We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The only Thai restaurant in Trowbridge - Use it or lose it” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thai Trowbridge - CLOSED

Thai Trowbridge
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Chinese, Japanese, Vietnamese, Indonesian, Singaporean, Malaysian
Dining options: Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Staple Hill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“The only Thai restaurant in Trowbridge - Use it or lose it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

I've driven by this restaurant everyday so I finally decided to give it a try for a takeaway. It was a sunday evening. I was the only person in the restaurant, although it was around 9.00pm on a sunday. The waitress was very helpful and recommended my meal for me.
Trowbridge is not normally busy on any particular night of the week and so I hope this restaurant is not doomed to close due to lack of interest. We've just had a new Odeon cinema built so I hope people start to come out of a night in this town.
This restaurant is linked to The Thai Weir restaurant in Bath, where I have eaten in myself.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NegativeOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    10
    4
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Taff in Transit
Level Contributor
126 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Not Thai Food as I know it”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

Visited here when it first opened, with some Thai friends of ours and unless someone tells me it has improved, will not visit again - the food was mediocre none of our party were impressed.
In fact, it was so unmemorable, I can't recall what I had for starters, sorry, I recall that I had Tom Yum Soup which was tasteless, no flavour and this is one of the most flaovoursome soup you can taste.
The Beef fried rice I had was more akin to bar food I ate in Kaoshiung, Taiwan, it is certainly not top quality and the decor reflects this
The menu wasn't as varied as we expected, but, if the effort is put in by the owners it could be significantly improved as demonstrated by the Thai Barn in Bradford on Avon

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Red_Admiral_R06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Trowbridge Delight III”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

Have visited Thai Trowbridge several times, including Take away service. Food is good and tasty. However, the restaurant décor is not to my liking and heating needs to be sorted. The staff are very pleasant and friendly.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Amaoak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
116 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Authentic and value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013 via mobile

We had heard great things about this place and we certainly were not disappointed. A lovely menu with good value set meals. The service was faultless and the food delicious. We will certainly be back with friends and can't wait to try the other delicious dishes on the menu.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandra0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Trowbridge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

Finally we have a restaurant that I will gladly spend money in in Trowbridge! This restaurant was recommended to us by a friend, we stupidly just assumed it would be bad as it was in Trowbridge, just goes to show you shouldn't judge a book by its cover!

We had the set meal B for 2 which was just beautiful, hands down the best green curry I have ever had. Beautiful green tea in the traditional cup with a pot all to myself as well, bonus points from me there. The service was faultless, attentive but not overly so and our food came out really quickly.

We were concerned that we were the only people in the restaurant and worried that people may be judging it like we did. This restaurant is truly a rare gem in Trowbridge, I hope it gets more business so it will be here to stay!

We will definitely be back for more. Only downside is that opening times are not on the internet or actually in the shop so you sort of have to guess what times they open. Hopefully that will be amended soon :).

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jessybell88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thai Trowbridge also viewed

Trowbridge, Wiltshire
Steeple Ashton, Trowbridge
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing