We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay!”
Review of The Moonraker

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Moonraker
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Trowbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 February 2014

What can we say....from the moment we arrived, everything from staff to food was superb. We were on a one night stay offer through Travelzoo. On arrival we were upgraded to the most beautiful bedroom. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff who were very friendly - a real asset for the hotel. The 5 course tasting menu was delicious. The only negative were the baked beans at breakfast - thin, watery sauce - need to buy Heinz!! Can't recommend this hotel highly enough. Just wish we lived nearer!

Room Tip: We were upgraded to Room 17 - beautiful room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 33Carole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (988)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

485 - 491 of 988 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2014

We attended the restaurant last night for a 5 course taster meal. We enjoyed both the food and the romantic atmosphere. We hadn't been before but will certainly return, and would recommend to others.
(Our only suggestion would be to sort out the wobbly chairs and maybe a little more heat as was a little chilly)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank LucyHarryHolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

All staff were friendly and enthusiastic and made us feel welcome. The renovations of this old Manor and various out buildings achieve a charming, if somewhat ecelctic, style of of an old country style character.
The quality of the food at dinner was exceptionally good and breakfast wasn't far behind. Breakfast had a good and varied menu and nothing was too much trouble.
Will certainly be tempted to return.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristchurchMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

I stayed for 3 weeks at this hotel and it made working away from home bearable. The room had a very comfortable bed and extra pillows if you needed them. All of the staff were friendly and very helpful. Im quite a "plain" eater but all the food looked amazing and what I had from the menu was outstanding. Breakfast had loads of choice and the lady that serves at breakfast is lovely and friendly which always gave me a nice start to my day. Would definitely stay here again whether for business or pleasure.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 9 which was directly opposite the door to the restaurant which for someone travelli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dj-Mepo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed here on a special offer which gave us dinner, bed and breakfast. The hotel itself has been beautifully decorated and our room (we were upgraded to the Trowle Suite) was simply stunning. The room had everything you would need - a powerful hot shower, warm fluffy towels and a comfortable bed. The real treat started when we arrived for dinner. The food (all 5 courses) was just delicious and presented so well - from smoked salmon that had been smoked on the premises to the best piece of pork I have ever eaten to a decadent dark chocolate creme brulee, it was wonderful. Breakfast was equally delicious and as plentiful as you wanted.
The staff were attentive and friendly but not intrusive and our entire stay was perfect for an anniversary break.
I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel or to stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We stayed here on a Travelzoo offer and had the tasting menu. Hotel being transformed and we upgraded to room 21 - lovely large and open but quite cold and hard to heat. Shower also not very hot but is noisy! Bed huge and very comfortable with good lights for reading.
The dining room had a great atmosphere - well spaced tables and an open fire (which we had to add logs ourselves) but the food was disappointing. I'm a big River Cafe fan (where the chef trained) but didn't recognise the cooking or the menu.
First course was mussels (my wife said she didn't eat mussels but was not offered an alternative although another table did swap!) and the shellfish were served with the worst most stale shop roll ever. The second course (pickled beetroot) was superb and one to repeat but the home-smoked salmon and the chicken were very average. The chicken (confit and hash with an egg) was actually too stodgy and unbalanced.
Sad if the chef needs motivating but the bread served at breakfast was so much better! Coffee was also very good and the brief wine list a credit too.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank masterchef2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Booked this stay through Travelzoo for an anniversary treat and it turned out to be a good choice. We had received a complimentary upgrade to the Trowle Suite (2) for our occasion and after a warm welcome, we were guided to our room, through the milking parlour, now the restaurant with a potted history of the building along the way.The huge 4 poster bed is up a few steps onto its own mezzanine with a balustrade. I have never seen a TV on top of the wardrobe before! The room itself is furnished and decorated in a rustic way as is the restaurant and bar which is more of a cosy snug. The bar was not always manned so just a ring on the bell and someone was there. The weather was battering the building, but we were content enough sat in front of the log fire eating our 5 course taster menu. This was quite an experience, small very different courses with their own individual taste, texture and content. The sticky toffee pudding finished off a very special meal. We just relaxed in the lounge after with the log burner.
Again, the breakfast was very good with a fruit/yogurt/cereal starters and your own choice of cooked for afterwards. All you need to do is make your own toast and have as much as you want. Unfortunately, the weather was so bad, we could not look round the garden much, but there is quite an ambitious self sustainability/regeneration project starting and I would be interested in coming back to see the end result and stay again.
All the staff were friendly, happy, attentive and welcoming with nothing too much trouble. Oh by the way, the cheap runny jam mentioned previously is actually home made marmalade. Pour it on your yogurt. Lovely!!!

Room Tip: If you have a special occasion, ask if there are any suites available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrandDr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trowbridge
0.6 mi away
Widbrook Grange
Widbrook Grange
#1 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
531 reviews
19.8 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#4 of 6 in Wells
229 reviews
1.6 mi away
Fieldways Hotel & Health Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
739 reviews
1.8 mi away
Woolley Grange
Woolley Grange
#2 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
455 reviews
9.6 mi away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Moonraker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moonraker

Address: 1 Trowle | Trowle Common, Trowbridge BA14 9BL, England (Formerly Old Manor Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Trowbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Trowbridge
Price Range: £65 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Moonraker 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moonraker hotel, a grade 2 listed 21 bedrooms Manor house situated on the outskirts of Bradford on Avon/ Trowbridge and a 15 minute drive from the Bath Spa. Mentioned in the Domesday book as being part of the Abbess of Glastonbury's estate, the Manor house was originally build in Queen Ann Style before being upgraded in the 17th century to Bath stone. Purchased by Tudor & Lucy Hopkins in July 2013 the hotel has undergone a full refurbishment including transforming the restaurant into a relaxed informal dining space. Head Chef Matthew Briddon (River cafe, Paul Heathcotes) joined the team in September 2013 and has created menus around the hotels kitchen garden and onsite smokery. Nine bee hives provide the hotel honey and rare breed pigs live on the grounds. Kathy Lette (writer and author) stayed at The Old Manor and wrote an article for the Express where she said: 'The bedrooms, with their four poster beds and wide wooden roof beams, are so Jane Austen-esque I kept expecting Mr Darcy to get down on bended knee' The Moonraker oozes old world charm and is a relaxed cotsworld escape with some of the UK's top attractions on its doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Moonraker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Old Manor
The Moonraker Trowbridge, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing