We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A unique experience.”
Review of Godolphin Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Godolphin Arms
Ranked #2 of 8 Marazion B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mittagong, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“A unique experience.”
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We had done no research on this part of our vacation and walked in off the street looking for a room. We were lucky that we were shown the 2 available rooms to choose from, one on the first floor with a balcony with views across to St Michael's Mount and the second Room #1 on the basement level with a magnificent bay window with the same view as above. We chose room #1 because the weather was a little too inclement to sit on the balcony and the sun filled bay window allowed us to enjoy a coffee and tea and soak in the magnificent view. Marazion is a lovely town to wander around but we feel that we won the lottery by stumbling into this hotel. The room was large with good furnishings and appointments. We dined in the hotel for dinner and breakfast which was both convenient but also very tasty. The unique part of the stay was in the evening when the tide come in with the splash from the waves hitting our window. We loved the place. Another bonus was that free secure parking adjoined the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for room #1 if it is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelerTrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    89
    31
    13
    3
See reviews for
102
240
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We are currently on our 4th stay with a 5th booked! There is nothing negative i could say about the Godolphin and would thoroughly recommend it to a family or a couple. Room 6 and 7 are stunning. Room 7 is a very well proportioned "family room" our favoured room, and we are now very spoilt as no other family room we have stayed in in other hotels can live up to this one...it consists of a large bed (large enough to accomodate 2 adults, a 3 year old and a 9 year old!) off this room is then a room for the children complete with bunkbed and a tv! There is also a large bathroom. The highlight of the adults room are the double doors onto the very spacious balcony with THE most amazing view of St Michaels Mount. Seriously.. you will not want to leave!!!

The staff are all superb, of a standard that anyone in the UK service industry should aspire to. They are all so friendly and helpful and we really do feel sincerely welcome when we stay..which makes us want to return again and again. In fact we don't want to leave and my children want to live here :D

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenAhmed
Level Contributor
46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

The pub with rooms and two massive bars wont dispoint. We stayed in a ground floor room (no. 2) and the view over St Michels Mount was just perfect. It wasgreat to sit in the room with a coffee looking over the changing sea scape.

The bars in the place are very busy, but you can always find somewhere to sit. Its dog friendly so we were able to take our dogs and they also loved it.

Rooms - Well appointed with a clean and very new wet room. Good shower. Excellent linen on oversized singles with a nice amount of space between them. The room wasn't massive, but were light, bright and very very clean! Room safe and fridge! Lots of hangers.

Breakfast was ok, not amazing, but good. Juices and fruit, pastries and fresh strawberries a nice touch. They do need to sharpen up on the cooked breakfast. The eggs were pre poached and not cooed through (no glutenous white) and the bacon and sausage could have been better, but thats only a slight niggle. The toast was ample and the butter was great! Coffee served in a caffertiere could have had a spoonful more coffee added as it was a little weak but thats preferance more than anything.

Dogs bowls and towels in the room a nice touch.

Room Tip: Room 2 worth the extra for the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BenAhmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We had'nt stayed at the Godolphin before and we were looking forward to our 10 day stay. We were not disappointed. We found our accomodation very relaxing in a spacious room. The food was always fresh and we could not find fault with our stay at all. The most important thing was all the staff, who were always friendly and made time to be helpful.

We would recommend the Godolphin to everyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HolidayFantatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wadebridge
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We booked in here on the day of arrival, out of season, we were pleasantly surprised to be allocated a family room with balcony at a reduced price!
The room was lovely with the most amazing views of St Michaels Mount.
We would happily stay here again and would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleetwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

I have been staying at the Godolphin for over ten years, both on business and for pleasure.
I have seen the rooms go from " colourfull " to peacefull " , but never dissapointing.
The hotel is the ultimate in rest and relaxation, be it on your balcony overlooking St..Michaels Mount or down on the terrace outside the Gig bar. The place just oozes chill and relax.
The rooms are well equiped and extremelly clean and tidy, and lately even the Godolphin has added an i pod docking station in the room, along with totally free wi- which on business is a big help. A flat screen tv on the wall, adds to the entertainment in the room.
The food especially at breakfast is first class, and the staff are only too keen to help with whatever you ask, should you choose to move away slightly from the menu. I have an eight hour drive to reach the Godolphin, but have made the journey every year of the past ten, it is an absolute pleasure to stay. The hotel offers parking for each room , in its own section of the car park at the side of the hotel, and is free of charge to residents.
I look forward to going back and meeting Jeffrey and the team again.

Room Tip: If your budget allows, try and get a room with a beach side balcony, you wont regret it !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STEVE P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Me and my wife recently stayed at The Godolphin Arms and found our stay thouroughly enjoyable. Not only does the hotel benefit from having breath taking views of St. Michaels Mount, it also has outstanding staff. From the moment we arrived, until the day of departure, the staff were excellent. The food was of exceptional quality and at a reasonable price. If you are thinking of staying here then don't hesitate. You will not be dissapointed. The tribute beer battered cod and chips is a must when dining. I hope your stay was as enjoyable as ours!

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 2 have lovely views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JIMMCGEE D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marazion
0.1 mi away
Marazion Hotel
Marazion Hotel
#2 of 3 in Marazion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mount Haven Hotel & Restaurant
2.6 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#3 of 4 in Penzance
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rosario
Rosario
#7 of 8 in Marazion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Godolphin Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Godolphin Arms

Property: Godolphin Arms
Address: West End, Marazion TR17 0EN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Marazion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Marazion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Godolphin Arms is on the water’s edge of Mount’s Bay along a two mile stretch of beach in the historic market town of Marazion, West Cornwall. It overlooks the beautiful St Michael’s Mount, with one of the most magnificent beachside views in the country.Following a major renovation inside and out, the Godolphin Arms has recently reopened its doors unveiling a warm and welcoming beachside inn – a place to eat, drink or stay and explore the unspoilt beauty of the South West coast.Our stunning coastal location has inspired the design, bringing the natural beauty of the beach outside in with relaxed, mellow living spaces and a stunning centrepiece - a two storey light-bathed glass and zinc dining area opening out onto a balcony upstairs and a terrace downstairs. Walk straight in off the beach to our colourful and chilled-out beach bar, linger on the beachside terrace with friends or relax and unwind on the comfy sofas and chairs by the woodburner. Eating at the Godolphin Arms is a relaxed and informal affair and we offer an all-day menu to be enjoyed whatever the occasion or mood. Our food philosophy is simple; we want to provide freshly cooked food that tastes delicious, is beautifully presented and showcases the quality and seasonality of local Cornish produce.Whether you choose to eat, drink or stay in one of our ten en-suite bedrooms, the team will be delighted to welcome you and will do all they can to ensure your stay with us is both memorable and enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Godolphin Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Godolphin Arms Hotel Marazion
Godolphin Arms Marazion, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing