We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb, peaceful location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dartington Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dartington Hall
Ranked #1 of 5 Dartington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Superb, peaceful location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2011

There is surely no more delightful place than Dartington in spring! Take a walk in the gardens first thing, then return to the White Hart for an excellent breakfast, There are so many places to see nearby - Totnes to explore, or Buckfast Abbey for example - and in the evening back to the peace of Dartington Hall. Staff are friendly and efficient, rooms a little basic but with comfortable beds. Ask for a room in the West Wing to overlook the courtyard.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank missusf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    371
    228
    97
    42
    28
See reviews for
81
458
39
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cantabria
Level Contributor
111 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2011

I live in Devon and since I can remember my parents have taken us to Dartington Gardens to play hide and seek and run around, they are simply stunning. This October I was maid of honour at my best friend's wedding here, and we actually got to stay here for the first time! We had been warned the accommodation was basic, but actually, the room was lovely! A huge bed with thick cosy bedding, a spacious room with washbasin, very simply decorated in white. We had booked a double with separate bathroom, which was down the hall through a couple of fire doors, but we were provided with robes, which was a nice surprise. We slept very well, and I know that everyone in our party was very happy. Having seen a few other rooms too, the brial suite was on the opposite side of the courtyard and was up in the attic, with beautiful beams (we were a little disappointed that they didn't actually decorate it, we had to go and do it ourselves, just as well we realised!), and other friends had a downstairs room which had a sitting room and fireplace! It was lovely to come down for breakfast the next day and wander round the grounds before we left. The location itself was perfect for the wedding, they were very helpful and accommodating with everything, and we all had a fabulous day, it really was a dream wedding location! (The White Heart pub which is next to the Hall in the courtyard also does wonderful food, book ahead!)

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RatonCantabria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2010

This is a wonderful place to stay, there is a pub, restaurant and theatre on sight although the theatre is very cultural. The food is great, the gardens beautiful and the main buildings stunning. The rooms are small but very clean and more than adequate. The beds are very big and comfy. I rang first for availability and price and after checking it out on the web rang back to book and saved £40 by quoting an offer on the website. If you don't want to stay just go and visit and have a coffee, it is well worth the trip.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hubbsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2010

Stunning setting in medieval courtyard, restored in 1925 by wealthy owners, former college, currently international summer school of music and year-round conference centre and guest accommodations. The rooms are full of character with slightly outdated en suite bathrooms, but I hear a renovation is starting soon. The breakfast, included, is great in the beautiful dining room, which is also a restaurant serving gourmet dinners. The famous gardens are a delight to wander round and the surrounding countryside is beautiful. A cinema is also part of the complex with nightly films. A wonderful setting for weddings.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jati5335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2009

I stayed at the hall for one night and must say, the building and gardens are without a doubt stunning. Its a shame that the accommodation doesn't quite match up to the surroundings. The bedrooms I believe were once part of a monastery so the small-ish size and slightly odd layout can be forgiven. For £85 a night however, once inside the room you didn't really get a lot for your money. Although clean, the bathroom suite was very dated as were the bedroom furnishings. Some rooms didn't actually have an en-suit bathroom which meant a trip across the hallway to use the shower and toilet. We had to ask for another kettle for the room as the one already in there was black inside with mould and was missing its lead. Breakfast was included in the price, there was a very good selection and the food was good quality. Lastly, although I would not necessarily recommend this as a place to stay, its definitely worth a day visit.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mel_hi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret River
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2009

What a beautiful little gem in the middle of Devon. Food was great, Service was great, Staff were brilliant, Location was great, Gardens were amazing, it felt like we had stepped back in time! The rooms could do with updating as they are looking a bit tired, but otherwise we had a gorgeous stay.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tmb78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dartington
1.5 mi away
Royal Seven Stars Hotel
1.6 mi away
The Old Forge at Totnes
5.1 mi away
The Dartmoor Lodge
The Dartmoor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ashburton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Premier Inn Paignton South - Brixham Road
0.9 mi away
The Cott Inn
The Cott Inn
#2 of 5 in Dartington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Steam Packet Inn
The Steam Packet Inn
#4 of 26 in Totnes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dartington Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dartington Hall

Property: Dartington Hall
Address: The Elmhirst Centre, Dartington, Totnes TQ9 6EL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Totnes > Dartington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Dartington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dartington Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dartington Hall is a grade 1 listed property set within a 1200 acre private estate. Our bedrooms are located around the 14th century medieval courtyard offering a mix of heritage and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Dartington Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dartington Hall Hotel Dartington
Dartington Hall Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing