We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb for a rest” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chymorvah Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marazion
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chymorvah Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Marazion
Gloucester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Superb for a rest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2009

We have stayed at Chymorvah several times over the past 10 years or so. We are always made very welcome. Their standards are very high. The rooms that we occupied were always kept to a very high standard. The food was first class and the menus offered plenty of choice. the mealswere tasty and delightful, the evening meals were especilly nice and the vegetables were presented, each with a lovlely garnish.
The staff were always very friendly, lovely to talk to. We never experiencedany problems and if we had we know that they have been sorted very quickly. I have no hestition we would go there again and again.;

  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ruffle862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    18
    1
    3
    7
See reviews for
16
24
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
356 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2009

We wanted a reception with a difference and so organised a garden party at this hotel as it overlooks St Michaels mount and the bay. The hotels owners and staff were excellent giving our far travelled guest rooms and arranging for the food and over 140 guests. A huge task considering this is more of a family run smaller hotel. Everything was great and no one could have done better. I would recomend this hotel as the best in Cornwall for hospitality and views.

  • Stayed June 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank N9eav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2009

Had a great holiday, rooms were clean tidy and all the staff at the hotel made are stay an excellent experience. My friends went and were highly satisfied with the hotel last year, so we will be going again . Many Thanks for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank trav280123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2009

We are not experienced hotel connoisseurs but love this place. I think it's the personal touch we like so much. Nothing is too much trouble for the friendly staff. Always clean and always flexible in their service of your needs. Highly recommended. Make sure you ask for one of Bernie's Brill Breakfasts!

  • Stayed March 2006, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank stov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heart of England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2009

It was my pleasure to stay at Chymorvah Hotel on a recent visit to Cornwall ... my hosts were wonderfully efficient and genuinely warm in their welcome, my room was in pristine condition and delightfully attractive, the location was charmingly idyllic, the food was sumptuous and thoroughly enjoyable ... all in all, I was more than pleased and would be happy to give this hotel one more star than the three already allocated.

Dr Sam Gordon

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank samgor52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2009

I suppose I should have realised from the website that stated that as they were committed Christians, they wouldn't allow anyone not married to share a bed. As I was on my own this didn't matter, but the place is full of religious texts, bibles all over the place - very freaky and uncomfortable.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
94 Thank Brit_married2Lucian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2008

The Chymorvah hotel is located a little bit outside of Marazion centre, which makes its location very quiet, overlooking the sea.
This is an old house with an old decoration.
Our room, even though it was quite tiny for 2, was pretty, a kitsch fitting, we say, not my style but it was okay.
As there were many plants on the outside wall, the room let spiders in, small and .. a very big one, which more or less ruined the following morning.
The breakfast was the worst i have ever had during my trip in West England. The cheese & omelette was so salty that i could not eat it, the staff were nice enough to make another for me. We had to choose between orange juice and porridge and were begging for additional toasts.
Welcome was fairly okay.
But my general recommendation would be to avoid this place.

  • Liked — decoration details in the room
  • Disliked — breakfast
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
61 Thank lasasson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marazion
0.6 mi away
Marazion Hotel
Marazion Hotel
#2 of 3 in Marazion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mount Haven Hotel & Restaurant
3.2 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Beachfield Hotel
Beachfield Hotel
#2 of 4 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamorna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rosario
Rosario
#7 of 8 in Marazion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chymorvah Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chymorvah Hotel

Property: Chymorvah Hotel
Address: Chymorvah House Turnpike Road, Marazion TR17 0DQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Marazion
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Marazion
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Chymorvah Hotel Marazion, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing