We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel, great service and view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mount Haven Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Marazion
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Charming hotel, great service and view”
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We stayed here nearly 3 years ago and probably wouldn't have returned (we like to try out new places) were it not for a very good deal being offered. However, we were soon reminded what a great and charming hotel this is, with excellent rooms, food, service and view (upper rooms have the best view.) My only (very small) complaint is that although I mentioned when booking that it was our wedding anniversary and that I had proposed to my girlfriend during our previous visit, these facts were not acknowledged during our 2-night stay. This did not spoil our time here though, and this is indeed a fine hotel

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin77777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    484
    113
    28
    17
    7
See reviews for
76
414
23
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I can only repeat what others have said, superb views, fantastic food with some superb wines !, comfortable rooms and excellent service. I have a very relaxing experience seeing in the New Year. Will certainly go again !

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gejay007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 31 December 2013

This hotel was beautifully presented for the Christmas break, it helps with St Micheals Mount just a few hundred yards away. The staff went beyond there duties and worked to make the Christmas break a magical experience. Flowers in your room a lovely touch. Christmas day a gift from Cornwall, and the chefs produced excellent menus, the food delicious I had the vegetarian dishes on some meals, Christmas cake and mince pies handmade. Louie was in charge and he made sure everyone enjoyed the experience. On departure even a picnic to take with us for our journey home Thank you everyone for all your hard work giving us such a good time Ann, TAUNTON

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view of St Micheal's Mount and the Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights in October. The room was spacious, the bed comfortable, and the view from the small balcony was wonderful. We ate two dinners and one breakfast in the restaurant and all were delicious. The hotel is a bit of a rabbit warren of stairs and long corridors, but our bags were carried to and from our room, so it wasn't an issue. The staff, especially the woman on reception, were excellent and extremely helpful in our search for our next accommodation.

The only problems we had were the lack of internet except in the public areas and lack of privacy when sitting outside because of the light, open barriers between the balconies for each room.

Overall, a very good hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LynetteMin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Stayed for weekend recently on a friend's recommendation, wished we could have stayed for longer. Beautiful view of the Mount, worth the extra, we could see it from bath and bed!

Also stayed for dinner, wonderful meal. Staff so helpful and friendly, but not overly so. Hotel felt comfortable, like the house of a glamorous friend who did not mind you disappearing into their cushions at all.

Only regret was that we didn't book treatments, saw some seriously blissed out people on way in. The hotel was definitely worth the trip, would hope to return when I make it back to Cornwall.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SqueezyWheezy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Forest, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

What a lovely place to spend a couple of days, the views over the mount out in the bay is wonderful.
The castle though at this time of year is only open for guided tours, Tuesday and Friday !! National trust regulations as usual....!!!

The hotel is very well equipped, beautiful decoration all though, clean, and very friendly staff.
Food is excellent and staff very attentive in the restaurant, no complaints what so ever.

The only thing is to mention is the bedroom floors are very creaky, and for us, the bed was on the hard side, but nothing really to spoil a lovely stay.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bruce180852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Having read some of the excellent reviews of the Mount Haven, we decided to book a table for dinner, one Wednesday evening.

The initial approach to the restaurant was somewhat interesting as, on the night that we visited, part of the car park and the steps leading down to the restaurant were not lit, and so we had to rely on our mobile phones to see where we were going.

Upon arrival, we were informed that the power to the lights was off due to water damage and that "we should have used the main entrance ramp".

An excellent suggestion - however, having never been to the hotel before we naively followed the signs that stated 'Restaurant, this way'. Perhaps, a temporary sign at the top of the steps drawing people's attention to the alternative route would have been useful?

A pre-dinner drink in the bar revealed the hotel to be pleasantly decorated in a mellow and relaxed style - soft furnishings, warm wood panels and contemporary artwork abound whilst jazz softly plays in the background. The menu - annoyingly presented as five loose-leaf sheets, bundled in no particular order within a leather folder - offered a fair choice and a short while after our order was taken we were led downstairs to the restaurant.

Again, tasteful decor and a sense of relaxed calm prevails. The room is long and relatively spacious, however during our evening all diners were placed next to each other at one end of the room. I fully understand the need for efficient service on very busy evenings but on this evening there were only eight of us within the restaurant for the whole time - perhaps, a little more space could have been afforded to the diners thereby allowing a cosy ambience to be maintained?

To be fair, my opinion was somewhat clouded by the very large and extremely vocal older lady who appeared to be sat directly on my left shoulder given the adjacency of her table to ours. Oh, how I yearned to be sat a little further away at one of the many empty tables available.

Our waitress was pleasant and attentive, and the service was what you would expect from a restaurant of this calibre. The food itself - duck, lamb, steak - was of a suitably high standard and the choice of wine available was excellent.

However the pubic hair discovered in the scallops was perhaps a little unnecessary.

Recompense by way of a free dessert wine was offered.

The meal ended well with dessert choices nicely presented - the chocolate assiete was particularly well received.

Overall, the restaurant at the Mount Haven may be considered to be of a good quality, however, I have the niggling feeling that the owners believe their own hype a little too much and as such, some of the finer points that would have made the evening a complete success were overlooked.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ben-Tavener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marazion
0.5 mi away
Marazion Hotel
Marazion Hotel
#2 of 3 in Marazion
313 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
796 reviews
5.1 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
247 reviews
5.6 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
17.9 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 23 in Falmouth
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Haven Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Haven Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Mount Haven Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Turnpike Road | Penzance, Marazion TR17 0DQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Marazion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Marazion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Haven Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Alex Polizzi's favourite hotels, The Mount Haven is a beautiful boutique hotel overlooking Mount's Bay to St Michael's Mount. Recently named 'One of the World's Top 9 Secret Hotels' by CNN, The Mount Haven offers luxurious rooms, many with large balconies or patio gardens. The in house therapy room provides a range of treatments to calm and soothe the senses in an holistic environment. A perfect place to unwind, relax and explore magical and breath-taking West Cornwall. Large free car park for guests. You don't have to be staying with us to enjoy our 2 AA rosette restaurant. With a talented team of chefs we aim to delight the palette from breakfast to dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Mount Haven Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Haven Hotel And Restaurant
Mount Haven Marazion
Mount Haven Hotel & Restaurant Marazion, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing