We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Godolphin”
Review of Godolphin Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Godolphin Arms
Ranked #2 of 8 Marazion B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The Godolphin”
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Just returned from our first stay, and was genuinely sad to leave. We had room 2 which sits just above the beach. The room has recently been decorated and includes a large walk in wet room. All the staff were really friendly and it was like we had known them all for years.
There are several bars each with there own ambience. We thouroughly enjoyed the live entertainment that was on whilst we were there and on the one night we didnt go along to the live music we didnt have any issues with noise etc.
Would reccomend this hotel at the drop of a hat.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    280
    94
    32
    13
    3
See reviews for
105
247
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Tetbury, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We are currently staying at the Godolphin (room 2) and I have to say it is amazing. I am currently relaxing, writing this review whilst watching people walking along the beach - perfect. We have stayed here before (Room 6 - see JoJoNewForest's review below - I agree with all they say). The room is is 'very' clean, just like all the other rooms. The view from the window is amazing and relaxing.

All the rooms we have stayed in have been a very good size. The shower is amazing - I could have stayed in it for hours!. The facilities are perfect; you have tea / coffee maker, fridge, and safe in the room. The fridge even had a small carton of milk. Plenty of tea and coffee available if you want it.

The bed is HUGE (and so is the TV!). One of the most comfortable beds I have stayed in for a while.

The decor is relaxing and fresh and all the pictures on the walls are of local places. All rooms have an entrance to the hotel once the hotel closes. You cam come and go as you wish using these exists. Free car parking is provided and is about a 20 sec walk from the hotel.

We have not had breakfast here, but we have had lunch and dinner a number of times (even when not staying here as it is open to non guests). I would recommend the food and it is very good value for money (even our dog got a bowl of treats)

Improvements - um, in the grand scale of things - nothing! Although, saucers with the cups would have been nice, but this is simple nit picking and holds nothing against this amazing place.

It has to be one of the best dog friendly places to stay in Cornwall - If you are around this area, yo must come and stay. Recommend walking on the beach in the evening.

Room Tip: Get rooms upstairs (5 / 6) Best views. Always go for sea views, the small extra price increase is we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oxibay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

I decide to take my girlfriend away for a week end, cornwall seemed an amazing place to visit as we both live in London.
I loved the Idea of a the sea on our feet, the godolphin is litterally on the beach.
I booked room 11 , the view from the bedroom is simply poetic. We fell in love with the place.
The service thers is amazing too. We arrived very early and decided to have breakfast first, the waiter (cant rember the name, but a gentleman with white hair). Once breakfast wad done he personally took us to the room! What a nice touch.
Well done, cant wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniele C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Forest
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in the family suite (Lyonesse) with our two little ones. Our room had the most spectacular view through the large round window over the bay to St Michaels Mount. It was mesmerising to look out watching the changing of the tide, the sailing boats and the little motor boats ferrying passengers to and fro. The view at night is equally impressive with the castle lit up and the moon reflecting on the water. The boys room had an abundance of buckets and spades ready and waiting to be taken to the beach. Good facilities in the room with a family bathroom plus a shower room. Generous refreshments offered with tea, soft drinks and a brilliant coffee machine plus delicious Cornish biscuits. We had a good lunch of fresh mackerel on the outside terrace. The breakfast on both mornings was top notch and Geoffrey was a delight to talk to with good knowledge of the local area. The only negative would be the slightly tatty looking exterior but I should imagine thats hard to keep on top of with the prevailing sea winds. We will definitely return and are already missing that very special round window.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoJoNewForest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012 via mobile

This is the third time this year that we have stayed at this stunning seaside hotel which is right opposite St Michael's Mount. The first time we had room 1 with huge bay windows, the room was beautifully decorated in a contemporary style as was the recently fitted bathroom. The room itself was spacious, light and airy with the best views ever of St Michael's Mount....we could have stayed in our room all day if it wasn't for the unusual fantastic weather we were also blessed to have that visit. The second time we stayed in the balcony room with a very generous size balcony which had a wooden bench and a table and chairs. The third stay we had room 11 with the large port hole window directly overlooking St Michael's Mount from the huge 6 foot bed. This was a family room as there were 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and a very spacious hallway. All the rooms were kitted out with luxurious toiletries, coffee machine, apple juice each day in the family room, and all had iPod docks. The service we received at this outstanding hotel was the best we have ever had. They catered for all my dietary requirements as I am Coeliac and vegetarian....nothing was a problem for them at all. They had gluten free toast for me at breakfast, and even made me the most tasty sauté potatoes to go with my cooked breakfast. Geoffrey waited on us and looked after us each meal time and always gave us the best tables by the windows. He was very friendly and informative about local events. Also Ben was great, he carried our suitcases to our room on arrival, always very cheerful and friendly throughout our stay. All the staff at this hotel were friendly without being pretentious which is a big reason we like this hotel and feel comfortable here. We always were greeted cheerfully by the cleaning staff too. Standards are very high as the place is immaculate throughout but the atmosphere is very relaxing. We shall return next year, and highly recommend The Godolphin Arns. Thank you to all the staff who looked after us this year at your lovely hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RDerienzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graz, Austria
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

"Make yourself at home" is not just a phrase here. Everybody is so kind and professional - but not in a stiff manner! The location is just picture perfect - right opposite St Michaels Mount. The rooms are newly refurbished and airy - mind you we were in one of the "smaller" one's looking into the village... At breakfast there's hardly anything to be missed (buffet and full English) and even if you do, it won't be for long - you'll get it immediatley. We ate dinner at the Godolphin as well and were never disappointed. There's also a pub in the downstairs - but it's not disturbing in anyway if you look for somewhere quite. The location is perfect for trips to Land's End or Lizard Island. The village of Marazion is (if you can believe the guide books) one of the oldest in Cornwall and lovely! We had a great time and found it easy to relax!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elke Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Dorado Hills, California
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

The Godolphin Arms is in a terrific location. St. Michael's Mount is directly out from the hotel, so the views are just amazing. We had a room that actually looked out to the front on to the street, but there was very little noise. Great restaurant and pub onsite. The Pub is lively and fun, the restaurant had good food, and the location just can't be beat. Very nice walk along the beach to get to Penzance, but there is also easy bus service as well. I definitely suggest walking to Philip's to get a pasty, oh so tasty!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelBugCaliGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marazion
0.6 mi away
Mount Haven Hotel & Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Marazion Hotel
Marazion Hotel
#2 of 3 in Marazion
314 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
248 reviews
5.2 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
5.6 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Godolphin Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Godolphin Arms

Property: Godolphin Arms
Address: West End, Marazion TR17 0EN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Marazion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Marazion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Godolphin Arms is on the water’s edge of Mount’s Bay along a two mile stretch of beach in the historic market town of Marazion, West Cornwall. It overlooks the beautiful St Michael’s Mount, with one of the most magnificent beachside views in the country.Following a major renovation inside and out, the Godolphin Arms has recently reopened its doors unveiling a warm and welcoming beachside inn – a place to eat, drink or stay and explore the unspoilt beauty of the South West coast.Our stunning coastal location has inspired the design, bringing the natural beauty of the beach outside in with relaxed, mellow living spaces and a stunning centrepiece - a two storey light-bathed glass and zinc dining area opening out onto a balcony upstairs and a terrace downstairs. Walk straight in off the beach to our colourful and chilled-out beach bar, linger on the beachside terrace with friends or relax and unwind on the comfy sofas and chairs by the woodburner. Eating at the Godolphin Arms is a relaxed and informal affair and we offer an all-day menu to be enjoyed whatever the occasion or mood. Our food philosophy is simple; we want to provide freshly cooked food that tastes delicious, is beautifully presented and showcases the quality and seasonality of local Cornish produce.Whether you choose to eat, drink or stay in one of our ten en-suite bedrooms, the team will be delighted to welcome you and will do all they can to ensure your stay with us is both memorable and enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Godolphin Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Godolphin Arms Hotel Marazion
Godolphin Arms Marazion, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing