We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant”
Review of The Moonraker

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Moonraker
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Trowbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 June 2014

The new owners took over hotel last year. I took Four of us for my Partners birthday. Well all I can say is,Amazing Meal! Amazing Transformation! Amazing staff!! Best Restaurant in Bradford on Avon/Trowbridge!! Excellant

Room Tip: Forgot your room just book dinner!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank livelifetofull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (988)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

427 - 433 of 988 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014

Quit nice hotel with splendid rooms and all kind of facilities.
good dining , excellent food and very kind service.
Beautiful walled garden and plenty of parkingspaces.
Old 500 years manor house with good atmosphere.

Room Tip: take the series of rooms from 20-24 in the old cow stables
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fred6532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Time restrictions meant we could only spend one night away and needed to be fairly close to Bristol.What a perfect venue.Wonderful tasting menu in the Milking Parlour,delightful room in the":Pig Sties" Superb english breakfast for me and smoked salmon and scrambled eggs for my wife,followed by a walk in the garden before departure.Truly memorable,Oh, and the staff are really attentive and enthusiastic about making sure you enjoy yourselves.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharlesAlexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a romantic get away. The trip advisor reputation did not disappoint. Warm, hospitable staff and a fantastic suite with comfy bed and large bathroom. Period features, true British style in a great country setting - a great find. Ate in the milking parlour next door also, delicious! A great family run hotel with plenty of character and British history.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Rob246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stayed at the Old Manor with two other couples (our sons and WAGs) on a sunny w/e in June. Very nice room in the row just across from the restaurant - the 'Pig Sties' I think used to stand there - very peaceful and a very comfortable bed. Both our evening meal and breakfast were exceptional good and we sat outside in the sun for a lovely evening drink

Good beer, excellent desert wine (Elysium from the US) although we weren't able to sample the local white as it was out of stock - a great shame, however, the Viognier was pleasant, just not as interesting of course

Closer to Trowbridge, but just a couple of minutes from Bradford on Avon so convenient and without the crowds

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Mick V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Stayed for one night at this lovely hotel, was in one of the rooms converted from the cowshed, and it was great, clean but cosy at the same time, with some lovely toiletries for use, looking out onto open meadows at the back, very tranquil.

The evening meal was very tasty with locally sourced food, and the breakfast also great....we shall be back!!

Room Tip: Converted cowshed rooms very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philippa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed at the old manor for 1 night and it was like "stepping back in time". This beautiful,quaint place was a real find. It is located just outside the village and is quiet and peaceful. The room was very nice and the bed was very comfortable. The attached restaurant had very nice food and the staff were very good. A very memorable stay!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trowbridge
0.6 mi away
Widbrook Grange
Widbrook Grange
#1 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
531 reviews
19.8 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#4 of 6 in Wells
229 reviews
1.6 mi away
Fieldways Hotel & Health Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
738 reviews
1.8 mi away
Woolley Grange
Woolley Grange
#2 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
455 reviews
9.6 mi away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Moonraker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moonraker

Address: 1 Trowle | Trowle Common, Trowbridge BA14 9BL, England (Formerly Old Manor Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Trowbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Trowbridge
Price Range: £66 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Moonraker 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moonraker hotel, a grade 2 listed 21 bedrooms Manor house situated on the outskirts of Bradford on Avon/ Trowbridge and a 15 minute drive from the Bath Spa. Mentioned in the Domesday book as being part of the Abbess of Glastonbury's estate, the Manor house was originally build in Queen Ann Style before being upgraded in the 17th century to Bath stone. Purchased by Tudor & Lucy Hopkins in July 2013 the hotel has undergone a full refurbishment including transforming the restaurant into a relaxed informal dining space. Head Chef Matthew Briddon (River cafe, Paul Heathcotes) joined the team in September 2013 and has created menus around the hotels kitchen garden and onsite smokery. Nine bee hives provide the hotel honey and rare breed pigs live on the grounds. Kathy Lette (writer and author) stayed at The Old Manor and wrote an article for the Express where she said: 'The bedrooms, with their four poster beds and wide wooden roof beams, are so Jane Austen-esque I kept expecting Mr Darcy to get down on bended knee' The Moonraker oozes old world charm and is a relaxed cotsworld escape with some of the UK's top attractions on its doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Moonraker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Old Manor
The Moonraker Trowbridge, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing