We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great cottage in fabulous location”
other travellers have booked this property
Chy Lowenna arrowed - just 2 minutes from the causeway to St Michael's Mount
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Chy Lowenna arrowed - just 2 minutes from the causeway to St Michael's Mount
Chy Lowenna is on the high street of Marazion village Sitting room, from the kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
21 reviews
Chy Lowenna arrowed - just 2 minutes from the causeway to St Michael's Mount
Chy Lowenna is on the high street of Marazion village
Sitting room, from the kitchen
Sitting room - from the front door, has two sofas
Main bedroom, with kingsize bed, is on the second floor with sea glimpses
Main bedroom with kingsize bed
The kitchen - small but perfectly formed!
Twin bedroom
Modern bathroom
Beaches are VERY close!
Marazion is close to Penzance in West Cornwall
The small 'crows nest' patio is up some steep steps to the rear of the cottage
'Dora' lurks in the stairwell :-)
The causeway to St Michael's Mount
The Mount
Ancient causeway to St Michael's mount is just 150m from Chy Lowenna
St Ives is just 9 miles from Marazion
Dogs are welcome at Chy Lowenna - there is a £20 charge to allow for extra cleaning
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Marazion, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Susan O
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 5 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
7
people found this review helpful

Went with really high expectations of this cottage after having such good communications with the owner during the booking process and lead up to the holiday. You have to park a little further up the road on arrival to drop of luggage etc. This is no problem but on approaching the cottage on foot, I noticed the lounge window and window frame outside were absolutely filthy. Not the best first impression. I appreciate that traffic does pass the window very, very, close by, which incidentally we never found to be a problem but I'm sure some people would. I think it would only take the housekeeper five minutes to wash the window and frame down weekly and would give a much better look to the cottage.
On entering there was a very musty smell and I know it is a very old cottage but it just didn't smell clean. The pictures on the website, I think, must have been taken some time ago because the lounge is a bit shabby, not really like the pictures. Stains on the sofa and the other sofa my husband mainly sat on, he felt there was a strong smell of "dog" on it. We knew this was a dog friendly cottage and after this experience we will probably not stay in one again. I must admit I could never smell it though.
The kitchen has everything you need but cleanliness needs to be addressed. The window frame where the sink is was dirty with food splashes and tea stains on it which my husband cleaned. Not enough plug sockets either.
Stairs are quite steep although no problem to us. The carpet is quite dirty and badly stained. Decor on stairs is really quite bad. The whole cottage desperately needs re-decoration especially strairs and bathroom.
Bathroom was quite grubby. Not particularly clean round sink taps and bath taps and the shower head was absolutely disgusting. Don't think that had been cleaned for some time. Dust on shelving round sink and toilet. Another cleaning job for my husband! Quite a few long hairs around also, not ours.
Second bedroom, which we did not use only the wardrobe, had some kind of dog scratch marks on the back of the door as though a pet had been locked in there and had been trying to get out. Again desperate for decoration.
Master bedroom light and airy with a very clean bed and good wardrobe space. Only problem here was no socket for hair dryer near the mirror so had to dry my hair, with great difficulty, in my make up mirror.
Outside area not brilliant, along an alley way then up steep steps up to a small area where there is a table and chairs. Didn't use at all only to hang out a bit of washing. A bit uncared for really. The outlook from the kitchen window is on to this alley way and directly in front of the window are some scruffy storage boxes. On top of this an old paint pot with a brush in it!
To sum up this cottage could be so, so much better if a bit of TLC was spent on the cottage. As mentioned before, it desperately needs decorating throughout and a thorough clean. I appreciate the housekeeper has only a set time to get this cottage ready each swap over day but when you are paying your hard earned money I think it is only fair to expect a certain standard in return. Having said that the cottage has a lot going for it. It is in a great position for everything that Marazion has to offer which is quite a lot. Marazion is a brilliant place and we will definitely return but unfortunately not to this cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Cleanliness
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Oct 2014
Thank you for your feedback, I'm sorry you found the cottage to be a little tired.
It's true, at the end of the season it does need some TLC, indeed we're due to spend a week redecorating before the end of October, refurbishing the patio furniture, washing the covers and arranging to replace the stair carpet (and fridge).
We don't have the chance to check the cleanliness every week when the cleaner is done and must apologise if you found it not up to an acceptable standard. The window cleaner visits every two months and I suspect you probably visited just before he was due- perhaps this is too long between visits, particularly for the front of the cottage. We'll rectify this!
Thank you again for your feedback and I hope your stay wasn't spoiled by your disappointment with the cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CocoLoco2...
Cambs, UK
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great cottage in fabulous location”
Reviewed 7 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this lovely cosy cottage. There were four of us - all adults - staying in Chy Lowenna, together with our springer spaniel, and whilst the cottage was small downstairs it was very comfortable and we never felt cramped.

The kitchen was fully equipped and everything seemed to have been thought of to make our stay comfortable. The breakfast bar seated the four of us quite comfortably for dinner on the couple of occasions we dined in and the lounge area has two 2 seater sofas.

The 1st floor bedroom has a zip and link bed which when joined doesnt leave a lot of room to spare but is adequate and the top floor bedroom is huge with a king size bed and a view of the sea.

All in all, we would definitely recommend this cosy cottage to small families or 2 couples and Marazion is delightful with a 1 minute walk to the beach from the cottage.

The new owner Peter was extremely helpful both with facilities in the cottage and information on Marazion and his recommendations of the Kings Arms and Bens Cornish Kitchen for dinner were excellent. A must visit is the deli opposite the cottage which offers wonderful food and friendly service.

As dog owners, we were very pleased that the pubs and the deli are dog fiendly.

One note of caution to tall people - beware the low ceilings in the cottage as they caught my hubby out quite a few times - ouch!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The top floor bedroom
Liked least: My hubby would say low ceilings!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy W
High Peak
1 review
“lovely little cottage”
Reviewed 16 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Chy Lowenna, it was like home from home, the beds were comfy, the bathroom was very clean & the kitchen & lounge areas were very good. We ate out at the godolphin pub a couple of times & found it to be a nice, friendly place. Its worth having a walk over to St. michaels mount, but don't let the tide catch you out or you will have to get the boat back!. All in all a lovely holiday & we would stay at Chy Lowenna again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the general outlay of the property-very cosy.
Liked least: coming home!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halberton
Reviewed 17 December 2012 for a stay in December 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Penzance, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The condition of the property,well furnished and well decorated
Liked least: The lack of light over the mirror in the bathroom.
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: comfortable beds
Liked least: outdoor seating
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
1 Aug 2014
**New owners from December 2013.

Thx for your review. We bought Chy Lowenna since your visit and thought you might appreciate a response. We have changed the dining area now - the breakfast bar has been extended and has four bar stools. The cottage is small so really no room for a dining table but we hope this is now a usable area to allow four guests to eat together.

New mirror :-) and Hazel, the new housekeeper checks there is washing up liquid, a couple of loo rolls to see you through to your first shopping trip.

Oh and a new, larger TV and a DVD player.

We hope we can welcome you back to our cottage again (if you search for our own web site you'll see more photos and details).

Peter & Sally
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AnyDenney
Reading, Berkshire
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Well appointed, comfortable, bijou cottage in a lovely town. However, just beware the road!”
Reviewed 14 June 2012 for a stay in May 2012
2
people found this review helpful

First of all, I must say that this is a beautiful holiday cottage. Although very small (it is totally deserving of the term 'bijou' because it never felt cramped, just small and well formed like it was meant to be that way!), it's well appointed, really comfortable inside (lovely bed in the main bedroom!) with good facilities and is in a brilliant location for exploring Marazion (literally about 2 minutes walk from the beach and the centre of town and across the road from a great deli which does one of the best full English breakfasts I've ever had) and the rest of South West Cornwall.

We had a really easy booking experience, the owners were helpful during the booking and also very responsive to our emails and calls both before and during our stay. They even very helpfully dealt with the rubbish bags we left because we missed the collection. We had no problems finding the place or the parking and no problems at all on arrival. They key was ready and we just walked right in and immediately felt relaxed, possibly helped by the complementary bottle of wine in the fridge...!

Some reviewers have mentioned the fact that it's noisy inside which it wasn't necessarily, it's just a 200 year old cottage so there are bound to be creaks and scrapes here and there and you can hear the toilet flushing from downstairs etc. Hardly worth mentioning. Also, the parking space is clearly stated as being 100m away which is fine day to day, and if you need to load/unload the car then just park in the road and stick the hazards on - that's what we did when we arrived at the beginning and left at the end!

On the downside...

There's no garden to speak of (you have to go outside the cottage, along a shared courtyard, up some steps and across a neighbour's seating area to get to the seating area, which is only just big enough for table and chairs). This certainly isn't made clear on the website, which makes it look as though the terrace is attached to the house. It's not a huge problem and not one to stop me recommending this place, but I think if we'd had another child or older kids, we would have really noticed the lack of an outside space.

The other issue (and this is a real shame and the reason I can't rate this rental as excellent although it wouldn't have bothered me too much if we didn't have a child with us) is the proximity not just to a 'road' but to the main road through Marazion. It's not a dual carriageway or anything, and isn't a really busy road, but it has traffic using it in varying degrees throughout the day. Traffic is cars, lorries, buses and motorbikes. And when I say 'proximity', I mean it's literally on the doorstep because the pavement (which you walk straight onto through the front door) is only just wide enough for one person to walk on. There are traffic calming measures in Marazion (they have chicanes) so the traffic isn't fast, but you must just be really careful. I would say if you have kids, be REALLY careful (and to be fair, this isn't advertised specifically as a child-friendly cottage). We had to make sure we kept the front door locked and always went out first and always held our daughter's hand by the road.

In summary, a really lovely, comfortable, bijou cottage, with courteous owners and in a beautiful little town. It's really only let down only really by proximity to the road, and if that sort of thing doesn't bother you then I would totally recommend it. I would also definitely recommend this cottage to friends and family, but not to those with kids due to the lack of outside area attached to the cottage and the proximity of the main road.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Condition of the property, facilities and central location.
Liked least: Lack of garden / outside area attached directly to cottage (should state that on the website) and close proximity to main road.
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing