogs are welcome at Chy Lowenna - there is a £20 charge to allow for extra cleaning
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Marazion, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Very good - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Halberton
Reviewed 17 December 2012 for a stay in December 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Penzance, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The condition of the property,well furnished and well decorated
Liked least: The lack of light over the mirror in the bathroom.
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: comfortable beds
Liked least: outdoor seating
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
1 Aug 2014
**New owners from December 2013.

Thx for your review. We bought Chy Lowenna since your visit and thought you might appreciate a response. We have changed the dining area now - the breakfast bar has been extended and has four bar stools. The cottage is small so really no room for a dining table but we hope this is now a usable area to allow four guests to eat together.

New mirror :-) and Hazel, the new housekeeper checks there is washing up liquid, a couple of loo rolls to see you through to your first shopping trip.

Oh and a new, larger TV and a DVD player.

We hope we can welcome you back to our cottage again (if you search for our own web site you'll see more photos and details).

Peter & Sally
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AnyDenney
Reading, Berkshire
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Well appointed, comfortable, bijou cottage in a lovely town. However, just beware the road!”
Reviewed 14 June 2012 for a stay in May 2012
2
people found this review helpful

First of all, I must say that this is a beautiful holiday cottage. Although very small (it is totally deserving of the term 'bijou' because it never felt cramped, just small and well formed like it was meant to be that way!), it's well appointed, really comfortable inside (lovely bed in the main bedroom!) with good facilities and is in a brilliant location for exploring Marazion (literally about 2 minutes walk from the beach and the centre of town and across the road from a great deli which does one of the best full English breakfasts I've ever had) and the rest of South West Cornwall.

We had a really easy booking experience, the owners were helpful during the booking and also very responsive to our emails and calls both before and during our stay. They even very helpfully dealt with the rubbish bags we left because we missed the collection. We had no problems finding the place or the parking and no problems at all on arrival. They key was ready and we just walked right in and immediately felt relaxed, possibly helped by the complementary bottle of wine in the fridge...!

Some reviewers have mentioned the fact that it's noisy inside which it wasn't necessarily, it's just a 200 year old cottage so there are bound to be creaks and scrapes here and there and you can hear the toilet flushing from downstairs etc. Hardly worth mentioning. Also, the parking space is clearly stated as being 100m away which is fine day to day, and if you need to load/unload the car then just park in the road and stick the hazards on - that's what we did when we arrived at the beginning and left at the end!

On the downside...

There's no garden to speak of (you have to go outside the cottage, along a shared courtyard, up some steps and across a neighbour's seating area to get to the seating area, which is only just big enough for table and chairs). This certainly isn't made clear on the website, which makes it look as though the terrace is attached to the house. It's not a huge problem and not one to stop me recommending this place, but I think if we'd had another child or older kids, we would have really noticed the lack of an outside space.

The other issue (and this is a real shame and the reason I can't rate this rental as excellent although it wouldn't have bothered me too much if we didn't have a child with us) is the proximity not just to a 'road' but to the main road through Marazion. It's not a dual carriageway or anything, and isn't a really busy road, but it has traffic using it in varying degrees throughout the day. Traffic is cars, lorries, buses and motorbikes. And when I say 'proximity', I mean it's literally on the doorstep because the pavement (which you walk straight onto through the front door) is only just wide enough for one person to walk on. There are traffic calming measures in Marazion (they have chicanes) so the traffic isn't fast, but you must just be really careful. I would say if you have kids, be REALLY careful (and to be fair, this isn't advertised specifically as a child-friendly cottage). We had to make sure we kept the front door locked and always went out first and always held our daughter's hand by the road.

In summary, a really lovely, comfortable, bijou cottage, with courteous owners and in a beautiful little town. It's really only let down only really by proximity to the road, and if that sort of thing doesn't bother you then I would totally recommend it. I would also definitely recommend this cottage to friends and family, but not to those with kids due to the lack of outside area attached to the cottage and the proximity of the main road.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Condition of the property, facilities and central location.
Liked least: Lack of garden / outside area attached directly to cottage (should state that on the website) and close proximity to main road.
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flossyfiz...
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great location, tiny house”
Reviewed 6 June 2012 for a stay in May 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for four nights (although paid for a week, as part-weeks were not available to us).

We found booking relatively simple, however the instructions on getting there were scant (it is just across the road and up a little from the church) and the parking was further up behind St Michael's B&B. Although we were grateful for the parking, it was not explained to us that it would be some distance, and a tight squeeze into the bargain (we had hired a Volvo XC-90). Four large suitcases and bags were a hassle to unload and load back up.

The house was clean and well-presented, but is very, very small - certainly for four adults.

The walls are thin, and you can hear everything from everywhere, from the loud flushing of the toilet, to the tv (even on low) in the top bedroom, as it has no door.

It was also a bit off-putting that the mattress protector on the main double bed was thin plastic (do places really have that many difficulties with incontinent guests?!) that crackled every time you moved. A comfy bed-topper wouldn't go astray.

It may seem obvious (possibly to UK residents) that you need to turn the oven on at the wall first, and the way a front-loader works, but if you are from another country, these things are often unfamiliar and detailed instructions are helpful.

We felt that a roll and a half of toilet-paper for four adults for a week was a little on the frugal side, and sure enough, needed to purchase additional, and nearly had to buy pegs as well, for there were only a few remaining on the clothes line.

I was unaware that the house was no longer connected with St Michael's B&B, and had organised a small parcel to be delivered to that address. At every turn, the B&B owner was friendly, helpful (including helping us find it in the first place!) and in the end we had more contact with them than the guest house owners!

He was the one that gave us the heads up on the Minack Theatre. If you're staying in the area, put it on your "Must Do" list, and be sure to take tasty food (the deli across the road from Chy Lowenna is good) and no matter how warm the day has been, pack blankets, scarves, hat and gloves.

The small (literally!) issues of the house aside, the local shops and the beach are literally within two minutes' walk from the front door, so as far as locations are concerned, Marazion was fabulous, but next time I'd choose something less "cosy", and look for somewhere that also took advantage of the fabulous views from the other side of the road.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The size
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2012
Thank you so much for staying at Chy Lowenna although it was too small for you, we thank you so much for your review which is graciously accepted.
Apologies for the issues that you had whilst you stayed, perhaps we should make the parking directions clearer as we do admit they only say parking 100m away and don't say you have to walk 100m to the cottage, in terms of the size of the parking space we are unfortunately governed by 'Cornish sizing' which as you may have guessed whilst you were here in Cornwall can be a little tighter than those elsewhere abroad. In terms of the size of the cottage, although the details state it is a small cottage we will add to that information for others, thank you so much for bringing that to our attention. Kind regards to you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012 for a stay in March 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness of property
Liked least: the garden
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 February 2012 for a stay in August 2011

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Marazion itself
Liked least: Noise in property from road and shower
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
11 Feb 2012
Thank you for your feedback which is graciously accepted.
We do remember your arrival, we were out at the time collecting provisions for our guest house when you arrived earlier than expected, as entry cannot be gained until 3pm to give our cleaner ample time to finish her job. The door is left open after 3pm for entry.
Our confirmation email we had sent to you asked for an ETA telephone call which unfortunately we didnt receive, this was were the confusion lay. Chy Lowenna is a small traditional stone cottage as shown on our website, perhaps the pictures do not show that clearly enough, we will look at that for the future.
In terms of location Chy Lowenna is located on Fore Street as are most homes, this is the main street through marazion, we apologise that perhaps our google map had'nt been clear enough on the website so you could have known those details before you booked.
Chy Lowenna is an all inclusive cottage and very keenly priced compared to similar properties in Marazion, it is very close to St. Michael's Mount and all shops and restaurants, there are no added extras to pay throughout your stay.
We have just had a new bathroom fitted
and new garden furniture..thank you for bringing that to our attention.
We wish you good luck with your holidays in 2012.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$66
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing