We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort, warmth and a friendly welcome.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dartington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Appalachian Spring, Dartington
Ranked #3 of 5 Dartington B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We just spent six very comfortable nights and enjoyed Toni's wonderful breakfasts featuring gorgeous local eggs. Toni was welcoming, friendly and was always helpful. Gluten-free eating was no problem, with a choice of gf cereals. We were house-hunting and Toni made sure we explored the right places and even showed us a local property. (But Toni's is nicer!) Toni is a musician and also teaches the Alexander Technique. We feel we have made a friend and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Celia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
There are newer reviews for Appalachian Spring, Dartington
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 13 December 2013

We stayed for 3 nights. Great location which is convenient for the South Hams, Devon Coast and Dartmoor is only a few minutes away. Very comfortable accommodation and terrific hospitality from Toni for whom nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was all superb local produce. A great pre Christmas break which we plan to repeat.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MDAndAVPal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Stayed here for two nights and was more than impressed!
Excellent spacious room with a huge bathroom, offering all home comforts.

Toni, who owns Appalachian Spring is a charming host, and I was welcomed with a cheery smile. Nothing has been overlooked and I was surprised to find even tiny details such as a packet of locally produced organic fudge on my bed on arrival! Towelling robes in the bathroom as well as a superb selection of essential toiletries were provided.

Breakfast was excellent with a selection of high quality local produce, cooked to perfection, along with a bowl of fresh raspberries and blue currants. This was the best breakfast I'd experienced for a long time, and I'd challenge even the highest quality hotel to better it.

As Toni has lived here over 20 years, she's a mine of local information, and a very interesting lady, well worth chatting to. Her humour really added some laughs to my stay, and made me feel really welcome.

To summarise, I can honestly that I haven't stopped anywhere better, so if you're headed down to Dartington or the surrounding area, you certainly won't be disappointed stopping here.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BirminghamHotelAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here during the weekday, while working on a project nearby.
We were welcomed into the b&b with a much needed cup of tea and a smile (this was very appricated after working outside all day)
We were then shown to our rooms; all were immaculately presented and had all the nesscessities (tv/shampoo/towels/tea and coffee). There was even a complimentary packet of chocolate fudge placed upon the pillow which was a excellent finishing touch! Each room also had a good book selection within!
Wifi was also available and was of a decent speed: the code was displayed in the room so it was easy to access.
The beds were very comfy and made oversleeping a real fear!
We placed orders for breakfast the night before and came down in the morning to a lovely spread of cereal, fresh orange juice and tea/coffee, while our cooked breakfast was being prepared. This itself was delicious and really set us up for the whole day!

Our host, Toni, was a absolute star and nothing was too much trouble! She was always avaliable for a chat and was willing to accomodate our strange requests (mostly downstairs storage space for field equipment).

The b&b felt really homely and relaxing; a great find! I would recommend this b&b to anyone wishing for a quiet country break, although it was close to all the local amenities. Thank you once again for a great short stay! :)


Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Archaeologygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

well....what can one say? Appalachian Spring is an excellent B and B, tranquil and serene, and hosted by the lovely Toni, whose warm personality, and smiling face immediately puts the guest at ease, and feel comfortable. Her attention to detail is perfect, and breakfast, including superlative Earl Grey tea, was sublime.
the rooms are extremely comfortable, and pleasant, and reflect what a Devon cottage bedroom arrangement should be; big and airy, but intimate because of the lower ceilings, big comfy beds, bathroom (en suite) immaculate. the garden is very lush, and overall the setting is idyllic.
thoroughly lovely, and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john michael m m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We came here for our (all too short) honeymoon. We wanted a quiet place with character and outside Totnes, and certainly got that -- the one mile walk to the centre of town is not too far and is pleasantly rural.

Toni was a fantastic, bubbly host, and we felt that in three nights we had made a real friend. She couldn't do enough for us -- including giving us a lift to Dartmouth (we didn't have a car, and chose Totnes as it is a transport hub as well as pretty). The breakfasts were to die for, with delicious local ingredients.

The bedroom was comfortable and had everything we needed -- including lots of interesting books ! The bed was soft and restful.

Room Tip: There are two rooms and a self contained flat, we had the dual aspect room, one over the pretty gard...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen V V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We had a very nice stay in Appalachian Spring where we felt warmly welcome. This is a confortable and quiet place where you feel at home. The bedrooms are big and beautifully arranged. The breakfasts are excellent and the garden is lovely. Last but not least, the owner is very friendly and helpful. Great service overall. Highly recommended B&B.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dartington
3.2 mi away
The Durant Arms
The Durant Arms
#1 of 1 in Ashprington
112 reviews
1.3 mi away
Royal Seven Stars Hotel
1.5 mi away
The Old Forge at Totnes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Dartington Hall Hotel
Dartington Hall Hotel
#1 of 5 in Dartington
897 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Cott Inn
The Cott Inn
#2 of 5 in Dartington
306 reviews
1.2 mi away
King William IV Hotel
King William IV Hotel
#9 of 27 in Totnes
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Appalachian Spring, Dartington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Appalachian Spring, Dartington

Address: Copland's Corner | Copland Lane for garden entrance., Dartington, Totnes TQ9 6DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Totnes > Dartington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Dartington
Price Range: £35 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AS seen on Channel Four's 'Four in a Bed', Appalachian Spring is a former farmhouse with a beautiful south-facing garden and patio in rural Dartington village close to the award-winning 14th century thatched Cott Inn. One mile from main line Totnes station and medieval Dartington Hall Estate the accommodation consists of three double rooms – one with lounge and extra double sofa-bed and one with extra single bed, all with en-suite/private facilities. Luxury mattresses and bedding, tea /coffee trays, and local produce for a delicious full English breakfast make for a very comfortable, welcoming and friendly B and B. Your host is a viola player and Alexander Technique teacher. Free parking immediately outside the garden gate. Singles are welcome, and children. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Appalachian Spring, Dartington Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing