We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Building - let down by customer service”

Biss Barn Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trowbridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Biss Barn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 15 Trowbridge B&B and Inns
Malvern, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice Building - let down by customer service”
Reviewed 1 June 2013

To call it a bed and breakfast is a little harsh as the building, grounds and rooms are far nicer than most hotels we stay at, the TV's were big, had their own DVD players complete with a selection of DVDs, however we did find an issue with customer service.

When arriving we were told to take our shoes off, not asked to, told not to lay around in our dirty work stuff, not asked to, told four times to drive slowly through the grounds, not asked to, told not to use the spare bed or towels, not asked to etc. Now upon reading that you may think I'm being picky, but I'm not a child, I'm a 32 yr old father of two, I do not enjoy being treated like a child.

We work for a company that travels the UK all year round and have stayed in many varying types of accommodation, we need to bring our work equipment to charge it, this has never been a problem until now. We brought our equipment and were greeted with "Come on BOYS, your taking the mickey now" followed by a few other insulting comments. My parents own rental accommodation and I felt sorry for the owners as the extra cost does make a difference to the business so after taking our stuff down I tried to calm things by speaking to Dee. I explained that it wasn't really our fault, it's our office staffs responsibility to deal with bookings and we assumed she had been told we needed to charge our equipment - I offered her our office number to call and request extra money for our use of the extra electricity, she declined to take it and then proceeded to tell me off about how rude we were to expect this - despite explaining it was our offices responsibility to explain this not ours. I was told she would "Let me off this time" Only to receive a phone call from the office two minutes later asking what the problem was???

We tried our best to behave, we did stay up a little late one night playing cards and did not realise our room was next to the owners, we did apologise when told off in the morning - Again.

The whole time we felt unwelcome, unwanted and as if we were intruding - I would not recommend this place to anyone under the age of 40 and only then if you intend on being perfect.

In addition our towels were not changed once in our four night stay.

Having said all this the customer service we received from Derek was excellent and he did make us feel welcome.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank macziggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
del1957, Owner at Biss Barn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Thank you for your feedback, its very much appreciated and we have taken all your comments on board. We are very pleased that you found the accommodation clean & comfortable, but very sorry to hear about some of the comments you have made. We have been in this business a very long time and we both would like to think that we have always made all our guests very welcomed and relaxed in our home. This is the first time someone has left unhappy with the service we have provided. If we had known that there was a problem, I am sure we could have rectify this at the time. Yes, we did charge you extra for the charging your work equipment, we felt it only fair to do this as there was a few items and we did not know how much electric they would use, it would have been nice to have been asked first. We do not mind our guests charging personal items like lap tops, mobile phones etc.

As for the drinking one evening, all 3 decided to play cards in one of the bedrooms, which is absolutely fine and we do not have any problems with that but, what I do object to, is that after coming back from the pub, the 3 got through a case of beer which is when things got loud and about 11:30 in the evening, we had to tell them to be quite as we could hear them from down stairs.

Maybe if there was more communications between us, none of this would have happened, we do apologies that you felt unhappy and not welcomed in our home as this is not our intentions, we have always had a happy home here and we would like to think that this will continue in the future.

Our sincere apologies

Derek & Dee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    0
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
10
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle Emlyn
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 May 2013

We stayed one night earlier this year as we were visiting relatives in Trowbridge who didn't have room to put us up. Twin beds pushed together to make a double as the double room wasn't available, bed SO comfortable, couldn't feel the join, room and en-suite spacious, warm, beautifully decorated and immaculate. Hosts friendly and welcoming, breakfast in the kitchen a delight. We look forward to staying again - would definitely recommend, best B and B we've ever stayed in.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westwales07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Recently stayed with Derek and Dee at Biss Barn for 3 nights bed and breakfast. They have a lovely home and the room was extremely spacious and clean. Comfortable bed and well equipped with the cooked breakfast setting you up for the day ahead. We have already booked one of the cottages for later in the year.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fedfan56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013 via mobile

This is the way to do it! Derek, Dee and their adorable little Dog, Tilly, have this hosting malarkey right in the bag.
Wonderful, warm, friendly and understated welcome into their delicious home for a one night stay (gutted) in an en suite twin room.
Huge, beautifully decorated and quality furnished room with a massive television, strong wifi connection and scrumptious comfy bed. It was a true delight to spend the night here.
Spacious bathroom, again, wonderfully decorated. Great shower, hot and powerful... I didn't want to get out.
Both Derek and Dee were accommodating, helpful and charming, to the point where you felt like you were staying with old friends. Two of the nicest people I have met on my travels.
The gardens surrounding the accommodation are very pretty, cute ducks, lovely selection of chucky chickens and a joy to wake up to.
Breakfast in their stunning kitchen was scrummy! Very tasty and a great selection of cooked and cold delights.
But my favourite bit of this experience was being met by wee Tilly, outside my bedroom door in the morning, who showed me downstairs and into the kitchen for breakfast. Cute.
I hope I get to come back here and for more than one night! Sublime.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAYNE L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

This has to be one of the best B&B’s that I have stayed in.
The twin room is very spacious and comfortable with a large en-suite bathroom and a very good electric shower.
Dee and Derek are a lovely couple who go out of their way to make your stay that little bit special.
Breakfasts, served in the conservatory, are extremely wholesome, fresh fruits, cereals and a healthy full English.
Definitely recommended.

Room Tip: Both rooms are spacious and comfortable, your choice for a double or twin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our weekend at Biss Barn which was in a beautiful location and only 15 minutes drive from Longleat where we spend the day on Saturday. The owners of this lovely property Derek and Dee made us feel very welcome and between them have created stunning and luxurious rooms which easily meet any 5star hotel we have stayed in. Everything was perfect from the comfortable beds to the amazing full english breakfast which we enjoyed in the conservatory overlooking the lovely garden.
We would not hesitate to recommend this delightful B&B to our friends and hope to return again soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank friendsx6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 June 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed 2 nights at Biss Farm and can truly say that it was the best B & B in which we had ever stayed. The welcome and hospitality shown by Derek and Dee was superb. The room was beautiful and the breakfast excellent, which we enjoyed in the conservatory overlooking the lovely garden . It was very quiet and we enjoyed two very good night's sleep! If we were in that area again, we would definitely stay there and heartily recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trowbridge hotels
2.2 mi away
The Moonraker
The Moonraker
#1 of 4 in Trowbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
1.3 mi away
Fieldways Hotel & Health Club
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Trowbridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Watergardens B&B
The Watergardens B&B
#2 of 15 in Trowbridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilbury Court Hotel
Hilbury Court Hotel
#3 of 15 in Trowbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Tollgate Inn
The Tollgate Inn
#1 of 3 in Holt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Biss Barn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Biss Barn Bed & Breakfast

Property: Biss Barn Bed & Breakfast
Address: Biss Barn House West Ashton Road, Trowbridge BA14 6DQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Trowbridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Trowbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Biss Barn B&B and Self Catering Cottages which are all tastefully decorated to a high standard and set in 2 acres of garden which has a small wooded area with ponds and views across open fields where you can sometimes see many wild animals including deer and squirrels. We are located ½ mile from the A350 in the Wiltshire countryside between West Ashton and Trowbridge and easy access from M4 (J. 17) Chippenham. We are in a very central location for Bath (13 miles), Longleat (8 miles) Frome (10 miles) Westbury (3 miles) and Trowbridge (1 mile). We are also very convenient to the White Horse Business Park and West Wilts Trading Estate. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Biss Barn Bed & Breakfast Trowbridge, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing