We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience ”
Review of The Moonraker

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Moonraker
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Trowbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed for two nights and upgraded to a deluxe room which was lovely and very roomy.
The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful.
Breakfast was superb with fresh baked bread and a good variety of hot and cold options, don't miss out on the smoked (on site) salmon and scrambled eggs it's a real delight.
We dined in the hotel on both nights once with the 5 course taster menu and then the a la carte. Both meals were fantastic, we honestly could not fault anything, the helpings were plentiful and the quality was spot on. The restaurant staff were brilliant and genuinely seemed to enjoy their work, not something you often come across in my experience.
The only reservation we would have is that although we were very fortunate to have beautiful weather during our stay it did make the restaurant very hot in the evening so much so that we dined outside on the second night. Perhaps some more ceiling fans would make it more comfortable inside.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Dgk63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,018)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

438 - 444 of 1,018 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

This hotel is a little piece of heaven. It has a tranquil ambience, lovely grounds to sit and relax in and staff who can not do enough for you. It is small and intimate and you are made to feel very welcome. If you are looking for some time out to relax this is perfect. My only criticism is the evening meal in the restaurant, very limited menu especially if you are vegetarian, you may want to travel into nearby Bradford-on-Avon to eat.

Room Tip: Ask for the Dovecote suite which is inside the main building. I think the outside rooms might be ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littleandi2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed at The Old Manor for 3 nights as an add-on break, en route home from a week away. This lovely, quiet hotel is very nicely located between Bradford-on-Avon and Trowbridge and is full of character. All the staff we encountered were absolutely first-class in every respect - courteous, very friendly and highly efficient. Our dog was also made very welcome and invited everywhere within the hotel. There is also a good dog-walking area (field) at the rear of the hotel, a games room with pool table and various garden areas used for growing the hotel's veg, herbs and fruit. The food was very good and the menu definitely different to the typical hotel offerings. We stayed initially in room 5,on the first floor of the "Milking Parlour" building, having admittedly made a very late booking, so it may have been the only available room. That particular room was frankly disappointing at £100 pn, with an extremely creaky bed. However, for the 2nd and 3rd nights we moved to room 7, across from the restaurant / bar in a small converted ground-floor block. What a difference! This was a lovely room (in the hotel's "superior" category) - well decorated and furnished with plenty of space and a really comfortable (and quiet) huge bed. The new owners of the hotel are doing a great job upgrading an already very fine hotel. The staff, most of whom were local young people, were amongst the best we have ever seen in a hotel (and we've travelled extensively) and the atmosphere is quiet, relaxed and welcoming. Thoroughly recommended for anyone seeking quality accommodation in the beautiful Bradford on Avon area.

Room Tip: Rooms 7-11 in the ground floor conversion opposite the restaurant/bar are excellent - quiet and spac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Great little hotel with a family run feel to it. The food here is wonderful. We had the five course taster menu where the beef particularly was spot on! They have their own smokery and grow their own herbs and veg. Will defo go back when we get the chance.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saffron73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Stayed for 2 nights with the taster menu included on the first night. Stayed in room 1, a split level layout with an authentic antique four poster and a separate large bathroom with an oversize roll top bath with a shower above. Overall a quirky room, but being the hottest day of the year could have done with either a/c or as a minimum a fan.
Checked in a little early, excellent service from the lady from Westbury; sorry, forgot the name!
The bar was open throughout the day you merely had to ring the bell for service. Plenty of outside space to enjoy the sun with a nice cold cider. The restaurant staff were very professional and knowledgeable. Well worth strolling around the grounds and make sure you say hello to Camber the resident dog.
The taster menu was exactly that, well presented combinations that mostly worked well, we chose to dine off the a la carte menu on the 2nd evening and everything was to a high standard.
Every member of staff I spoke to was professional and customer focused a real asset. I just got the impression its still work in progress, hece the title of my review.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

What a fantastic place. Lots of history, sensational staff, outstanding food and wonderful accommodation. Our room in the old cowsheds was full if interesting features. The grounds are compact but gorgeous with kitchen garden and smokery. It is clear that Tudor and Lucy, the new owners have made a great impact with their changes so far and there are plans for more. Can't wait to return.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We had chosen the Amazon package for our anniversary.

The package which included bed and breakfast and the chef's tasting menu.

The room was excellent-our only comment would be that the toiletries were more clearly labelled regarding usage.

The restaurant enjoys a lovely atmosphere and our meal was delicious.The staff of Olivia and her colleague were very friendly and helpful.

Breakfast was excellent.
A very very pleasant stay which we should like to repeat.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trowbridge
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Trowbridge Hotel
5.8 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
760 reviews
0.6 mi away
Widbrook Grange
Widbrook Grange
#1 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
9.6 mi away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
893 reviews
1.6 mi away
Fieldways Hotel & Health Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Moonraker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moonraker

Address: 1 Trowle | Trowle Common, Trowbridge BA14 9BL, England (Formerly Old Manor Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Trowbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Trowbridge
Price Range: £64 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Moonraker 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moonraker hotel, a grade 2 listed 23 bedrooms Manor house situated on the outskirts of Bradford on Avon/ Trowbridge and a 15 minute drive from the Bath Spa. Mentioned in the Domesday book as being part of the Abbess of Glastonbury's estate, the Manor house was originally build in Queen Ann Style before being upgraded in the 17th century to Bath stone. Purchased by Tudor & Lucy Hopkins in July 2013 the hotel has undergone a full refurbishment including transforming the restaurant into a relaxed informal dining space. Head Chef Dean Toon and has created menus around the hotels kitchen garden and onsite smokery. Nine bee hives provide the hotel honey and rare breed pigs live on the grounds. The Moonraker oozes old world charm and is a relaxed cotsworld escape with some of the UK's top attractions on its doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Moonraker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Old Manor
The Moonraker Trowbridge, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing