We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Parking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Trowbridge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Trowbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2014

No very clear that parking is awful at this Inn. You have to constantly check to see if parking is available at the car park by the Inn (not owned by Premier Inn, they do not have a car park). Other parking available at night is dark and lonely. Once you have secured a place you have to get up and out to the car park at 9.00am to press the ticket twice to get 3 free hours, so you can get your breakfast. The ticket machine was out by 5 minutes so a queue had formed of about 10 people all waiting to do the same, in the rain! When complained to staff, received a defensive, slightly argumentative response to the parking and the fact that the toilet paper was out as was the shower gel upon arrival.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wellintonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Trowbridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we always strive to provide customers with a comfortable stay, and I apologise that on this occasion you were let down by parking issues. Please be assured your comments have been noted and will be followed up with the Management Team at our hotel. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (648)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

592 - 598 of 648 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014

To echo many of the other reviews, once you've stayed at one Premier Inn you'll notice that they are all exactly the same. That's the point in buying a brand I guess.

As with all Premier Inn's you know exactly what to expect when you book, and in this case Trowbridge does not dissappoint. The rooms are modern, clean and well maintained, with plenty of room, a comfy bed and a nice bathroom.

A hearty breakfast is available with a good choice and plenty of it.

The staff are friendly and welcoming and the hotel overall is fairly new and looks quite smart.

The hotel is situated in the middle of a small retail park with a cinema and several restaurants close at hand, (Prezzo, nando's ect) so there is a problem with parking. On arrival, we were quite confused on not really sure where to go. The reception is also quite tricky to find when you first arrive.

The choice of parking is either a pay and display in the retail park itself or a multi-storey car park close by. I would not choose to park in the multi-storey as it seems to attract the local boy racers, wheel spinning and racing around a largely empty car park. You'll also have to wait for a space in the retail park when one becomes available. In short, nice location, but parking can be an issue.

Another consideration is that this hotel does not have a traditional bar arrangement, there's a coffee machine and a chiller where you can purchase bottled beverages, but that's about it.

We did'nt eat dinner here and preferring to find a local pub restaurant.

Overall, nice rooms, nice bathroom, clean, modern, tidy with a good breakfast. Not a place that you would like to spend a lot of time in.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Nice new hotel in a small complex currently comprising of Nandos, Prezzo and an Odeon Cinema with a Costa coffee attached. Frankie and Bennies due to open at the end of April I think. Hotel itself was nice as obviously new, beds very comfortable, nice bathrooms although they could do with repositioning the soap dispenser in the bath - I kept hitting it with my elbow. Check in consists of two automatic check in units, although there is a buzzer to press for assistance if there is noone at the desk. The problem with this hotel is the parking - the small carpark at the front of the hotel is for the cinema etc and you can have 3 hours free in a 24 hour period mon-sat 9am to 6pm (I think) but you must display a ticket. Other than that you can park on some floors (they are labelled) of the car park across the road for 23 hours for free. However, this carpark is NOT part of the new complex and is a urine soaked, foul smelling concrete public car park. I did not feel safe parking here at night and walking back to the hotel. If I had known it was like this I would not have stayed. I will not stay at this hotel again because of the parking issues. If the parking had been more appropriate to a new hotel I would have given this 5 out of 5. My other comment is that breakfast at the hotel was a child fest - noisy and busy - we opted for a quiet breakfast accross the road at Costa coffee.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hannahsheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Once you’ve stayed at one Premier Inn, you can expect them all to be the same. That’s one of the benefits of buying any brand. But I know differently because we’ve stayed at a bad one. Now we’ve stayed at a good one! Yes, better than the standard.

We knew the Premier Inn at Trowbridge was different as soon as we walked in it because there was no reception on the ground floor. Instead, you have to take the lift to the first floor. And there you find no traditional reception counter but two self registering pods, linked by a desk for when there is a receptionist on duty (no doubt just at busy times).

To get in the room we discovered that there was no slot to fit the key card in. Instead, you just have to wave the key card immediately in front of the lock to get a green light.

When we got in the room my wife did her usual first job of inspecting the bathroom, declaring it the cleanest Premier Inn bathroom she had ever seen. In fact, we realised the whole hotel was the cleanest Premier Inn we had ever seen. Later that evening I asked when the hotel had opened and was told only in December 2013! As good as new now, let’s hope it stays that way.

We decided it was too cold to wander off and find a restaurant so we walked into the hotel restaurant instead. It was short staffed and we did have a problem there but it was put right to our satisfaction by the manager on duty. If you prefer to eat out, the hotel is surrounded by half a dozen chain restaurants less than a minute’s walk from the hotel.

There’s no hotel car park but a public car park immediately outside that’s free after 6.00 p.m. and before 9.00 a.m. but it is well used for the cinema also less than a minute’s walk away.

Premier Inn Trowbridge shows what the future of Premier Inns will be. We had a comfortable night’s sleep and would not hesitate to stay there again. We stayed there Good Friday 2014.

Room Tip: I suspect all the rooms are equally good. You need to use one of the two lifts (or stairs) for the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichardGBFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Recently stayed here for one night on a Saturday. The room was spotless and is the new style rooms that Premier Inn are rolling out in their new builds. A lot more sophisticated looking with a huge flatscreen tv and ports underneath to plug in HDMI and USB leads. Very impressed!!! Staff were helpful- I needed something printed out and as they had run out of ink in their office printer, the receptionist coming in later on printed it out for me in their own home- very thoughtful and acts like this go beyond their duty - thank you! There are several restaurants next door and a cinema also. We didn't use their facilites so can't comment on dining but it was a good base to go to Bath for one day and then to Longleat safari zoo the next- in between the both. On arrival to the car park at 4.45pm, we asked the parking warden how much it cost. He told us we had to pay £3 until it was free after 5pm. Another lady getting her parking ticket told us that if you press the button twice on the ticket machine, it will give you a ticket free for 3 hours which takes us into aftr 5pm and it's free on a Sunday so we didn't need to pay a penny luckily. Not too expensive anyway for the car park but the warden trying to charge us £3 for 15mins was a bit of a joke. But anyway, cannot recommend this hotel enough. Reasonably priced, new build, helpful staff, spotless- what more can you ask for?!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights, 16th 17th April & it was great. Staff very friendly, room big, all the facilities you would want . Extremely comfortable bed. Easy walking distance to the town centre. Very quiet & a good nights sleep. Ate in the restaurant in the evening & meal was good but menu a bit limited.
Parking not a problem once you work out the system.
All in all,great place to stay, quiet,comfortable, extremely clean & it gave us nothing to complain about what so ever.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel, it's so quiet you could hear a pin drop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Stayed for one night with family. Staff were very friendly & helpful, our room was clean, comfortable & quiet. We chose to eat in the hotel although there were other restaurants in the vicinity, & were pleasantly impressed with the quality of food for the price & service.
The only downside I could see for staying here would be having to pay for the carpark- however due to the time of our visit we didn't incur any charges.
The hotel is situated a two minute walk from the cinema.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wildehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trowbridge
6.9 mi away
Travelodge Warminster
Travelodge Warminster
#2 of 3 in Warminster
621 reviews
1.0 mi away
Fieldways Hotel & Health Club
4.8 mi away
Travelodge Beckington
Travelodge Beckington
#1 of 2 in Beckington
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Moonraker
The Moonraker
#1 of 4 in Trowbridge
1,003 reviews
3.1 mi away
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
550 reviews
11.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Centurion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Trowbridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Trowbridge Hotel

Address: St. Stephens Place, Trowbridge BA14 8AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Trowbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Trowbridge
Price Range: £48 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Trowbridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within walking distance of the Trowbridge Museum and events and conferences at the Civic Centre ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Trowbridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Trowbridge Hotel Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing