We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dartington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Velwell House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 5 Dartington B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

It was our first visit to Velwell House and we were most impressed with everything about it. From the delicious cake and tea on arrival (served in the light and airy guest lounge) to our large, well appointed and comfortable bedroom, everything was provided to a very high standard. We particularly enjoyed the breakfasts (home-made muesli, bread, preserves and yoghurt) and were fortunate to be able to sample fresh figs from the garden. The cooked breakfast was excellent too. Val and Gareth made us feel very welcome and we enjoyed perusing Val's interesting and inspiring artwork. The B & B is situated in a beautiful rural location with stunning views and easy access to numerous coastal and countryside places to visit. We had a thoroughly good time and would highly recommend this B & B.

Room Tip: There are only 2 rooms. Both are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
44
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Zurich
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

Spent a very pleasant three days here in August '13. The combination of a great location, genial hosts, comfortable accommodation, and attractive price resulted in an excellent stay, and I wouldn't hesitate to (a) recommend Velwell House, and (b) stay here again the next time I'm in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nik_google
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

We've stayed a couple of times at Velwell House and it is always a wonderful experience .
Val is a charming and hospitabitable host with a twinkle in her eye and we love the art work in the house, it's like staying in a stylish, comfortable art gallery.
The bedroom was large and well furnished, lovely modern bathroom and beautiful views, spent a dreamy hour in the hammock looking out over the fields.
Breakfast was a treat; excellent local produce and wide variety.
Great location for exploring the area, close to lots of attractions, but a calm oasis to come back to, delightful.
Will definitely be going back again and again!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alicia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

Velwell House is a fine and spacious house in a beautiful rural setting with splendid views of the Devon countryside. Val's hospitality is warm and relaxed, but comprehensive. She went to a lot of trouble to ensure that we were comfortable - and we were! The sole purpose of our visit was to attend a wedding a few miles away and we therefore had little spare time but we will be planning a longer visit next year. The area has much to offer and the idea of a longer and more leisurely stay at Velwell is hugely appealing, especially the thought of enjoying more of Val's superb breakfasts. She is an amazing cook and nothing is too much trouble. Velwell is the best b and b we have every stayed in, and we have stayed in many!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

We spent a couple of very relaxing days in this lovely spacious house. Val was a welcoming host, breakfast was excellent and she even managed a candle lit birthday cake for my partner on the spur of the moment! The room was large and airy with a very comfortable bed and large bathroom with underfloor heating. The fact that Val is an artist with diverse talent certainly added to feel of the place. The house is perfectly positioned for visiting the surrounding area as only a short drive from the moors or the coast. We would certainly return next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wendy j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wimborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

We stayed for two nights in this lovely house. Val was very welcoming and ensured our stay was memorable. The rooms were spacious, light and well equipped with quality bathrooms and comfortable beds. The breakfast menu was thoughtfully planned and of excellent quality including homemade bread and jams. Val is a talented artist and it was lovely to be surrounded by her work which her stunning home did justice to. Would love to come back!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013 via mobile

I wish I could of written this sooner but I went to Istanbul after leaving Devon.
Now VelWell House is just amazing and Val was the perfect host. We booked this venue as we were attending a wedding.

We arrived on Friday 24th May in the afternoon and we were greeted by Val and shown around the beautiful house. Our bed room was massive and the king size bed was so comfortable. The room is spot less and the walk in shower is excellent.

Val gave us all the information we needed about the area and house. We were offered coffee and some lovely lemon drizzle cake (yum)

Now don't get me started about breakfast Val can cook up a storm it was the best English breakfast I've had in a long time.

I've told all my friends and I would highly recommend this beautiful BB to anyone. I will be coming back :-)

Val is a painter and her home is full of her fantastic art work.

Val thank you so much for making us feel so welcome.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ms247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dartington
0.0 mi away
Royal Seven Stars Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Old Forge at Totnes
0.0 mi away
King William IV Hotel
King William IV Hotel
#7 of 26 in Totnes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Cott Inn
The Cott Inn
#2 of 5 in Dartington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dartington Hall Hotel
Dartington Hall Hotel
#1 of 5 in Dartington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
0.0 mi away
Stoke Gabriel Lodgings
Stoke Gabriel Lodgings
#1 of 2 in Stoke Gabriel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Velwell House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Velwell House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Velwell House Bed & Breakfast
Address: Dartington, Totnes TQ9 6AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Totnes > Dartington
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Dartington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A spacious and luxurious Victorian country house with a contemporary atmosphere and magnificent Dartmoor views. Velwell House is conveniently placed for the A38 but close to Dartington Hall and Totnes. Boutique hotel style comfort at B and B prices. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Velwell House Bed & Breakfast Dartington, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing