We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous”
other travellers have booked this property
View of back of Caithness from bottom of garden.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of back of Caithness from bottom of garden.
Front of house with parking area Front Door
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
View of back of Caithness from bottom of garden.
Front of house with parking area
Front Door
Kitchen Diner
Kitchen
View from dining room
Lounge
Lounge
Lounge
Downstairs Toilet
View from Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom with Super King Bed and TV
Master Bedroom with Super King Bed and TV
Main Bathroom
Main Bathroom
Main Bathroom
Bedroom 2 with King Bed and TV
Bedroom 3 with King Bed
Bedroom 3 with King Bed
Bedroom 4 with Double Bed and TV
Shower Room
Shower Room
Bedroom 5 with Single Bed
Bedroom 6 with Single Bed
View of rear garden and canal from Balcony
view of rear garden
A family of ducklings on the canal
A barge boat passing by on the canal
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Pontypool, Torfaen, Southern Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Amanda C
Uk
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 18 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018

The house and decking area was amazing. Spotlessly clean and very comfortable. We enjoyed the games room and family/kitchen area in particular. Bifold doors out on to the deck looking out over the canal - what more would we want! There were 5 adults in our group and we were in South Wales for a wedding so all getting ready at the same time and we were glad there were only 5 of us - just two showers would have been awkward had we had the house full to capacity of 10 people. That said we would definitely recommend and are highly likely to stay again. It was lovely.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sightseei...
Heysham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Caithness is AMAZING!”
Reviewed 4 August 2018 for a stay in July 2018

We stayed at Caithness for a weeks holiday with 5 adults and 2 children. There was so much space to relax and chill out and we found decking area was where we spent the majority of our time. All of the rooms were beautifully decorated with luxury bedding and really comfy beds with gorgeous views overlooking the garden and canal. The house itself was immaculate and spotlessly clean upon our arrival and it was an adventure to open all the doors one by one to discover what was hidden behind them. The games room and snug were a big hit with everyone. The kitchen had more than everything which was needed. We all were really impressed with every detail about Caithness and you couldn't ask for anything more from the owners or a holiday home. Superb.

The information left by the owners was absolutely brilliant and made our stay and suggestions of places to visit so easy. Excellent communication and correspondence with the very friendly owners, some of the best we have experienced.

The uniqueness and grandeur of this holiday home are not to be missed! What are you waiting for?? Book it!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venture53...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“60th birthday celebration”
Reviewed 3 July 2018 for a stay in June 2018
2
people found this review helpful

Amazing house. Fabulous facilities for both adults and children. Everywhere is immaculate with wonderful attention to detail. The owner even left a gift and card for the birthday girl, she was very touched.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dmsmith20...
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect Family Reunion location”
Reviewed 4 June 2018 for a stay in May 2018

What a great base for our family holiday, with the canal at the end of the garden and great facilities inside and out. High quality throughout, with a good combination of rooms, and very modern.
We had so much fun - chatting, paddling on the canal, playing pool and air hockey - an ideal social place.
Not surprised that this property is in demand, a thoroughly enjoyable stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hbroome
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“100th group of guests!”
Reviewed 8 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

We had an absolutely brilliant weekend at Caithness! It was a lovely surprise to be welcomed with bubbly and chocolates for being the 100th group of guests staying in this beautiful house!
We were very lucky with the weather and were able to make the most of the garden. The boat and canoes were a huge hit with our family and provided hours of fun!
As a group of 9 adults and 3 young children the house was plenty big enough for us all and the children loved being able to see boats and barges go past.
The house is very well equipped making a brilliant home from home break away. This is the most modern, clean and comfortable house that we have ever stayed in and we will certainly be coming back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derekjeav...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Caithness holiday home/Pontypool”
Reviewed 10 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

We would like to thank Alex /john for their warm welcome to their fabulous home it was far better once you got there the pictures on the web sight are great but the real house in person caters for your every need with no expense spared every thing is top of the range the children loved the games room the house is in a quiet cul de sac with plenty to do for all ages it's a fantastic location for any one into golf Susan & I would highly recmend this home from home to anyone wishing to visit wales thank you Alex

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo H
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way.”
Reviewed 9 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Family from all over the country gathered to celebrate two 70th birthdays. The house and it's amenities surpassed all our expectations and made for a fantastic family fun weekend. So well appointed, plenty of space and incredibly comfortable with lovely little touches to make for a superb time. Only wish we could have stayed longer.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing