We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab time - Stacey is a star!”
Review of The Moonraker

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Moonraker
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Trowbridge
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fab time - Stacey is a star!”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We booked this as a short notice trip away - 3 night Bath stay with breakfast and an evening meal on one of the evenings. Superb value for money. We coined the term quirky to the hotel but what do you expect for a Georgian property. Yes it creaks and yes it's full of old furniture and paintings but that is what old places are about. If you want modern and corporate go elsewhere. All of the staff were attentive and friendly but a special mention has to go to Stacey who made the trip for us worthwhile. Knowledgeable about the local area and always smiling, she is an asset to the hotel.
The bar is nice, the food was good and hot and the surrounding area has plenty to keep you occupied as well. Get the bus to Bath as it makes the day less stressful looking for somewhere to park.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

959 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    597
    244
    86
    21
    11
See reviews for
154
548
18
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We had arranged an afternoon at The Old Manor hotel to celebrate various birthdays, including my sister's 30th.
On arrival we were welcomed to our personal lounge room, with a welcoming open fire.
We started with a light lunch. I had a divine farmhouse terrine, apple mustard and homemade soda bread. My friends enjoyed a rabbit soup which they both said was delicious.
This was followed my tea, and the most lovely little cake platter to share, which lasted us the afternoon!
One by one, we went for our treatments with the hotel's wonderful therapist Karen.
I had a wonderful back, neck and shoulder massage, and came away feeling revitalised and relaxed. Karen was so knowledgeable, and passionate about the lovely organic products she was using.
I returned to the lounge whilst my friends had their treatments, and enjoyed further tea and cakes.
The whole afternoon was relaxing, and nothing was too much trouble for the staff at the Old Manor.
I would highly recommend an afternoon/evening/overnight here for a girly pampering day, or civilized hen party, and look forward to returning for a full evening meal, as the menu looks delicious.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraJQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights on our mini-moon in August this year. Knowing the owners had only just taken over, and having read old TripAdvisor reviews, I was a little concerned but my husband and his mother had spoken to the owners and were reassured.

Pulling into the car park my stomach sank as the back of the house has some shabby-looking sheds that take away from the beauty of the common, and it didn't make a great first impression. Entering the house though was another matter - the stunning gardens and wonderfully presented rooms enchanted me and the girl on reception was very welcoming, albeit with bad news (a powercut meant we couldn't have our previously chosen room) but she let us choose from the available rooms and we selected one with wonderful views and a fantastic big bath.

The following day we were due to move into our original room but the television in that room was broken, so we moved again, into a fantastic suite with wonderful heavy curtains, a roll-top bath and the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. The only faults (I am nit-picking here!) are that the carpet is a bit rough in texture, and the curtain rail for the over-bath shower is too small, meaning it does stick to you quite a lot.

The food at dinner was ok, nothing to complain about but nothing outstanding, although I hear a new chef is coming soon. I did love the breakfast in particular (always came with masses of hot toast every day, with amazing butter!) and the staff were lovely. The dining room and lounge have a great atmosphere but the bar could do with better stock, especially of local ales as there are a few breweries nearby that have a great reputation.

The hotel and the rooms are definitely rustic chic, so if you're expecting the clinical presentation of a corporate city hotel, you might be in for a shock. Personally, I love this style, but I can see how others may not like it, but then I can't imagine why you would come to the Old Manor if you wanted urban minimalism.

Location wise it was great for us, as we planned to do a lot of driving around the region, visiting Bath, Longleat, Stonehenge etc. If we had wanted to spend more time in Bradford the location is not as convenient as it isn't quite close enough for a leisurely walk and the bus seemed quite expensive. We ended up driving to Bradford on our last day, and there was plenty of parking in the train station car park during the week (can't vouch for weekends though). Bradford itself is lovely and I wish we'd had more time to explore it. Trowbridge isn't as nice, but has handy supermarkets if you need supplies.

Overall, given the owners had only been in possession for a few weeks when we visited, we think this place is great. So close to perfection; just a few tweaks here and there needed.

Thanks to everyone at the Old Manor we had a lovely mini-moon, even with the power cut and room hiccups, and we would love to come back, especially hearing about all the exciting plans the new owners have. I just wish it wasn't so far otherwise we'd be regular visitors.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SianInScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We decided to stay here following a travelzoo deal. On arrival we received a pleasant welcome and we were shown to one of the courtyard rooms separate from the main building.

The room was furnished with a four poster bed and dated furniture but I suspect that this was designed to be in keeping with the hotel. Whilst the room was spotlessly clean it was unheated and took a few hours to warm up after turning on the radiator.

We ate dinner in the restaurant from a small but interesting menu but we were disappointed when two of our first choices were unavailable. The food, when it came, was well presented and of a good quality.

The wine list was extremely limited and was pretty average and overpriced for what they were. We were told that they were in the process of changing their supplier. £25 for a South African Shiraz should be something a bit special but it wasn't. The house red and white wines were French and at £5 for a small glass were again, a disappointment.

Breakfast the following day was freshly cooked and more than adequate.

The staff were friendly throughout.

Worth considering for a short stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickMaggieWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We had a two night voucher deal which included a three course evening meal on the first night.

Very good food and helpful staff.

We left the car and got the bus from just outside into Bradford-on-Avon.

Walked around the country park and found our way onto the canal, we walked for four miles and passed several pubs on route and had refreshments in the one at Avoncliff.which had a garden going down to the Avon. Saw herons close up on our walk to Dundas Aquaduct and then got the bus back into Bradford-on-Avon.

Room Tip: Our room was upstairs above reception so in the old part of the house. There were rooms separate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Billyboysouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Very good food, although choice limited (especially puddings) possibly due to pending arrival of new chef. Service careful, quick and meticulous. Staff were all very friendly and exceptionally courteous and helpful - young staff and youngish new owners, who are refittting and redcorating the hotel (3 months in). Our room, as whole hotel, had solid antique to Thirties furniture, not the sort you have to treat with care, but interesting and original. All very clean and well-equipped. Shower pressure a bit low, but no big deal. Wonderful lounge with Listed interior, and good board games. Dining room a little dark, but loads of candles gave atmosphere (tho not much light!). Grounds interesting, with pretty gardens.

Room Tip: Saw three rooms, and all were fine and large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCRCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester
Level Contributor
57 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We returned to this hotel following a stay last Christmas. We were very pleased to see that the new owners had made several significant improvements. The reception area was much improved and the lovely lounge in the old building was now open to residents. We had the same room as before, and this had been made more spacious by rearranging the furnishings. The restaurant was much more welcoming, with excellent food at very reasonable prices. All in all we were very pleasantly surprised and may well return in the near future.

Room Tip: Rooms in the old building have great character.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MalcCirencester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trowbridge
5.8 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
697 reviews
0.6 mi away
Widbrook Grange
Widbrook Grange
#1 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
512 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Polebarn
The Polebarn
#3 of 4 in Trowbridge
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#3 of 6 in Wells
192 reviews
1.8 mi away
Woolley Grange
Woolley Grange
#2 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
427 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Moonraker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moonraker

Property: The Moonraker
Address: 1 Trowle | Trowle Common, Trowbridge BA14 9BL, England (Formerly Old Manor Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Trowbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Trowbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Moonraker 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moonraker hotel, a grade 2 listed 21 bedrooms Manor house situated on the outskirts of Bradford on Avon/ Trowbridge and a 15 minute drive from the Bath Spa. Mentioned in the Domesday book as being part of the Abbess of Glastonbury's estate, the Manor house was originally build in Queen Ann Style before being upgraded in the 17th century to Bath stone. Purchased by Tudor & Lucy Hopkins in July 2013 the hotel has undergone a full refurbishment including transforming the restaurant into a relaxed informal dining space. Head Chef Matthew Briddon (River cafe, Paul Heathcotes) joined the team in September 2013 and has created menus around the hotels kitchen garden and onsite smokery. Nine bee hives provide the hotel honey and rare breed pigs live on the grounds. Kathy Lette (writer and author) stayed at The Old Manor and wrote an article for the Express where she said: 'The bedrooms, with their four poster beds and wide wooden roof beams, are so Jane Austen-esque I kept expecting Mr Darcy to get down on bended knee' The Moonraker oozes old world charm and is a relaxed cotsworld escape with some of the UK's top attractions on its doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your The Moonraker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Old Manor
The Moonraker Trowbridge, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing