We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A birthday delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Moonraker

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Moonraker
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Trowbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Bradford-on-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A birthday delight”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

An extended family lunch plus friends to mark a significant birthday. What could go wrong? With the wonderful assistance of the staff at the Old Manor Hotel the answer was quite simply 'Nothing'. Held in the greenhouse/marquee we were served with the most delightful 3 course meal by the small team of dedicated staff who combine friendliness with superb service.
Great food, a lovely venue - we just invited the guests, all of whom were fulsome in their praise. It was almost worth reaching this major milestone!

Thank you Ryan, Claudia, Olivia and Nathan for all your work on the day and Ryan and Claudia for the help in planning. And of course a special thank you to chef Matthew and the back room staff who provided a memorable meal for all to enjoy.

Living locally, my wife and I didn't stay overnight but joined the 10 who did at breakfast the following day and were delighted to hear all the favourable comments from them also.

Many of us will be returning to the Old Manor, I suspect quite often!

David80

Room Tip: We didn't stay but the family members who stayed in the beautifully converted cowshed en-suite r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank DPL80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

941 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    585
    241
    84
    20
    11
See reviews for
150
539
18
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2014

My Dad's 80th with around 50 guests from all over the country. The event was held in the Green House marquee which worked extremely well, coping with the occasional sudden downpour but allowing us to have the doors open to the beautiful garden.

Rooms in the Cow Shed were outstanding, plenty of room and very well equipped. There are some rooms in the hotel that are awaiting update (one of the guests described theirs as "a little tired") but even these are pretty good. Apparently the updates are due to be carried out soon.

The most important comments I have are with regard to the staff who worked so hard to ensure that the event ran smoothly. Even the fact that a couple of the guests were severely delayed, the staff ensured that they did not miss out on the delicious food, when they had arrived, settled in and were ready for it.

Ryan, Olivia, Claudia and Nathan are extremely professional, whilst able to be very warm and friendly. All requests were dealt with immediately and it got to the point where they felt part of the family.

Food for the guests was freshly cooked, plated and delivered to the tables promptly and on warmed plates, with additional servings brought round for those that wanted them. A meal later on in the Milking Parlour was delightful.

This is the best managed event I have ever had the fortune to experience.

One last pont,... no, I do not work for them or have any business interest in the hotel but I simply love superb service.

Room Tip: Simply request an updated room when you book. The staff are extremely friendly and very keen to ensu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

If you're looking for somewhere lovely, with lots of character, great food and excellent service at a reasonable price then give The Old Manor a try. I cannot recommend it highly enough and will definitely go back!

We got an amazing deal on this hotel which included 2 nights bed and full English breakfast plus dinner on the first night. As it was such a bargain and only a 3* hotel, we were expecting something quite basic, however we were very pleasantly surprised.....

The hotel, a converted farm, is very rustic in keeping with the farm/manor house theme. Our room had stone floors, beams, and old style furniture but it was very clean, spacious and comfy. The shower wasn't the best but the supply of lovely, organic, bath room products and big fluffy towels more than made up for it!

It was very sunny when we arrived and after a guided tour of the hotel and garden (and a peep at the smoke house where they smoke their own fish and bacon) we enjoyed a bottle of wine in the garden. The bar is attached to the restaurant (the beautifully converted milking shed) and both are tastefully designed. Lots of 'vintage' but uncluttered manor style furnishings and quirky knick-knacks.

The food was excellent. Plenty of choices at dinner for all courses. Portions were a god size and the food was delicious and well presented. As it was such a lovely evening we had our cheese board (and an extra, cheeky bottle of wine) served in the candle lit garden.

Breakfast was just as good. There was the usual continental breakfast choices - no pastries but gorgeous farmhouse/granary crusty bread and a king size toaster. The full English was amazing.

We were delighted with our stay at this hotel but I have to say that the thing that impressed us most were the staff. Everyone - receptionists, waitresses, barmen, proprietor - were all so welcoming, friendly and obliging. Nothing was too much trouble and they are genuinely eager to look after their guests and provide the best service possible.

The location of the hotel was just outside Trowbridge and about a mile from Bradford on Avon. As we had planned to visit Bath (a beautiful city) and Longleat (a great day out) it was perfect for us....approximately 20 mins drive to both and a lovely, peaceful location to go back to. No sign of the ghost though......maybe next time!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
4 Thank Busybeelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed for two nights and upgraded to a deluxe room which was lovely and very roomy.
The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful.
Breakfast was superb with fresh baked bread and a good variety of hot and cold options, don't miss out on the smoked (on site) salmon and scrambled eggs it's a real delight.
We dined in the hotel on both nights once with the 5 course taster menu and then the a la carte. Both meals were fantastic, we honestly could not fault anything, the helpings were plentiful and the quality was spot on. The restaurant staff were brilliant and genuinely seemed to enjoy their work, not something you often come across in my experience.
The only reservation we would have is that although we were very fortunate to have beautiful weather during our stay it did make the restaurant very hot in the evening so much so that we dined outside on the second night. Perhaps some more ceiling fans would make it more comfortable inside.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dgk63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This hotel is a little piece of heaven. It has a tranquil ambience, lovely grounds to sit and relax in and staff who can not do enough for you. It is small and intimate and you are made to feel very welcome. If you are looking for some time out to relax this is perfect. My only criticism is the evening meal in the restaurant, very limited menu especially if you are vegetarian, you may want to travel into nearby Bradford-on-Avon to eat.

Room Tip: Ask for the Dovecote suite which is inside the main building. I think the outside rooms might be ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littleandi2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire, England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed at The Old Manor for 3 nights as an add-on break, en route home from a week away. This lovely, quiet hotel is very nicely located between Bradford-on-Avon and Trowbridge and is full of character. All the staff we encountered were absolutely first-class in every respect - courteous, very friendly and highly efficient. Our dog was also made very welcome and invited everywhere within the hotel. There is also a good dog-walking area (field) at the rear of the hotel, a games room with pool table and various garden areas used for growing the hotel's veg, herbs and fruit. The food was very good and the menu definitely different to the typical hotel offerings. We stayed initially in room 5,on the first floor of the "Milking Parlour" building, having admittedly made a very late booking, so it may have been the only available room. That particular room was frankly disappointing at £100 pn, with an extremely creaky bed. However, for the 2nd and 3rd nights we moved to room 7, across from the restaurant / bar in a small converted ground-floor block. What a difference! This was a lovely room (in the hotel's "superior" category) - well decorated and furnished with plenty of space and a really comfortable (and quiet) huge bed. The new owners of the hotel are doing a great job upgrading an already very fine hotel. The staff, most of whom were local young people, were amongst the best we have ever seen in a hotel (and we've travelled extensively) and the atmosphere is quiet, relaxed and welcoming. Thoroughly recommended for anyone seeking quality accommodation in the beautiful Bradford on Avon area.

Room Tip: Rooms 7-11 in the ground floor conversion opposite the restaurant/bar are excellent - quiet and spac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Great little hotel with a family run feel to it. The food here is wonderful. We had the five course taster menu where the beef particularly was spot on! They have their own smokery and grow their own herbs and veg. Will defo go back when we get the chance.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saffron73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trowbridge
5.8 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
676 reviews
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Trowbridge Hotel
19.8 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#3 of 6 in Wells
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Widbrook Grange
Widbrook Grange
#1 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
503 reviews
1.6 mi away
Fieldways Hotel & Health Club
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Leigh Park Hotel
BEST WESTERN Leigh Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Moonraker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moonraker

Property: The Moonraker
Address: 1 Trowle | Trowle Common, Trowbridge BA14 9BL, England (Formerly Old Manor Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Trowbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Trowbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Moonraker 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moonraker hotel, a grade 2 listed 21 bedrooms Manor house situated on the outskirts of Bradford on Avon/ Trowbridge and a 15 minute drive from the Bath Spa. Mentioned in the Domesday book as being part of the Abbess of Glastonbury's estate, the Manor house was originally build in Queen Ann Style before being upgraded in the 17th century to Bath stone. Purchased by Tudor & Lucy Hopkins in July 2013 the hotel has undergone a full refurbishment including transforming the restaurant into a relaxed informal dining space. Head Chef Matthew Briddon (River cafe, Paul Heathcotes) joined the team in September 2013 and has created menus around the hotels kitchen garden and onsite smokery. Nine bee hives provide the hotel honey and rare breed pigs live on the grounds. Kathy Lette (writer and author) stayed at The Old Manor and wrote an article for the Express where she said: 'The bedrooms, with their four poster beds and wide wooden roof beams, are so Jane Austen-esque I kept expecting Mr Darcy to get down on bended knee' The Moonraker oozes old world charm and is a relaxed cotsworld escape with some of the UK's top attractions on its doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Superbreak UK, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Moonraker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Old Manor
The Moonraker Trowbridge, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing