We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“unimpressed” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Shops at Dartington

The Shops at Dartington
Attraction details
Honiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
348 reviews
97 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“unimpressed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

This was my last visit. I'll not return.

I'm expected to pay to park and then the process are very very high. A loaf of bread was £3.79. I'm all for artisan produce but don't charge me for both parking and then very very high prices.

After being a loyal customer for many years I've had enough of this attitude that well keep paying more and more.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank CustomerConsultant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    66
    55
    43
    18
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Pretty awful”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Wi-if not working, ATM not working, nowhere to picnic on a rainy day (chucked out of cafe for wanting to eat picnic with two young children on a rainy day) and manager too busy to discuss any of it with me.

The only good thing about this place Is "crazy about clay", the pottery workshop which is well organized, reasonably priced, and has a lovely atmosphere.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank 125Kaithe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Over priced and unwelcoming”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

The objects in various shops are hugely overpriced. We visited on a quiet morning in March , in most shops we were the only ones browsing and not one member of staff greeted us.

Helpful?
1 Thank Hereford26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

We have often visited the former cider mill shops to see the glass, ceramics and craft work .the organisation has lost direction and the current offering resembles any old tourist high street. There is no focus on the wealth of arts and crafts in Devon which was the ethos of Dartington. The new craft area was uninspiring and a poor showcase for Craft and there was no sign of the heritage contemporary ceramics. The new food hall was awash with fudge and jam so disappointing . We have purchased jewellery, clothing and ceramics in the past- this time we had a cup of tea and left.i wish we had seen the reviews before we visited as we would have not bothered to visit the shops. The website looks good but the experience does not deliver at all and you also have to find change to park now.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Diana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Totnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

This place was fabulous until a few years ago. There was a shop called Bazaar that was full of inexpensive interesting things that made perfect birthday presents, and beautiful jewellery as well. This shop has now disappeared. Been replaced by shops selling boring, overpriced items. I used to go there at least once a month, now I go once a year, just to see if it's improved. Sadly so far, it hasn't. What a waste of a brilliant site.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Janeomar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Shops at Dartington also viewed

 

Been to The Shops at Dartington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing