We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“John and Margaret” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Velwell House Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dartington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Velwell House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 5 Dartington B&B and Inns
Ashford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“John and Margaret”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

We have visited Velwell House twice now. There is a fantastic welcome with tea and cakes, our room was lovely with a high standard of decoration and amazing views over the Devon countryside, and breakfast was superb. We were well looked after and made to feel very comfortable and relaxed.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John_190759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
44
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

My husband and I stayed for two nights and wished it had been longer! Val and Gareth are both welcoming and interesting, Val is an artist and this shows in every aspect of the house. Velwell House is in the most amazing location with lovely views over the surrounding countryside.

Our stunning room was both spacious and comfortable, the food delicious both "welcome cake" and breakfasts with homemade breads, jams, yogurt and pancakes.

Val couldn't have been more helpful, suggesting and booking restaurants and great places to visit. This is definitely the most wonderful place to stay and I would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank valeco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

We had a week here in early August, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. As the earlier reviews have consistently said, great welcome, beautiful room, superb breakfasts, very high standard of finish and decor everywhere, wonderful setting, exceptionally friendly and helpful hosts.

This is really much more than 'B&B' usually implies - more like a mini-boutique hotel - and we would thoroughly recommend it in every respect.

Room Tip: There are only two guest rooms, and we loved our room with the great view to the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Euan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
118 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2011

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights earlier this week. From the welcome (tea and home made cake in the residents' lounge) to breakfast (including home made bread and preserves), Val looked after us fantastically (whilst also exhibiting her art work in nearby venues). The art work is also on display throughtout the house and in her workshop out back. The B&B is situated on top of a hill with fantastic views of South Hams. We were lucky to catch the end of the recent good weather and it was truly peaceful.

Room Tip: Only 2 rooms - I went for the Long Room because of my height (6 foot 2 inches) as the bed has no foo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stew13London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset,, england
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

We stayed in Val and Gareths' lovely home last weekend (9-12 September), We were made to feel extremely welcome from the very beginning and the artistic feel of their home was fantastic. Both very personable people full of knowledge, their environment reflects this and they allow you to feel welcome in their home. The view from the Long Room was inspiring and Val's studio, exhibiting her own along with three other artists work as part of Devon Open Studios, was a fantastic enhancement to our stay. The breakfasts were amazing. Val's passion for art and food shines!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lou W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

I stayed in the long room in august 2011. The room and ensuite are very modern, well decorated, big, and clean. Downstairs there is a wonderful lounge with woodburner and a tv, DVD and free wifi. If you are staying anywhere near dartington or totnes stay here. I would recommend Velwell to anyone it is that good. The accomodation is superb. Val and Gareth are wonderful hosts. The breakfasts are delightful.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tudor22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2011

We stayed for 3 nights in this beautiful part of South Devon and were delighted by our choice of B&B. We were warmly welcomed by Val and accommodated in a spacious, tastefully decorated and extremely clean en-suite room with great views of the stunning countryside . The breakfasts were a marvellous feast, with emphasis on home made and locally sourced organic produce. Val was a most generous hostess and we loved our stay there.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susanandbill86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dartington
0.0 mi away
Royal Seven Stars Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Old Forge at Totnes
0.0 mi away
King William IV Hotel
King William IV Hotel
#6 of 26 in Totnes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Cott Inn
The Cott Inn
#2 of 5 in Dartington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dartington Hall
Dartington Hall
#1 of 5 in Dartington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Steam Packet Inn
The Steam Packet Inn
#4 of 26 in Totnes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Velwell House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Velwell House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Velwell House Bed & Breakfast
Address: Dartington, Totnes TQ9 6AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Totnes > Dartington
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Dartington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A spacious and luxurious Victorian country house with a contemporary atmosphere and magnificent Dartmoor views. Velwell House is conveniently placed for the A38 but close to Dartington Hall and Totnes. Boutique hotel style comfort at B and B prices. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Velwell House Bed & Breakfast Dartington, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing