We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Rude and aggressive landlady, poor quality beer”
Review of Lion and Fiddle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lion and Fiddle
Ranked #5 of 15 Trowbridge B&B and Inns
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very Rude and aggressive landlady, poor quality beer”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I have been going to this pub on and off for thirty years, I went there this week with my wife, to be met by one of the most rude landladies I have ever met.
My beer was clearly off, it was cloudy with bits in it and it tasted off. I questioned the bar girl saying was the barrel about to be changed or had it just been changed as this was off, she agreed it looked bad and with that the landlady shouted from the other side of the pub, saying there was nothing wrong with it, she did not even come to look or offer any other constructive comments, she actually swore and said tough. We were going to eat there but decided to leave as she kept looking at us threateningly and making comments to her other half about us. we had paid for the drinks but could not drink them so left them on the table.
Do not go here, very very disapointed.

Room Tip: do not go here
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    19
    8
    9
    12
See reviews for
14
28
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I can't comment for the hotel, however I went in here for a drink and some food with my partner and I've never had such rude service in all my life from what I worked out was the landlady who should be setting a good example. She defiantly was NOT. Rude to us at the bar with an awful and not keen to help and answer any questions we had regarding the menu. Service was very slow and food was incredibly below average for the price. Was never asked 'if everything was ok' and was made to feel like we should leave so she could get on whatever the heck else she had to do.

'Ice and a slice' - NEVER AGAIN.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Trowbridge hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Have been coming here for a few months now and have got to know the staff that work here... Some of which have left such as the old bar manager and Joe, however on a Sunday, Alanah is always friendly and is always happy to have a chat to us :)

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nathant93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trowbridge
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

I've used this pub for years and the staff have always been good. On this visit the owner was working the bar and it was an absolute disgrace. His attitude was appalling and like another reviewer I heard him say that the customers could go elsewhere if they didn't like the service. Only having one member of staff working whilst putting signage outside to "watch the England game here" was unthinkable. The delays in service were terrible, having to stack drinks is not good. I went to the bar and asked for two pints and he asked me did I have any glasses, I said no and he said " no drinks then" no apology or give me a second to get some and then he went to serve someone else. We'll not be going back as good manners as free and it's the least I expect as a customer.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
7 Thank Finlays_folks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I went here this evening with my partner and a few friends to watch the England football game. We arrive around 6pm and couldn't order food till 6.30pm, after waiting 50 minuets for a toasted sandwich and some chips, the longest wait I've ever expirenced for a sandwich, which to say the least wasn't fantastic. During the match I tried to get a drink at the bar, 15 minuets later....to which the owner told another member of staff "no let them wait". I have never been to a pub or restaurant that have been so poorly managed and to tell their customers if they have a problem with waiting to go somewhere else! Disgusted by the service and quality given. I wouldn't recommend a visit! The dead fly stuck to the window just summed it up!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank Katie_linter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Six friends met at the Lion and Fiddle for lunch on a Sunday - we did not stay at the hotel. However the roast dinner provided was excellent as was the service, With two choices of meat and around seven nicely presented and well cooked vegetables this was a great start. Our server even offered extra gravy which was again delicious. A couple of Yorkshire puddings on hot plates completed the meal - superb !! We finished with Harry's local ice cream and coffee. At around £14 per head this was great value. A gem.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SussexBoy24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

After reading some of the other reviews I wasn't expecting too much but I was on a budget and this place was very well priced compared to all others in the area.
I stayed here for 3 weeks whilst on a course in the nearby town and I am pleased to say that I had a really enjoyable stay. Henry the manager is a charming, comical gent and a real character and his staff are lovely. They all made me feel very much at home. Even though I was on a boring training course it felt like a holiday. Anyway, the good points are,; the food, breakfast is made to order so you get what you want and how you want it. The food in the restaurant is excellent, very tasty and lots of choices that are very reasonably priced. I will miss the bed as I slept every night like a baby. The locals who frequented the pub were great and very welcoming. The place is just what you might expect for a friendly country pub. I would say that everything considered it was great value. I would recommend this place but if you are expecting the Waldorf Astoria then do yourself a favour and book the Waldorf Astoria

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trowbridge
2.4 mi away
Widbrook Grange
Widbrook Grange
#2 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
515 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fieldways Hotel & Health Club
2.0 mi away
The Moonraker
The Moonraker
#1 of 4 in Trowbridge
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hilbury Court Hotel
Hilbury Court Hotel
#3 of 15 in Trowbridge
127 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Watergardens B&B
The Watergardens B&B
#2 of 15 in Trowbridge
149 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Tollgate Inn
The Tollgate Inn
#1 of 3 in Holt
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lion and Fiddle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lion and Fiddle

Property: Lion and Fiddle
Address: Trowbridge Road, Trowbridge BA14 7QQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Trowbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Trowbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Booking.com so you can book your Lion and Fiddle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lion And Fiddle Trowbridge, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing