We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely recommend this”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dartington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Appalachian Spring B&B
Ranked #3 of 6 Dartington B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Such a very nice experience in a quiet country location but very near to Dartington and Totnes, and the Cott Inn for good food.
Best to book ahead if you can. Everything is comfortable, well thought out and the welcome and hospitality of the owner is first class. Note: the directions say take the (very) narrow right hand turn just before the Cott Inn - do take this, don't go past the Inn.
I must mention the lovely gardens.

Room Tip: Book ahead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brianbluebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (98)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2013

What a fabulous place to stay. A genuine welcome in a lovely old house and a gorgeous setting in a quiet maze of Devon lanes, close enough to walk and enjoy the lovely Cott Inn nearby, or wander into Totnes for supper. The room was clean and very comfy, with a mattress that made it hard to get up in the morning, although the breakfasts made it worthwhile! Lovely service and looking forward to going back...

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

If you can drag yourself out of the beautiful cottage garden upon entrance then a real treat awaits. What refreshingly differentiates this B&B from any other I've experienced is the attention to detail that has gone into making this accommodation quite literally superb. No stone was unturned in ensuring we received highest level of comfort humanly possible. I would urge anyone requiring a place to stay in the area to taste the unique experience that is Appalachian Spring.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DinoBragazzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

My partner and I stayed for 1 night in the Annexe. We were looked after extremely well by Toni, who cooked a delicious breakfast in the morning. Room was well appointed, with stunning views into her lovely garden. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goooogle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

A very pleasant stay in Devon for business/pleasure. Spacious room with a very comfortable bed. Very good in-room facilities and treats. Delicious breakfast made from locally sourced ingredients.Toni is a welcoming, amiable, considerate and generous host.
Lovely walking back to Appalachian Spring in the moonlight and stars from the Cott Inn, which is a short, pleasant stroll down the lane. A lovely hostelry in all respects . . . Food, ambiance, beer, friendliness and personal touch and occasional live music that you can eat to (I wish it was my local). Appalachian Spring is not far from Totnes and very close to Dartington Hall (just about a 5-minute drive or a pleasant 30-40 minute walk to the Hall) We will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Very comfortable. Excellent breakfasts. Toni is a very helpful, knowledgeable and entertaining host. Ideal base for all South Devon's attractions. Within easy walking distance from Appalachian Spring is the famous Cott Inn. Lovely traditional pub, friendly staff and the food is really superb.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bryan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

Located just outside Totnes it's a charming place to stay. A short drive down a gravel track finds the B&B which is every bit as beautiful as the pictures appear. The room I had was spacious, in good condition and very clean. In the annex there would be enough romm for a family of 4 with young kids.

You can walk into Totnes, about half the trip is on a dirt track and then you join the sealed roads. The Cott in is a pleasant short walk down the lane for a dinner.

If you are driving I would use a map rather than Sat Nav as they don't cope that well with country lanes.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GLewis_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dartington
0.3 mi away
The Cott Inn
The Cott Inn
#2 of 6 in Dartington
322 reviews
1.2 mi away
Dartington Hall Hotel
Dartington Hall Hotel
#1 of 6 in Dartington
966 reviews
4.5 mi away
Stoke Gabriel Lodgings
Stoke Gabriel Lodgings
#1 of 2 in Stoke Gabriel
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Higher Gitcombe
Higher Gitcombe
#1 of 3 in Cornworthy
182 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Appalachian Spring B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Appalachian Spring B&B

Address: Copland's Corner | Copland Lane for garden entrance., Dartington, Totnes TQ9 6DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Totnes > Dartington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Dartington
Price Range: £35 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AS seen on Channel Four's 'Four in a Bed', Appalachian Spring is a former farmhouse with a beautiful south-facing garden and patio in rural Dartington village close to the award-winning 14th century thatched Cott Inn. One mile from main line Totnes station and medieval Dartington Hall Estate the accommodation consists of three double rooms – one with lounge and extra double sofa-bed and one with extra single bed, all with en-suite/private facilities. Luxury mattresses and bedding, tea /coffee trays, and local produce for a delicious full English breakfast make for a very comfortable, welcoming and friendly B and B. Your host is a viola player and Alexander Technique teacher. Free parking immediately outside the garden gate. Singles are welcome, and children. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Appalachian Spring B&B Dartington, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing