We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“6”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dartington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Velwell House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 6 Dartington B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Anyone wanting to know what the perfect B&B looks like should come and stay at Velwell House. Val and Gareth are friendly and relaxed, it's a bit like staying with really good friends. Food is very special, rooms are nicely furnished, and very clean. Everything worked well. We even experienced 3D TV for the first time!

Room Tip: Only two rooms. One with king size bed, the other has a super king size bed. Both are as good as eac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 566BernieD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed at Velwell House for 2 nights. Would certainly recommend anyone to stay here. Wonderful uninterrupted views of the Devon countryside. Val made us feel very welcome and the whole house was beautifully decorated and furnished certainly enhanced by Val's artistic flair. Breakfast was great with fresh fruit, homemade bread and cakes and of course not forgetting the full English breakfast as the finale!!!
Hope to go back when we are visiting Darlington again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We had a fabulous three night stay while we attended a late night dance weekend locally. The whole experience was perfect, from the smell of home baked bread in the morning, home made marmalades at breakfast, the beautiful artworks throughout the house, through to the spacious and very comfortable bedroom. There was even ample room for our yoga mat to be laid in front of the bedroom window, which reminds me... lovely views over the local countryside too.

You can book this place without fear of being disappointed. Val and Gareth are also excellent hosts.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichaelfromHove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Just returned from an Easter break and the title sums it up. Val and Gareth are great hosts and we were made welcome from the moment we arrived. Nothing was too much trouble. The 2 rooms are large and comfortably furnished to a high standard. The bed was most comfortable and guarantees a good night's rest. Wifi was included as was the exclusive use of the sitting room equipped with a large TV and DVD as well as numerous games.
The location is stunning being in the middle of nowhere with views over the Dart valley and to Dartmoor in the distance. The house itself is decorated with Val's artwork and her on-site studio is open to visit.
The breakfast was magnificent. As customised as you wanted and well presented. Bread and yogurt were homemade - breakfast was certainly a highlight.
If we return to this area, there is no question about where we would stay!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CambridgeClimber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

A return visit to Velwell House B&B and it was a real treat. A lovely house full of art in a great location, beautiful views across the Devon hills towards Dartmoor. A warm welcome, attention to detail and a delicious breakfast set us up perfectly for the day. Thanks for a great stay, we will be returning again. 5 Stars.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RichGold100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Velwell House is everything and more that anyone could want from a bed and breakfast. It is clean, stylish and from the moment you arrive you are immediately made to feel welcome and at home by Val and her Husband. I have stayed in 5 star hotels before and not received the same level of friendliness and service that Val at Velwell offers. The breakfast was a delight, and joy to be served with each morning. Everything is homemade and made with love and care. It shines through that this is not just a job for the owners , it is a labour of love to which they pass with flying
Colours. Thank you so much, you made a personally difficult time for myself and my family a very cosseted and pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

What a first class place to stay,excellent room very large with fantastic views across the country side.The accommodation was very clean and tidy and the owners really helpful and friendly plenty of parking and access to the adjoining large garden.
The breakfast had everything one could desire and the cooked option was exceptional
I would recommend this as must stay

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Derekbale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dartington
0.0 mi away
The Old Forge at Totnes
0.0 mi away
Royal Seven Stars Hotel
0.0 mi away
Dartington Hall Hotel
Dartington Hall Hotel
#1 of 6 in Dartington
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Cott Inn
The Cott Inn
#2 of 6 in Dartington
308 reviews
0.0 mi away
Higher Tideford House
Higher Tideford House
#3 of 3 in Cornworthy
10 reviews
0.0 mi away
King William IV Hotel
King William IV Hotel
#9 of 28 in Totnes
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Velwell House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Velwell House Bed & Breakfast

Address: Dartington, Totnes TQ9 6AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Totnes > Dartington
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Dartington
Price Range: £49 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A spacious and luxurious Victorian country house with a contemporary atmosphere and magnificent Dartmoor views. Velwell House is conveniently placed for the A38 but close to Dartington Hall and Totnes. Boutique hotel style comfort at B and B prices. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Velwell House Bed & Breakfast Dartington, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing