We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Views, a Little Pricey”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mount Haven Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Marazion
Certificate of Excellence
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful Views, a Little Pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

My wife and I chose this hotel during a short trip to Cornwall during July 2013 based on the reviews from Tripadvisor. All in all we enjoyed our stay however, whilst appreciating it markets itself a as luxury boutique hotel, in my opinion it is over priced and I'm not sure I would class it as luxury. Yes, it's nice, it's clean and the staff are very friendly and welcoming, promoting a family atmosphere. However, to be classed as a luxury hotel for me, the finishing touches were just not there in the rooms, I've stayed in many 5 star hotels around the World that were more luxurious and for less money.

The room we had provided absolutely superb views across the bay to St Michael's Mount, and included a balcony with comfy chairs to relax in during the evenings. However, we would have preferred it if the partitions to the adjacent balcony was solid rather than open as that sort of spoilt the romantic feel. The room itself was quite small and was very easy to hear the people talking in the next room but adequate for a couple of nights. The bathroom was quite basic with lino for the flooring.

The food in the restaurant was superb. My wife and I both went for one of the daily, freshly caught local fish dishes, brilliant choice and hats off to the Chef.

Location wise, Marazion is ideal for exploring the South West coast of Cornwall, being half way between Lands End and Lizard Point.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TDW_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    471
    113
    25
    16
    7
See reviews for
75
399
23
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

Superb hotel offering spectacular views of St Michaels Mount, superb food and superb service. We stayed in the lowest priced room on DBB basis for four days in August. The hotel is a small boutique hotel, is immaculately clean and has a friendly atmosphere. Our room was a small room but it had a lovely balcony overlooking the Mount... beautiful view to wake to in the mornings and beautiful fresh air with our balcony door open. The room was immaculately clean. The restaurant offers gourmet food and it is to be highly recommended; every single dish that we had was superb. The wine list is amazing and the staff were extremely friendly and knowledgeable recommending superb wines. It was a treat to be allowed to taste a wine one night that I was then able to order with my seafood the following evening - excellent service simply done. The staff were all extremely well trained, friendly and helpful - service was exceptional in my opinion - . A highly recommended hotel and for anyone who appreciates good food DBB is a must.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John_Nicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

Great hotel, beautiful location and views, lovely staff, comfy beds and just a pleasure to stay here.
The staff at Mount Haven are all lovely and make sure you feel relaxed and looked after. A great place to stay plus the restaurant is amazing. We got 1 week away this year, so glad we got to stay here it was a great break.
5 stars all the way

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsPerrella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend stayed in The Mount Haven and had two rooms over three nights.

The fist was was a superior with a small private garden. The room was spacious, well furnished. My only minor grip would be it's on the same level as the kitchens, however, the meant gentle wafts of exquisite smells now and again. Noise wise minimal.

Our second room was a standard sea view - the only difference was obviously size but the was naturally reflected in the reduced cost. The view of St Michael's Mount was breathtaking and thanks to warm weather and a good size balcony getting ready to go out was enjoyable.

Food wise we only had breakfast at the hotel, much to the annoyance of my girlfriend as on the last day she read a review in the head chef a recent master chef semi-finalist!
The breakfast is a mixture of buffet (fresh pastries, cereal, yoghurt) and an excellent menu selection of hot food/ drinks to order from a waiter/tress.

The hotel staff were lovely, helpful and made the checking in/out experience painless (I hate that bit). We hired bike for two days and they went out of their way to help me store them safely overnight. Although the location is quite and secluded soI almost felt I could have left them in the huge car park unlocked and they would have been ok!

The hotel is not cheap but in high season where is in Cornwall? By the end if the stayed I felt it was a fair price.

Marazion in my view is a perfect couples/family setting and the hotel is a 10 minute gentle walk to the centre /St Michael's Mount/beach (one either way). The walk passes several nice pubs, cafe's and an amazing restaurant. It's a perfect location for a quite break and a short taxi/bus ride from Penzance.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeVBSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Wittering, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

I recently stayed at the Mount Haven for 2 nights.
Booking was excellently easy...Emails and telephone calls were answered politely and friendly by all the staff to answer my questions.

On arrival the place is pristinely clean. Friendly, welcoming staff at reception.
The rooms were beautiful, spacious, clean, airy and bright. My friend had views over towards St Michaels Mount with a balcony and room for sitting in the sunshine. My room had garden views, was quiet and peaceful.

Complimentary tea was served on the patio deck after arrival, by friendly efficient staff.

Dinner, was superb food, adapted to suit our tastes and needs at the table.
A good choice of dishes was available both nights and the desserts are amazing.

Breakfast is plentiful, relaxed and easy. You'd have to stay more than a week to try every choice!

Free Wi-Fi which is easy to access in all areas of the hotel.

The décor is wonderful, the whole place is spotlessly clean and looks loved and cared for. Yes, this is really a 5 star hotel. It's high class comfort, with a relaxed friendly atmosphere. The staff are attentive, helpful and polite. I cannot find one fault with the stay while we were there.

Thank you to all at the Mount Haven.

Room Tip: From what I saw, all the rooms are excellent. If want good views...first floor are better....overloo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

We stayed at the Mount Haven Hotel for 3 nights recently and had a wonderful time. Yes the hotel is not the most beatiful looking from outside but once inside we could not fault it. We stayed in room 14 on the first floor with a good view of St Michaels Mount, the room was very well kept, with a comfy bed and pillows. From the time that we arrived to when we left the staff could not have been more helpful and attentive, nothing was too much trouble and they knew exactly who you were. The food was excellent with a good variety on offer and of the freshest ingredients. We will deifnately be returning and would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: First floor room for the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin_F806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

We have had a few wonderful stays in this superb hotel with the friendly staff, outstanding views and world class food. The rooms are beautifully furnished, with white bed linen and comfy pillows and the majority having amazing views of St Michael's Mount. You are made to feel like you are in your own home, but with all the added extras and a great calming atmosphere. When we stayed last month I noticed that there were some great autumn and Christmas offers coming up which we will be certainly taking advantage of once again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marazion
0.5 mi away
Marazion Hotel
Marazion Hotel
#2 of 3 in Marazion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
17.9 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Polurrian Bay Hotel
Polurrian Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mullion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
22.3 mi away
Driftwood Hotel
Driftwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in Rosevine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
5.6 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Haven Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Haven Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Mount Haven Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Turnpike Road | Penzance, Marazion TR17 0DQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Marazion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Marazion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Haven Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Alex Polizzi's favourite hotels, The Mount Haven is a beautiful boutique hotel overlooking Mount's Bay to St Michael's Mount. Recently named 'One of the World's Top 9 Secret Hotels' by CNN, The Mount Haven offers luxurious rooms, many with large balconies or patio gardens. The in house therapy room provides a range of treatments to calm and soothe the senses in an holistic environment. A perfect place to unwind, relax and explore magical and breath-taking West Cornwall. Large free car park for guests. You don't have to be staying with us to enjoy our 2 AA rosette restaurant. With a talented team of chefs we aim to delight the palette from breakfast to dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mount Haven Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Haven Hotel And Restaurant
Mount Haven Marazion
Mount Haven Hotel & Restaurant Marazion, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing