We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best view in uk?”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Station house

The Station house
Ranked #17 of 19 Restaurants in Marazion
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
UK
Level Contributor
63 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best view in uk?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

Ate at lunch time in the conservatory. Looks I auspicious from the outside but the view from the conservatory is second to none. Very generous portions and helpful staff. 'Pub grub' type food, cooked well and tasty.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Catwallader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    20
    12
    12
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pricey for a tea and cake”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

Went here on a whim to get out from the cold with my husband and little boy.
I thought it would be a good place to stop. Conservatory looked lovely but inside was disappointed with the pub looked rather grim. I witnessed dogs about one went into the kitchen but was promptly told to go out and the owner told to put animal on lead.
Waited to be served at the bar ordered two teas and a couple of sweets. The sweets were on display in the conservatory.
I asked for a what looked like chocolate pie/ tart and a piece roulade. The lady who served me placed it on the table where we chose to sit. I went to get the tea which were a small tea cup.
The chocolate sweet was very small in size and my roulade was better sized.
The lady told me it was £10.20! I nearly said forget it. But thought I need a cup of tea, it's cold and very windy outside and cake had been served.
Yes for a cream tea or a cuppa with a cake in Cornwall is around £5 but at least you get a big cup or pot of tea. Either cake was nothing special unfortunately. Looked brought in nothing wrong with that but usually fine tasting and size better.
Noticed that the sweets were £3.50 each on the chalk board when I sat down. So the cups of tea were most likely £1.50!
Next time we're in the area we will not be stopping there again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hellymcmillan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice people”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

Nice friendly pub but decor is tired and too many pub games and machines. Good food though. Perfect position by the sea.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank clare190277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good pub grub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

Very good pub grub at reasonable prices. The mixed grill came out very hot and well cooked with plenty to eat. Service was very quick and served with a smile. Real ale was very enjoyable

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank john w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight
Level Contributor
84 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Value for Money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

Great location, good beer (Doom Bar) and not over priced. Food was reasonable and enjoyed our first visit.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Yaverland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Station house also viewed

 

Been to The Station house? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing