We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you for making our anniversary extra special”
Review of The Moonraker

The Moonraker
Ranked #14 of 95 Restaurants in Trowbridge
Price range: US$15 - US$36
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Head Chef, Matthew Briddon, has put our Restaurant firmly on the culinary map, offering guests his unique style of farmhouse dining, using local ingredients to showcase some old fashioned classics. Matthews onsite smokery and extensive kitchen garden has become central to the menus developed for the restaurant. There is a olde worlde bar and a large lounge area for pre and post dinner drinks. There is no strict dress code.
somerset, uk
Level Contributor
414 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“Thank you for making our anniversary extra special”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My husband and I ate here on Bank Holiday Monday which was also our wedding anniversary.
The restaurant is just to the side of The Manor Hotel - lovely grounds and lots of parking. We received a lovely warm welcome on entering the restaurant and opted to have a pre-dinner drink relaxing in the snug area.
We had booked the 5 course tasting menu - which consisted of consomme/ goats cheese and beetroot/smoked salmon (smoked on site), pork belly with mash/onions, treacle pudding. We really enjoyed most of the courses and a great way to try out various dishes. Good amount of time between courses.
Our waitress was very enthusiastic and bubbly. Enjoyed talking about the dishes she was serving to us and the ingredients and what is important is that she had already sampled them and able to comment of the dish.
Sadly is was raining when we arrived and left the restaurant so wasnt able to enjoy a stroll around the grounds and walled garden.
Very enjoyable meal and experience and would definitely recommend

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LAD63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    17
    9
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“I disagree with Simon D of Bath( 2 reviews before mine) but to be fair, I haven't been to Menu Gordon Jones.”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We also dined on the Amazon tasting menu to celebrate my husband's birthday and it was wonderful. There were lots of different flavours to experience and we enjoyed every course.
The only course we weren't 'wild' about was the dessert which was a chocolate pudding type thing with a huge biscuit on top. We would have liked a fruit purée with it and less biscuit because it was too sweet for us, but that's just personal preference.
The waiting staff were excellent. They were friendly and enthusiastic about the food they were serving us. They were knowledgeable about what ingredients had been used. After our dinner we wandered round the kitchen garden and saw some of these ingredients growing there, waiting to be freshly picked
Obviously we had a meal at a reduced price and it was SO worth it. I would probably be slightly less effusive if I had paid over £100 for it though.
However it made for a very special night and my husband is still raving about it to our friends and family.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JewelHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“delicious”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Stayed at the Old Manor recently and ate in their restaurant both nights. Their new chef (from the River Cafe) produces simple, seasonal classics at a great price. We will definitely be back.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank anna h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing , well it is in Trowbridge after all”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Save your money and eat at your local pub , the food will taste better and cost a lot less !

We had the Amazon taster menu , not a patch on Menu Gordon Jones in Bath .

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Simon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerOldManor, Owner at The Moonraker, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Hmm what to say to this one? Erm...well...I checked your other reviews you have left as it sometimes will say a lot and guess what they are as random as the one you left us....not surprised at all.
On one side you say 'a pub is cheaper' which is weird as the 5 course menu you had was £19.50 per person. Then you go on to mention a restaurant in Bath as being 'much better' which I took the time to look at (looks amazing by the way) however their prices are around the £50 mark per person and not £19.50.
Finally a note on Trowbridge- Some of the biggest developments in the county are happening there as we speak and a lot of smart money is being invested both commercially and personally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

The chef is trying to source locally, this may be limiting the menu choice for some diners. My view is if the chef makes a choice, based on quality available on that day and has not included for example beef steaks then there is a reason for this.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Moonraker also viewed

Trowbridge, Wiltshire
 

Been to The Moonraker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing