We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing Location!”
other travellers have booked this property
Welcome to Cockleshell
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Cockleshell
Views from the private patio overlooking the bay St. Michaels Mount
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
77 reviews
Welcome to Cockleshell
Views from the private patio overlooking the bay
St. Michaels Mount
Spacious open-plan Kitchen / Living area
St. Michael's Mount
Even more views!
Causeway at Night
Plenty of natural light
Patio View
Spacious bedroom with 4-poster bed
Bedroom
Bedroom
En-suite bathroom
St. Michael's Mount, seen from the patio
St. Michael's Mount at sunset
The View from Cockleshell
The View from Cockleshell
The View from Cockleshell
The View from Cockleshell
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Marazion, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 77 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
rhomacek
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing Location!”
Reviewed 2 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

This was our second visit to Cockleshell and won't be our last (we have already booked for next year). Everything about Cockleshell is perfect - the view onto St Michael's Mount is stunning. There is always something to watch - boats plying to and fro, people on the causeway, the island appearing (and disappearing) in different weather conditions.
Marazion is a lovely wee town with great eating and drinking. We love Ben's Cornish Kitchen and the Cutty Sark is great for evening bar snacks. There is a good bus service if you don't want to drive and the cottage is located close to the Cornish Coastal Path.
And then there is the cottage! Absolutely everything has been thought of. There was a lovely home cooked meal and a bottle of wine waiting for us. The attention to detail is amazing. Everything has been thought of - groceries, flowers, books, DVDs and a great coffee maker. The view from the lounge is simply breathtaking. Sue is a perfect host - not intrusive but very helpful and responsive.
This should be a 6 or 7 star rating. We have stayed in self catering across Europe and this is one of the very best.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Oct 2017
"Thanks for taking the time to write your review, we really appreciate your comments and feedbacj and we all look forward to welcoming you back next year."
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
4 Oct 2017
"Thanks for taking the time to leave the review, we all really appreciate it, especially as this was your second visit. We glad the cottage still lives up to your expectations. Look forward to you coming back."
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Artyspiri...
Devizes, United Kingdom
1 review
“Blissful retreat for relaxation”
Reviewed 13 September 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Cockleshell Cottage must be the most idyllically placed retreat in Cornwall, with its mesmerising and unforgettable view of St Michael's Mount and surrounding bay. As so many reviewers have already waxed lyrical about Cockleshell's many virtues (and we agree with them), we can only add what made it so special for us:- The view which, ever changing and captivating, has to be seen to be fully appreciated. The meal on arrival was delicious and so easy to prepare. The kitchen was chock full of everything (and more) that we could possibly need (I love cooking, so this was a big plus). The lovely owners went way beyond the call of duty, with their generosity, kindness and almost 'motherly' thoughtfulness, for which we were so very grateful. Easy access (a few mins walk) to the beach - our little Westie had great fun there exploring all the rock pools. When the beach wasn't empty, the other dogs walking there were laid back and friendly. Local art galleries and shops displayed lovely locally made artwork and ceramics. The little church (All Saints) at the top of Chapel street were very friendly and appreciative of the small amount I spent on some beautiful cards there. A few things about the house you might like to know... the front door leads into the downstairs bedroom, which has a very comfortable, supportive bed, hairdryer, books, heaps of hanging space and large picture windows and view of St Mounts Bay. There's an adjacent (gorgeous and well fitted) bathroom. Steps lead up from the little passageway, firstly to the very small utility room with fridge-freezer, washing machine, tumble dryer, ironing board & microwave. Then more steps up to the main room - the lounge/kitchen/living room, complete with wall-to-wall glass with sliding doors opening onto the magnificent view. The viewing deck is just that - there's a triple wire barrier screening it off, but you can climb over it at your own risk. I meditated on the deck the first few days - fabulous if you're an early riser when no one else is about, feeling the breeze on your face and the sound of the waves as the tide changes. After about 7.30-8.00am the odd neighbour is about watering plants etc. Otherwise the downstairs patio (another beautiful view) is a perfect place to eat or just relax and unwind, and you feel quite screened off and private there. I could go on and on. All in all, it was a truly lovely place to totally chill out, definitely worth the long drive down. There's an energy to the house which makes it relaxing and welcoming the moment you walk through the door, and we would have no hesitation in returning.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Oct 2017
"We are really glad you enjoyed your stay at Cockleshell. We really appreciate your comments and feed back and hope that this can give other guests a good perspective of the cottage and it's amenities. Thanks and best wishes from us all."
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
4 Oct 2017
"Many Thanks for taking the time to review us, we really do appreciate it"
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tracy M
1 review
“Perfect”
Reviewed 20 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Cockleshell cottage is a truely amazing. From the fantastic view to all the extra touches and attention to detail.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Oct 2017
"Many thanks for your review, we are really appreciative of feedback and are really pleased you had a good break."
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martinand...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best cottage we've ever stayed in!”
Reviewed 26 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
2
people found this review helpful

This superb cottage has everything you need plus the most beautiful view of St Michael's Mount. The very friendly and welcoming owners have thought of everything, the welcome pack is excellent, and the meal waiting for you on arrival is a lovely thought and just what you need after the long drive to Marazion. We've never had a meal prepared for us anywhere else we've stayed, the owners have gone way beyond the extra mile to welcome guests.

The cottage is very well laid out with every modern amenity, very comfortable and right on the sea front opposite the Mount, which made for many happy days and evenings on the patio just lapping up the sun and the stunning views.

The cottage is also within a stone's throw of all the shops, restaurants and pubs in Marazion itself, but far enough away to be private and peaceful.. It's just perfect, all of it, the best holiday cottage we have ever stayed in, we cannot fault it.

We will be back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Oct 2017
"Thanks so much for your kind words about Cockleshell an we are pleased that we came up to your expectations. Many thanks for taking the time to review us, We do really appreciate your comments. Thanks from us all. x"
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy187
Welwyn
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Wonderful cottage”
Reviewed 28 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Sue and Simon have thought of everything! We arrived to find Sue had cooked a delicious gluten free dinner (my husband is coeliac). The cottage was immaculate, well furnished and very comfortable. We had an incredibly relaxing week - just what we needed. We will return!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Oct 2017
"Many thanks for your kind comments, really appreciated by all of us. We look forward to you returning to Cornwall. Thanks again"
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing