We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room for improvement but...”
Review of Godolphin Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Godolphin Arms
Ranked #2 of 8 Marazion B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Selborne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Room for improvement but...”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We took a long weekend at the Godolphin Arms. The venue had been recently refurbished to a high standard with wonderful views over the sea and St Michaels Mount. The rooms are clean, quiet and comfortable we had room ten which we think was the best for space and light.

The staff are chatty and extraordinarily likable as are the management nothing was too much trouble. The venue has some teething troubles with new staff especially in the restaurant but with their hearts in the right place it is easy to forgive. I believe that these issues will be resolved in the near future, if not they pressure of summer volumes will tell. The food is excellent.

The rooms are pricey and my one real recommendation would be to reduce it by about 15%.

I look forward to returning at the end of the season.

Robin

Room Tip: Look first choose second.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robedh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    279
    94
    32
    13
    3
See reviews for
105
246
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

A trip to the Scillies prompted a one night stop over , Resting at the waters edge overlooking St Michaels mount this hotel has a position to die for , room was very nice having been freshly decorated with flat screen tv , view of the beach , tea and coffee , all the mod cons.
My problem is that the hotel itself was very run down and dirty , a perpetual smell of something rotting was present in all the lower floor hallways, which the hotel operators had tried to mask with the addition of air fresheners in the rooms.
The bar restaurant was spacious but very grubby with stained seats and carpets , it somewhat put me off eating there, the food selection was limited and the menu read beautifully, its a pitty the food was not actually that good.
Don't get me wrong but at £185 per night you should get a decent experience and this hotel did not deliver. there was much talk of the hotel being refurbished with posters showing what the hotel will be like once completed, I hope this hotel improves once refurbished.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank STEVE M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Thank you so much to ALL the staff for making our stay at the Godolphin one to remember. We stayed in room 10, which was amazing, fantastic views, we loved sitting in the bay window with a glass of wine just watching the little boats ferrying the visitors to the mount and back. I had a tear each morning at breakfast watching the little ones getting off the boats for the journey to school. The Godolphin is situated in such a fantastic spot, virtually on the entrance to the causeway, just beautiful. Good luck with the up-grade of the lounge and bar areas. Hope you replace all the windows with PVC (including the bedrooms). Looking forward to our return. Have recommended to our friends.
Thanks again, Bob & Lo, Wales.

Room Tip: Room 10 had an amazing walk-in shower, a large bed, a large bay window, overlooking the gardens, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank loretta102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Me and my partner stayed at the Godolphin hotel for one night. On arrival we were impressed at the service that was provided by the man at reception. We were shown where the carpark was and he helped carry our bags to our room. The room was a very nice size and very clean! Bathroom was big also!
The carvery we had for dinner that evening was yummy and the staff were very helpful, staff member had noticed the Yorkshire puddings had ran out so brought a plate of some other for us! :)
Breakfast was lovely in the morning too! Staff were all very friendly and polite, we really had a fantastic stay and didn't want to leave. A lot of the staff wished my partner a happy birthday which was nice of them.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirsty002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

One of the nicest hotel rooms I've stayed in, very clean with thoughtful touches such as iPod dock and leaflet pack for holidaymakers. Staff very friendly and helpful and cooked breakfast very nice with beautiful views. Only downside for me was no covers over the fruit or pastries at breakfast as there were a few wasps lurking around there. Previous reviews have complained about the smell but that is just the smell of marazion :) would recommend to anybody.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McGee92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We had a party of two rooms, rooms 10 and 1. I was in room 1 with my two children (on z-beds), my sister and her husband in room 10. Both rooms very nice and pleasant, fantastic views and lovely and clean. They even provided the children with fishing nets and buckets.
Unfortunately the journey to room 1 was not a pleasant experience at all, the smell of old wet dog that had come off the beach and ingrained it's self into the hall carpet (that looked as if it had been laid 20 years earlier).
We all ran to our room holding our noses, the smell was so bad it even made the children gag..and they're not normally fussy.
Sadly, and this is not the hotels fault, the local water company emptied the sewage into the sea right next to the hotel about three times a day, leaving a very smelly scum floating on the sea. I did not let the children in the sea!
The positives are that the staff are wonderful, the views are breath taking and the rooms are very pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
angelacollyns, Guest Relations Manager at Godolphin Arms, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
I would like to apologise that your stay was ruined with us by unpleasant smells. The staircase leading down to rooms 1, unfortunately, also takes all the traffic in and out of our kitchen serving the outside terrace. Believe it or not, the carpet was replaced in July and is due to be replaced again this Saturday as we cannot keep it to the standard necessary. This problem will be addressed by our refurbishment in November when the access to room 1 will be remodelled. I suspect the smell was of seaweed which when the tide does not take it back out lies on the beach and stagnates. This smell is a constant problem and is the downside to our fantastic position on the beach. I note your comments regarding the wonderful staff, rooms and views and hope you will return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

I have just spent a night at this hotel and feel very strongly that it is overpriced for what they offer. On arriving I could not find the car park (having received no directions) so had to park on double yellow lines outside so I could go in and ask. I rang the bell at reception five times before someone appeared. I can't complain about their service at this point as they were very pleasant and helpful. I was then shown to my room which was on the ground floor. I have to say that the access to the room was appalling - the carpets were filthy and there was an overall smell of something not nice. I felt like I was going into the bowels of somewhere quite unpleasant, it was all very shoddy and uncared for and if I owned the hotel I would have been embarrassed to show guests who are expected to spend £170 for the room through an area this dilapidated.

The room itself was quite pleasant, a good size and with lovely views of St Michaels Mount, but nothing out of the ordinary. I have stayed in other hotels that are equally good if not better and charged a lot less.

Come the morning I was woken at 7am by what can only be described as the sound of a herd of elephants moving around above me. It was obviously the staff preparing for breakfast - but my gosh they must have been wearing hob-nailed boots. A little more consideration wouldn't have gone amiss.

St Aubyn Estates should look very closely at this as I shall not return there!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
angelacollyns, Guest Relations Manager at Godolphin Arms, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
I am really sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. We understand your comments regarding the access to the room and the noise levels. However we are due to close for a major refurbishment in November which will resolve these problems. The room you stayed in is our most popular room and most people describe it as spectacular. I am sorry it did not meet your expectations and again we will look at making chances to upgrading the room when we shut in November. I would like to apologies again and I would like to think you will pay us another visit after our refurbishment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marazion
0.6 mi away
Mount Haven Hotel & Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Marazion Hotel
Marazion Hotel
#2 of 3 in Marazion
314 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
248 reviews
5.2 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
5.6 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Godolphin Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Godolphin Arms

Property: Godolphin Arms
Address: West End, Marazion TR17 0EN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Marazion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Marazion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Godolphin Arms is on the water’s edge of Mount’s Bay along a two mile stretch of beach in the historic market town of Marazion, West Cornwall. It overlooks the beautiful St Michael’s Mount, with one of the most magnificent beachside views in the country.Following a major renovation inside and out, the Godolphin Arms has recently reopened its doors unveiling a warm and welcoming beachside inn – a place to eat, drink or stay and explore the unspoilt beauty of the South West coast.Our stunning coastal location has inspired the design, bringing the natural beauty of the beach outside in with relaxed, mellow living spaces and a stunning centrepiece - a two storey light-bathed glass and zinc dining area opening out onto a balcony upstairs and a terrace downstairs. Walk straight in off the beach to our colourful and chilled-out beach bar, linger on the beachside terrace with friends or relax and unwind on the comfy sofas and chairs by the woodburner. Eating at the Godolphin Arms is a relaxed and informal affair and we offer an all-day menu to be enjoyed whatever the occasion or mood. Our food philosophy is simple; we want to provide freshly cooked food that tastes delicious, is beautifully presented and showcases the quality and seasonality of local Cornish produce.Whether you choose to eat, drink or stay in one of our ten en-suite bedrooms, the team will be delighted to welcome you and will do all they can to ensure your stay with us is both memorable and enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Godolphin Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Godolphin Arms Hotel Marazion
Godolphin Arms Marazion, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing