We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mount Haven Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Marazion
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Blink and you'll miss it! The Mount haven Hotel in Marazion is hidden from view due to its position in the lie of the land, so look out for the signs.
At the far end of the village (if you were coming from Penzance) the hotel is tucked into the landscape with beautiful views of Mounts Bay and, in particular, St Michael's Mount.
Ours was a superior sea view room. It was a reasonable size, well appointed and spotlessly clean. The bed was very comfortable and stock of daily goodies was replenished fully each morning.
The food was first rate, delicious in fact. A very good choice for breakfast and for the evening meal. Notify the staff of your intended mealtime in the evening, and when ready sit in the bar for a pre meal drink, or make a start on your bottle of wine, nibble your olives and nuts and place your order, then sit back and relax.
The staff were very friendly and helpful from our initial welcome to our departure. Lots of smiles and conversation and as much help as you needed.
Sadly ours was a fairly short stay ..... but it is very firmly on the list of places to return to, and to recommend to friends.
The Mount Haven Hotel is also very well sighted for exploring West Cornwall and all it has to offer. And, as others have said, good value for money too.

Room Tip: Sea view room essential!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (671)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

265 - 271 of 671 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2014

Stayed here in June 2014 with another couple. The hotel looks like a 1970's flat roof box from the outside but don't let that put you off, the welcome you get more than makes up for it. We were lucky enough to have the most fantastic weather and take advantage of the stunning views over dinner which was served outside on the balcony, (didn't expect that in June!). The owners and staff that run this hotel are clearly in the right business, they are outstanding at hospitality which is how it should be and so refreshing when your on the receiving end! The rooms are lovely with superb views over the Mount which is well worth a visit. The evening meal was absolutely delicious as was breakfast. We couldn't fault this Cornish gem and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bugley600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed as a family of 5, and had an exceptionally good stay. Wonderful food, great family room and exceptionally helpful staff. Could not fault it. The restaurant stood out for its location (the views!!!) and gorgeous food. Excellent value for money too. Thoroughly and unreservedly recommended.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank IRWood297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

My partner and I stayed here for our 1 year anniversary last November. It is an absolutely amazing place to stay. The rooms are beautifully kept, the sea view rooms are just spectacular (panoramic views of st.michaels mount)! Anyone who wants to escape for a romantic break - it is the perfect place. Their food was also very good. Best full English breakfast i have had & the evening meal was just as good. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Sea view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Amy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Such an amazing hotel. The eclectic decoration is a refreshing change from standard hotel interiors. Excellent food and the staff were all amazing. My parents were celebrating their 50th wedding anniversary and the hotel was perfect. Amazing views over the mount. Our room had a balcony and recliners - perfect for chilling out and listening to the sea.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Lizzy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We were lucky enough to get a last minute dinner reservation last night and were welcomed by thoroughly delightful staff who went above and beyond the service expected of this beautiful hotel overlooking St Michaels Mount. The food was amazing but really the service was what made it so special. Not least the charming and highly professional manager Louie who made us feel so welcome we even optimistically asked if they had any rooms left and remarkably they had one room left which we snapped up. We were rewarded with the most gorgeous room with a bed to die for it was so comfortable and we had a great nights sleep. The feather duvet was luxurious and the linens were crisp and cool. Breakfast was delicious and we can't recommend this place highly enough. We can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heidi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We are a Dutch family, two adults and two boys 19 and 21, and stayed for some days in Mount Haven in July 2014. There is plenty of parking and as soon as one enters through the door, there is a warm welcome from very friendly personel. The hotel is an oasis of rest and tranquillity. A light smell of incense enters your nose and relaxes the mind immediately and gives an atmosphere of serenity. Automatically you start whispering instead of talking. The service is of a high standard and the rooms are comfortable, luxurious, spacious, very neat and tidy. We could not hear anything from other guests or traffic. The hotel has a beautifull garden to sit in and a stunning view on Michaels Mount, Michaels Bay and Penzance. From the terrace you can sit and enjoy this view for ours. We had breakfast and dinner several times and it was delicious and more than enough. We enjoyed every minute, and every corner of the hotel. We didn't come to Cornwall to internet or e-mail with home, so wifi-connection in the bar was more than we needed. Knowing that the philosophy of the hotel-management is certainly not primairily focussed on making profit, but also on realising projects to help poor people in the world, it gave us a very warm feeling to stay in Mount Haven. But even if you don't give about that aspect, we would recommend this hotel warmly to everyboddy who has an open eye for more than the average. See our pictures for some of our impressions.

Room Tip: Sea-viewrooms are even more quiet, and have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank wim_veldhuizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marazion
0.5 mi away
Marazion Hotel
Marazion Hotel
#2 of 3 in Marazion
331 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
821 reviews
5.6 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Mullion Cove Hotel
Mullion Cove Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mullion
627 reviews
5.8 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
5.1 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Haven Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Haven Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Turnpike Road | Penzance, Marazion TR17 0DQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Marazion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Marazion
Price Range: £137 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Haven Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mount Haven is on the outskirts of Marazion, a historic market town in west Cornwall. The hotel has 19 beautiful bedrooms, a treatment room, a peaceful garden, an excellent restaurant and a contemporary Terrace Bar with mesmerising views out to sea, with St Michael’s Mount as the focal point. A stay here offers the chance to step away from your busy life and truly relax, unwind and rejuvenate. St Aubyn Estates became the owner of the hotel in July 2016, and after a prolonged period of closure for an extensive renovation we are now open. The hotel has been transformed inside and out, but the warm welcome and dedication of the team to meet our guests’ needs remain rooted in the hotel’s psyche. The restaurant is open to non-residents and Ross Sloan, our Head Chef, is a rising star on the Cornish food scene, serving imaginative food that makes the most of the fresh seasonal produce from the bay and land on our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Mount Haven Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Haven Hotel And Restaurant
Mount Haven Marazion
Mount Haven Hotel & Restaurant Marazion, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing