We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Moonraker

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Moonraker
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Trowbridge
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Family weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

This year we based our annual family weekend at the Old Manor Hotel in Trowbridge. We were a group of forty plus, with a range of ages from nothing much up to mid-eighties. We were brilliantly looked after, and I just hope that the few hotel guests not in our gang weren't too inconvenienced by the way we took the place over, turning the weekend into a three-day celebration party.
The hotel is in the middle of a massive refurbishing exercise, masterminded by the new owners who took over less than a year ago. The accommodation is in the main building as well as the old farm facilities such as the cowsheds and pigsty, and we ate in the Milking Parlour. They have a pretty walled garden, herb and vegetable plots, beehives, and a smokery for home-produced smoked salmon and bacon. The premises are a visual delight.
Food was good, with lots of interesting new ideas all well executed. The owners and staff were as friendly and helpful as anyone could ask. Nothing was too much trouble, including running around the little ones and providing drinks, straws, apples, ice cream, extra pudding, and so on, and the kitchen made anniversary cakes for us, and put on a superb champagne reception one evening, as it was our 21st event.
Bedrooms were well-appointed, and the bathrooms all worked well (not always the case even in the most expensive hotels). The older children (and the grown-ups) had access to a games room which provided snooker and other pastimes.
The surrounding country is magnificent. This place is well worth a visit, and was a superb venue for our weekend.

Room Tip: The "best room" (number 17) looked over the main entrance, and boasted five windows, a dre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

942 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    585
    241
    85
    20
    11
See reviews for
150
540
18
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

The hotel has changed owners and the new ones are progressively updating and making plans for the future. The room we stayed in was excellent, in the outbuildings, that once were the pig sty, the decor was modern and the room spacious. Our meal too was good, the staff very helpful and we had exactly the evening we wanted.
Now it didn't bother us, but if you do eat or stay here be prepared for furniture that has seen better days. The up side is it creates a relaxed atmosphere and I expect the new owners will in time possibly replace, but their priority is on creating good food and a comfortable hotel and that you cannot fault. If you need everything just right this might not be for you. But if not, then support this team by eating and staying here, in a few years time the prices well might be in another league.

Room Tip: The rooms in the former pig sty or stable block are spacious. I cannot comment on the ones in the ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Visiting Bath from London for the weekend with my girlfriend on a 'scouting trip' as we are looking at moving to the area. The hotel itself is lovely and if everything that is planned comes off, it will be truly fantastic place to stay. Upon arrival, upon seeing that I was quite tall, the receptionist decided that the room allocated to us wouldn't be good enough and so upgraded us to the next room up. Didn't get to try the evening meals but the breakfast was of a really high quality and tasted great.

There was a wedding on on the same day and there were a couple of issues relating to that but Ryan, the assistant manager, dealt with our concerns brilliantly.

I would definitely stay there again and would almost certainly recommend to others.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a two night break. Lovely old buildings, very new owners.
Room, part of the cowsheds! Comfortable and clean, a good size but did take some warming up in the evening. As there was a wedding taking place (yes, we were warned) maybe some sort of light window covering would be suitable, we had windows back and front but not much privacy with wedding guests all around.
We were able to eat in the restaurant on the Friday evening, the menu is short but the food was delicious, do try their home smoked products.
The disappointment was that we couldn't eat there on the Saturday due to the wedding. Perhaps the offer of a taxi to a nearby restaurant would have gone someway to overcome our disappointment.
There are lots of exciting promises to come on the development of this hotel by the new owners and we wish them well.
We would just say please get the balance of wedding guests and non wedding guests into some sort of proportion. Walking through a group of wedding guests trying to find the receptionist is not a comfortable feeling for anyone.
Finally we would like to say that all the staff were delightful and most helpful.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marion S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

Went to the restaurant for the Taster Menu, highly impressed with food and the welcome of the staff, they couldn't do enough to make you feel comfortable.
Returned the following night for a full meal and the experience was as impressive. A great team doing a great job. Highly Recommended

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

I stayed here with three friends in April 2014. Slight difficulty in finding the place but that was my fault not there's as my satnav had died!
On arrival the place was literally deserted. Reception was empty and there were no signs of life. It was like the Marie Celeste or a setting for an Agatha Christie film. After about ten minutes a young lady arrived who apologised for the delay. We had booked two twin rooms but were given a twin and two singles. We were shown to our rooms and shown the directions to the restaurant. The rooms were well appointed with very comfy beds, soft towels and the usual drinks, kettle etc. There was also a basket full of yummy foods to be bought - small bottle of wine, cookies, nuts etc.
My only complaint about the room was that it was very cold and for the life of me I couldn't find the radiator to turn up. Again, my fault....I was tired.
Dinner was a delight. We had pre-dinner drinks in the lovely restaurant which was very busy that night. Our waitress was Jess who was a star. She was the only waitress working that night but despite being very busy she didn't hurry us, was charming, friendly and a great asset to the place. Thank you Jess. Our 5 course tasting menu was fantastic - all beautifully presented and tasted great too. A lovely day with friends rounded off at the hotel. Breakfast in the morning was superb. None of this food that has been sitting under lights for hours. Cereal, juice, freshly made toast and then freshly cooked english breakfast. Honestly superb. I would rate the place as excellent but for the cold bedroom. Recommended

Room Tip: Make sure you know where the radiators are!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bettie42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

Stayed for 12 nights over a 3 week period. Stayed in a variety of rooms all different but all very nice. Ones with 4 poster beds and free standing bath was particularly nice.
Very friendly staff who went out of their way to help when needed.
Food was very nice
5 min drive to Trowbridge

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Owenjg77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trowbridge
5.8 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Trowbridge Hotel
19.8 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#3 of 6 in Wells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Widbrook Grange
Widbrook Grange
#1 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
1.6 mi away
Fieldways Hotel & Health Club
9.6 mi away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Moonraker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moonraker

Property: The Moonraker
Address: 1 Trowle | Trowle Common, Trowbridge BA14 9BL, England (Formerly Old Manor Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Trowbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Trowbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Moonraker 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moonraker hotel, a grade 2 listed 21 bedrooms Manor house situated on the outskirts of Bradford on Avon/ Trowbridge and a 15 minute drive from the Bath Spa. Mentioned in the Domesday book as being part of the Abbess of Glastonbury's estate, the Manor house was originally build in Queen Ann Style before being upgraded in the 17th century to Bath stone. Purchased by Tudor & Lucy Hopkins in July 2013 the hotel has undergone a full refurbishment including transforming the restaurant into a relaxed informal dining space. Head Chef Matthew Briddon (River cafe, Paul Heathcotes) joined the team in September 2013 and has created menus around the hotels kitchen garden and onsite smokery. Nine bee hives provide the hotel honey and rare breed pigs live on the grounds. Kathy Lette (writer and author) stayed at The Old Manor and wrote an article for the Express where she said: 'The bedrooms, with their four poster beds and wide wooden roof beams, are so Jane Austen-esque I kept expecting Mr Darcy to get down on bended knee' The Moonraker oozes old world charm and is a relaxed cotsworld escape with some of the UK's top attractions on its doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Priceline, Superbreak UK and Agoda so you can book your The Moonraker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Old Manor
The Moonraker Trowbridge, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing