We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Old Manor Hotel ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Moonraker

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Moonraker
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Trowbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The Old Manor Hotel ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely stay at The Old Manor Hotel, staff were very welcoming and friendly , the food was very good, the manor definitely had character with the old style decor , lovely candlelit restaurant in the evening, the old fire places in the reception and restaurant would have been lovely if they had been lit.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    580
    238
    84
    20
    11
See reviews for
145
538
18
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

We recently spent two nights at the hotel. A lovely experience. Warm and friendly staff throughout. The room in the annexe was spacious and clean.Evening dinner exceptional. Beautifully cooked and presented. The staff clearly have a passion for the place. The owner took time out to have a chat with us. He has clear plans for the place. Still work to be done but I have no hesitation in recommending this Manor. We will be back

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martin t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

The hotel were very accommodating when we had to cancel our initial booking at short notice due to illness - we were allowed to rebook without penalty. The welcome we received on check-in was warm (as was the fire in reception!). The building itself is old with character and nicely restored. Our room was compact, but very clean with a lovely view across the fields. We had the 5 course tasting menu which was delicious, with each course having the right balance so that you did not end up feeling overwhelmed with quantity of food. Breakfast was very good - a good choice of dishes - we enjoyed the full English! There are some lovely touches with the food eg the restaurant does it's own smoking of dishes, the treacle tart is made to an old family secret recipe. We thoroughly enjoyed our night here and would definitely recommend it.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank pkeastlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

My husband and I spent our anniversary night here and had a wonderful time! We were upgraded to the Trowle Suite which is dominated by a four poster which is on a raised area accessed by a few stairs. The ceiling is very high with beams and the whole room has great character. We used Travelzoo so had a five course taster meal included. This was very interesting as we had food we would not usually eat and washed it down with a lovely wine! The breakfast was very good the home made muesli deserves a mention it was delish! Also deserving a mention was Ryan who showed us to our room and gave us a potted history on the way! A very pleasant way to spend an anniversary!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynda553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chalfont St. Giles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
226 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

The Old Manor has bags of character, and maintained in good condition for a period building of this age! We were made to feel welcome by Camber the lovely dog and all staff. Lovely room, with large bed and huge bathroom. We had the tasting menu for dinner, which we both enjoyed - can recommend the Petite Perriere Sauvignon Blanc.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RoverPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bovey Tracey, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

just stayed one night.Made welcome on arrival Room was ok, when redecorated would be good.Restaurant and bar area really nice with comfortable seating to enjoy a drink before dinner.The taster menu was excellent and so was the service. Good breakfast all in all a thoroughly enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank paul m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Probably unfortunate that we arrived at dusk when it had been raining heavily all afternoon and the first thing to catch the eye was the pot-holed driveway with badly laid chunks of tarmac plugging the worst bits. Reception was round the back of the hotel from the car park, which dampened the spirits further. They were lifted by an incredibly cheerful and effusive welcome, which set the tone for all the service we encountered.
Room very pleasant, a bit olde-worlde. Some aspects where no expense had been spared (we counted no fewer than 20 power points in the room!); some where the cheese had distinctly been pared. The bedside lampshades didn't match. There were three different kinds of lightbulb in the ceiling, in particular one above the bed which was too small and left a nice view of the dust and debris in the ceiling. The paint on one of the bedside tables was flaking off. And the double glazing, in a rather nice old building, was a particularly horrible cheap white UPVC.
No jet in the bath as promised, which didn't bother us; shower quickly ran cold, which did. Bed very comfortable but even with the heating thermostat turned right down I was far too warm.
Dinner was excellent. Service was quick, efficient, unfailingly cheerful. Quality of the food could not be faulted.
We ordered the house rose wine. They were out of it, so simply brought us the non-house rose, priced at £7 more, but charged to us at the same price.
The restaurant is roomy, with the tables not jammed together.
Breakfast slightly mixed - scrambled egg and smoked salmon excellent, the Full English nothing to write home about, particularly a rather sad piece of bacon.
With a bit of attention to the tired bits, this place could be very good indeed, though nothing is going to redeem the double glazing. And you won't find better or more unfailingly cheerful service anywhere.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BigEd2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trowbridge
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Trowbridge Hotel
5.8 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
19.9 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#3 of 5 in Wells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Widbrook Grange
Widbrook Grange
#1 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
1.6 mi away
Fieldways Hotel & Health Club
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Leigh Park Hotel
BEST WESTERN Leigh Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Moonraker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moonraker

Property: The Moonraker
Address: 1 Trowle | Trowle Common, Trowbridge BA14 9BL, England (Formerly Old Manor Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Trowbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Trowbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Moonraker 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moonraker hotel, a grade 2 listed 21 bedrooms Manor house situated on the outskirts of Bradford on Avon/ Trowbridge and a 15 minute drive from the Bath Spa. Mentioned in the Domesday book as being part of the Abbess of Glastonbury's estate, the Manor house was originally build in Queen Ann Style before being upgraded in the 17th century to Bath stone. Purchased by Tudor & Lucy Hopkins in July 2013 the hotel has undergone a full refurbishment including transforming the restaurant into a relaxed informal dining space. Head Chef Matthew Briddon (River cafe, Paul Heathcotes) joined the team in September 2013 and has created menus around the hotels kitchen garden and onsite smokery. Nine bee hives provide the hotel honey and rare breed pigs live on the grounds. Kathy Lette (writer and author) stayed at The Old Manor and wrote an article for the Express where she said: 'The bedrooms, with their four poster beds and wide wooden roof beams, are so Jane Austen-esque I kept expecting Mr Darcy to get down on bended knee' The Moonraker oozes old world charm and is a relaxed cotsworld escape with some of the UK's top attractions on its doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Superbreak UK so you can book your The Moonraker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Old Manor
The Moonraker Trowbridge, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing