We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Appalachian Spring B&B
Nearby Hotels
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Dartmoor Lodge(Ashburton)(Great Value!)
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$265
US$257
Travelocity
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$124
US$121
Priceline
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$92
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Durant Arms(Ashprington)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (98)
Filter reviews
98 results
Traveller rating
87
10
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
87
10
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfudgecott innlovely gardenbreakfast was deliciouscountry lanespoached eggsold househome from homebiscuitssouth devoncomfortable bedgreat place to staya real treatdartington halltonibedroomtotnes
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 98 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We have stayed in several B&Bs in the Totnes area and this is the best so far - we stayed in the Elmhirst room - very generously proportioned with large double bed - slightly unusual arrangement of shower in one corner and toilet in opposite corner but we soon got our bearings. Generous breakfast - we had to reduce our order after taking the full works the first morning! It is a traditional B&B not a guest house, so you will eat breakfast at a large table with fellow guests - so maybe not for you if you like to eat in splendid isolation - but you will almost certainly have something to say to anyone who has shared your good taste to pick out Toni and Appalachian Spring for your visit.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

This was a wonderful, friendly stay due to the warmth, generosity and friendliness of our hostess, Toni. We felt immediately at home as soon as we stepped through the door and thoroughly enjoyed our first night spent, unplanned, at the Totnes Folk Club with our hostess! What a delight, something we would never have discovered ourselves! Breakfasts were sociable get-togethers taken with the other guests and the food was freshly prepared and plentiful with delicious fruits and marmalade. Our bedroom was most comfortable with a bath, not just a shower cabinet, in which to soak. The garden is beautifully designed and tended and the location near Totnes, most convenient. We had a lovely, short visit and were really sorry to leave - we do hope to return one day. Thank you so much,Toni for your hospitality.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marionluton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

I have become a little disillusioned with TripAdvisor since it was purchase by Expedia and had vowed not to add further reviews but I felt I had to write this review after having stayed here on Sunday. Toni made us feel so welcome on arrival and her hospitality continued to be just perfect throughout our stay. As others have said, nothing is too much trouble.

The bedroom was perfectly clean, comfortable and well equipped. Breakfast was fantastic in terms of the ingredients used and how it was cooked. If you need somewhere to stay whilst in or around Dartington/Totnes then I would highly recommend this B&B.

Thank you Toni!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bsomerton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We just spent six very comfortable nights and enjoyed Toni's wonderful breakfasts featuring gorgeous local eggs. Toni was welcoming, friendly and was always helpful. Gluten-free eating was no problem, with a choice of gf cereals. We were house-hunting and Toni made sure we explored the right places and even showed us a local property. (But Toni's is nicer!) Toni is a musician and also teaches the Alexander Technique. We feel we have made a friend and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Celia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

We stayed for 3 nights. Great location which is convenient for the South Hams, Devon Coast and Dartmoor is only a few minutes away. Very comfortable accommodation and terrific hospitality from Toni for whom nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was all superb local produce. A great pre Christmas break which we plan to repeat.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MDAndAVPal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews