We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings”
Review of Godolphin Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Godolphin Arms
Ranked #2 of 8 Marazion B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Stayed for two nights. A wonderful welcome at reception and help with our heavy cases from the car park to our rooms. Our room was enormous with two windows - one overlooking The Mount and one with a view of the Lizard. Vast comfy bed, coffee machine, fresh milk, ironing board and iron. Super bathroom with great shower. Bad points: some of the furniture was a little knocked about and there was the most disgusting smell pervading the room. We were assured by staff that this was the smell of the seaweed, but it smelled like sewage to me (having briefly worked in the offices of a sewage treatment works the aroma seemed very familiar!). What really let the place down were the bar, restaurant and public rooms - ugh! Total lack of ambiance, smelly corridors, stained carpets and seats, curtains falling down, mediocre food, waitress with a bandaged hand who left us to lay our own places and slimy watercress. Breakfast was quite nice and the head waiter was very professional, but it would be good if the window tables were reserved for residents. We dined over the road on our second evening at the Marazion Hotel - lovely! This was the most expensive hotel we stayed at on our mini-tour of Cornwall and the worst value for money, which was disappointing.

Room Tip: Avoid room 10 when the weather is hot - it stinks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank varosha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
angelacollyns, Guest Relations Manager at Godolphin Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Our apologies that the public areas did not meet the standards set by your guest room. We are due to close for a major refurbishment in November which will bring the public areas up to the standard of the letting bedrooms. We would be delighted if you returned next year as I am sure that the new look Godolphin Arms will meet all your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (481)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

317 - 323 of 481 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2013

stayed at the hotel over night and were welcomed and looked after brilliantly.very clean room, food very nice and I must make note of Geoff who I think is one of the hotels best assets.if only the staff in the gig bar were the same the service was like being in a different establishment not as good , but overall great stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bertiebutters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

The Godolphin Arms is clearly popular, both as a hotel, restaurant and a pub. It is directly opposite the causeway to St Michael's Mount and the sea views are magnificent, The rooms are spacious, well equiped and ours had a god size bathroom too. The food was excellent and staff bent over backwards to be helpful and ensure visitors had a good experience. I would have no hesitation in recommending the Godolphin and hope to return before too long.

Room Tip: Sea-view rooms are more expensive, but the outlook is terrific. ( Marazion isn't bad to look at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DevonDays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Stayed here for a few days last minute booking. Staff at point of booking very helpful and empowered to agree price as so alte a booking. All staff are very friendly and will do anything they can to make your stay enjoyable. View from room 11 that we booked was superb looking across to the mount. Good room facilities. Good steady wholesome food.

Room Tip: Although mount view rooms are more expensive it really is worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank compliant1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013 via mobile

We walked in on the off chance they would have a room. We were in luck and got a room with a view of St Michaels Mount. The room was nicely decorated and the bed was very comfortable. The staff were friendly and there was a great atmosphere.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsW2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We have just returned from an excellent 2 night break at the Godolphin Arms with our 6 month old cocker spaniel.
We were in room 1 which has a fantastic view over St Michaels Mount, the room was large, modern and very comfortable. To say they are dog friendly is an understatement - they could not have done more to make us feel welcome, including a sausage for the dogs breakfast and a bowl of dog biscuits in the room. All of the staff are very dog friendly and take time out to chat.
The food was excellent and both the evening meals and the breakfasts were served quickly and were piping hot.
We would thoroughly recommend the Godolphin Arms - we have rarely stayed anywhere that has such friendly staff.

Room Tip: The sea facing rooms are more expensive but well worth it for the fantastic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Binito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We had done no research on this part of our vacation and walked in off the street looking for a room. We were lucky that we were shown the 2 available rooms to choose from, one on the first floor with a balcony with views across to St Michael's Mount and the second Room #1 on the basement level with a magnificent bay window with the same view as above. We chose room #1 because the weather was a little too inclement to sit on the balcony and the sun filled bay window allowed us to enjoy a coffee and tea and soak in the magnificent view. Marazion is a lovely town to wander around but we feel that we won the lottery by stumbling into this hotel. The room was large with good furnishings and appointments. We dined in the hotel for dinner and breakfast which was both convenient but also very tasty. The unique part of the stay was in the evening when the tide come in with the splash from the waves hitting our window. We loved the place. Another bonus was that free secure parking adjoined the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for room #1 if it is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelerTrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marazion
0.6 mi away
Mount Haven Hotel & Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Marazion Hotel
Marazion Hotel
#2 of 3 in Marazion
335 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamorna
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
6.1 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
1,044 reviews
5.9 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Godolphin Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Godolphin Arms

Address: West End, Marazion TR17 0EN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Marazion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Marazion
Price Range: £99 - £229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Godolphin Arms is on the water’s edge of Mount’s Bay along a two mile stretch of beach in the historic market town of Marazion, West Cornwall. It overlooks the beautiful St Michael’s Mount, with one of the most magnificent beachside views in the country.Following a major renovation inside and out, the Godolphin Arms has recently reopened its doors unveiling a warm and welcoming beachside inn – a place to eat, drink or stay and explore the unspoilt beauty of the South West coast.Our stunning coastal location has inspired the design, bringing the natural beauty of the beach outside in with relaxed, mellow living spaces and a stunning centrepiece - a two storey light-bathed glass and zinc dining area opening out onto a balcony upstairs and a terrace downstairs. Walk straight in off the beach to our colourful and chilled-out beach bar, linger on the beachside terrace with friends or relax and unwind on the comfy sofas and chairs by the woodburner. Eating at the Godolphin Arms is a relaxed and informal affair and we offer an all-day menu to be enjoyed whatever the occasion or mood. Our food philosophy is simple; we want to provide freshly cooked food that tastes delicious, is beautifully presented and showcases the quality and seasonality of local Cornish produce.Whether you choose to eat, drink or stay in one of our ten en-suite bedrooms, the team will be delighted to welcome you and will do all they can to ensure your stay with us is both memorable and enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Godolphin Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Godolphin Arms Hotel Marazion
Godolphin Arms Marazion, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing