We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent family owned pub/restaurant”
Review of The Poplars

The Poplars
Ranked #2 of 94 Restaurants in Trowbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, View, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Poplars is a family run country pub & restaurant, offering delicious home cooked food, a friendly atmosphere & great service. Situated in the lovely Wiltshire village of Wingfield between Trowbridge & Bath, whether you wish to enjoy a quiet drink in the bar or dine in one of 2 restaurants, you're always welcome.
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent family owned pub/restaurant”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

A lovely family owned pub with excellent food. Best to book, but certainly if you want to go on a Saturday night or Bank Holiday.
If you are lucky, you'll get to watch cricket on the quirky pitch next to the pub (hit a six and you are out, is the rule!, I believe!)
Home cooked excellent food in a friendly atmosphere with reasonable prices. What more can you ask for.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ADRIAN I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    99
    26
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lunch”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Went with friends at their suggestion as they are regulars and we found the meals to be excellent. I had lambs liver which was truely superb.

A nice kept pint of beer in very nice surroundings with a very pleasant host and staff

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Iain M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely Birthday Lunch”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Saturday here with my wife for her Birthday. Our Son had fish and chips wrapped in faux newspaper. I had the curry of the day, my wife had the filo pie veg. option from the specials board.
What did itv for me was that the dishes were well presented, ample potions and the plates were hot, a major must for me. I hate cold plates, so, well done The Poplars.
I had a super Passion fruit Cheesecake for pudding. It was to die for, nice and tart and complemented the curry very well indeed. A lovely atmosphere and welcome. The waitress was very pleasant and made sure evrything was to our liking. A definite must go again soon!! Well done!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WiltsYeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Excellent Lunch”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

recommended by a friend, had the fish and chips which amused my mum as they come wrapped in newsprint paper, it was her birthday and it gave her a real laugh, it was crowded but we were quite early so got a table no probs.
The dessert was to die for - toffee and banana tart - oh my - beautifully presented and wonderful to eat. will be back often, thank you!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melksham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great family run pub”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

This is a lovely pub situated in Wingfield. I went last week with some work colleagues and we had a great evening. The food is very reasonably priced and a great variety available from the menu or the specials board. I had Scallops which were plentiful and very good value. This pub is run by a family and it shows as they provide a very friendly atmosphere. Well worth a visit!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 430AndrewM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Poplars also viewed

 
Trowbridge, Wiltshire
Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
 

Been to The Poplars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing