We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Lion and Fiddle !”
Review of Lion and Fiddle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lion and Fiddle
Ranked #5 of 16 Trowbridge B&B and Inns
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Loved the Lion and Fiddle !”
Reviewed 10 October 2012

I loved the Lion and Fiddle. We arrived after the kitchen was closed but the owner made dinner for us anyway and it was very good. Our reservation included a full english breakfast and it was also very good. I liked meeting the local people in the pub. They were all so very nice. They even helped us plan our visit to the local sites. Make sure you try the Thatchers Gold on tap. The twin room was perfect and very clean. We will make it a point to visit this area again so we can visit the Lion and FIddle again. Thanks Henry :)

Room Tip: Talk to the locals in the pub and get pointers about the area. You will be glad you did !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mynameisangela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    20
    8
    9
    12
See reviews for
15
28
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roma
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

I and a friend went to Trowbridge to look for a place to move in. In the whole area (Trowbridge, Westbury and Warminster) this was the cheapest place to sleep and our stay was pretty good.
The place is clean and open until late, inside there's a pub and a restaurant. The staff was friendly and helped us a little with our serarch.
The room was small but nice and clean, an average room for two persone.
Our reservation included a full english breakfast (a pretty good and plentiful one), that we enjoyed a lot.
The downside is the distance from the station, especially at night we had to walk for half an hour to reach the place.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uberfaust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, UK
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Not only was the Lion & Fiddle the cheapest in surrounding areas but also the most friendliest. Nice, quiet location and lovely room for the money paid. Breakfast was perfect in the morning with as much tea and coffee as we wanted. Only drawback was the bed was quite hard and would have liked another pillow :-) But apart from that would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carly5365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Visitted on 28th June and we ordered our meals - steak and salmon. We never minded waiting a long while for our food (which was just as well), as they stated that it is all cooked from fresh so not to expect it to arrive quickly. The salmon was very tough when it arrived and the steak was almost half made up of thick fat. There was a mix up with our side salad and vegetables which we sorted ourselves and I felt that for the price the overall quality of the meal was very poor. As a local looking for somewhere that serves decent food, I was disappointed and will not be going back,

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shane r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Trowbridge hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trowbridge
0.3 mi away
Fieldways Hotel & Health Club
2.0 mi away
The Moonraker
The Moonraker
#1 of 4 in Trowbridge
978 reviews
2.4 mi away
Widbrook Grange
Widbrook Grange
#1 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
533 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Watergardens B&B
The Watergardens B&B
#2 of 16 in Trowbridge
149 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilbury Court Hotel
Hilbury Court Hotel
#3 of 16 in Trowbridge
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lion and Fiddle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lion and Fiddle

Property: Lion and Fiddle
Address: Trowbridge Road, Trowbridge BA14 7QQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Trowbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Trowbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lion and Fiddle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lion And Fiddle Trowbridge, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing