We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great weekend!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dartington Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Dartington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A great weekend!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Beautiful location and countryside around Dartington. We had an exceptional room although friends felt their room was rather small - the price of listed buildings! Everything worked well and food was good although restaurant didn't give any priority to providing dinner for residents who had not booked forcing a trip out to Totnes for supper - which was fine.

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tej W, General Manager at Dartington Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Nick J

Thank you for your recent review.

I am always striving to improve the property and I do hope that you with your family and friends will return to us in the future when it will be my pleasure to welcome you.

Kindest regards

Tej
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    406
    243
    101
    43
    29
See reviews for
88
501
42
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel while I was working in Totnes. It is only 1 mile away from Totnes train station. It is also within walking distance of several pubs/restaurants.

The people who work at the hotel were really welcoming and had tons of information about places to go in the local area.

The bedroom was comfortable, clean and looked nice.

The hotel restaurant served really nice food and drinks. The staff working there was welcoming and easy to start a conversation with.

Would fully recommend the hotel as a weekend break away

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JHodgetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tej W, General Manager at Dartington Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear JHodgetts

Thank you for your recent review, it’s very good to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us, and enjoyed our food and service in the White Hart.

We look forward to welcoming you for your next stay.

Kindest regards

Tej
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Had a 2night break and opted for a room upgrade. Glad we did as other reviews suggested standard rooms were poky. Ours was large, spacious and very comfortable with loads of storage room. The service was adequate, but not great - promised wi-fi unobtainable first night with nobody available to sort it. OK second night. In-house cinema a lovely plus with some unusual but excellent films. Setting absolutely superb, with lovely gardens. Restaurant food OK, but lacking in atmosphere and service slow without warmth. Still, would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Get an upgrade for the most spacious rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tej W, General Manager at Dartington Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Andrew T

Thank you for your comments, and I am sorry to hear that your stay with us was a mixed experience.

Your comment about the WiFi is noted. I have discussed your feedback with regards to future improvements.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Dartington Hall, and would welcome your comments about you next visit.

Regards

Tej
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Seychelles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

A rather terrible experience from beginning to end.
Accommodation staff were found to be rude and inconsiderate.
Service was slow and inattentive.
Dartington Hall are clearly more interested in their profits than the service they provide to their paying guests.
Rooms were well below standard for the prices paid and were damp and musty.

Room Tip: View the rooms prior to your stay and do not rely on the photographs used on the Dartington Hall web...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tej W, General Manager at Dartington Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Ian L

Thank you for your comments, and I am sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy your stay with us.

I have discussed your comments with regards to the rudeness of reception staff with the Guest Services Manager for training and appropriate action.

I am always striving to improve the property and I do hope that you return to us in the future when it will be my pleasure to welcome you.

Regards

Tej
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Setting and location absolutely beautiful. Was visiting on business so are at the on site restaurant. I went down for dinner about 6pm and I was the only person in restaurant. So I thought food would be quick as the menu had limited options. Still took about 30 mins for food to arrive. But this was tasty just wish there was more. Room very clean and had everything needed. Wifi solid connection, tv great addition. Only thing here was the fact the room height was just about 6 foot and being 6 foot tall this was a close shave throughout! Oh and the choir singing about 7pm was unexpected.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanielleB09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tej W, General Manager at Dartington Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear DanielleB09

Thank you for your recent review, I am pleased to hear that you had a wonderful experience with us.

We look forward to welcoming you for your next stay.

Kindest regards

Tej
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

We had our wedding here in May 2014 and it was perfect, everything we could have asked for! The venue was beautiful, we had loads of compliments from the guests about how unique and stunning it was.
The day went so smoothly with help from the discrete yet very hard working staff. They all worked in the background to ensure everyone was well looked after and no request was too much trouble (even a sewing kit for a quick dress emergency!)
A special mention is deserved for Rebecca, Dartington's wedding organiser, who not only over saw the day but the months prior to the wedding - meeting with us and answering our numerous emails. Rebecca is one the most calm people I have met - a must for the big day!!

If you're thinking about getting here, I really can't recommend it highly enough. My only piece of advice would be to make sure you get a taxi when you do the menu tasting so you can really indulge!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tej W, General Manager at Dartington Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Gina S

Thank you for your recent review, I am pleased to hear that you had a wonderful experience with us, and enjoyed your wedding with family and friends.

I have cascaded you compliments to Rebecca and the other team members.

We look forward to welcoming you for your next stay.

Kindest regards

Tej
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Booked a double room by phone and quoted £90 including breakfast for 2. On checking out was told £129.00 When queried told £99. And the person should took the booking no longer worked there, very convenient! Sorry for what was provided it wasn't worth it. No bottled water in room. Gowns would have been nice and an umbrella would have been useful to get from car park to room? No ironing board either! Room 2 west wing noisy,. After midnight it sounded as if the furniture was being dragged around the room by an elephant in wooden clogs ! Mentioned it to reception and was told the room next door/above was a studio! Er..... In that case they need to sort out some sound proofing. Sorry, lovely setting but sadly will not be returning and will be writing to Management shortly.

Room Tip: Avoid room 2 in the west wing, dreadful noise from room above which is a studio of some kind
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Smartlady2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tej W, General Manager at Dartington Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Smartlady2014

Thank you for your comments, and I am sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy your stay with us.
I have discussed your comments with regards to the confusion over the rate of your room with the Guest Services Manager for training and appropriate action.

It is a shame that we could have resolved the issue if you would have taken the opportunity to speak to the duty manager as offered to you by the receptionist at the time of departure.

I am always striving to improve the property and I do hope that you return to us in the future when it will be my pleasure to welcome you.

Regards

Tej
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dartington
1.5 mi away
Royal Seven Stars Hotel
1.6 mi away
The Old Forge at Totnes
5.1 mi away
The Dartmoor Lodge
The Dartmoor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ashburton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Best Western The Dartmouth Hotel Golf & Spa
0.9 mi away
The Cott Inn
The Cott Inn
#2 of 5 in Dartington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
1.5 mi away
King William IV Hotel
King William IV Hotel
#7 of 26 in Totnes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dartington Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dartington Hall Hotel

Property: Dartington Hall Hotel
Address: The Elmhirst Centre, Dartington, Totnes TQ9 6EL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Totnes > Dartington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Dartington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dartington Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dartington Hall is a grade 1 listed property set within a 1200 acre private estate. Our bedrooms are located around the 14th century medieval courtyard offering a mix of heritage and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dartington Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dartington Hall Hotel Dartington
Dartington Hall Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing