We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“outstanding value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Pontypool Metro Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pontypool
Certificate of Excellence
Cambs
Level Contributor
80 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“outstanding value for money”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Stayed one night in Nov 13 when going to Cardiff for Rugby. Great hotel and unbelievable low price. Very clean and although Metro it is much better than any Holiday Inn Express I have stayed in and less than half the price of Holiday Inn Express. Room very clean and free secure parking. Staff very helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ydeoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    114
    16
    6
    1
See reviews for
69
143
22
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We went to this Best Western as we couldn't get into our usual Parkway at Cwmbran.We were a little wary about staying hete to say the least. All for nothing. The hotel could be situated better but upon arrival the car park is well laid out,the entrance is clean and inviting and the staff, well what can I say,they were friendly and very helpful.Our room was on the roadside but we couldn't here the road as the windows were closed.The room was shall I say compact and the bathroom was cosy. We had a walk in shower no bath but this was fine for us.We didn't eat here we went to the Harvester just off the roundabout.Breakfast was more than adequate,toast, cereal, fruit salad and juices along with tea and coffee. All in all a lovely place.However when we opened the window in the morning there was no way you could sleep with the noise from the road, make sure you ask for a room awsy from the road in the summer. Don't be put off going here it is a lovely place.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gbra263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PontypoolManager, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Pontypool Metro Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Gbra263

Thank you for your great comments, we very much appreciate you taking the time to leave a review and look forward to seeing you on your next trip to the area, perhaps you could try our breakfast hot items too. (beans, scrambled egg and bacon)

Liz St John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

Liz & Laura provided an excellent welcome, the hotel is very pleasant, good clean rooms (big improvement on the old Travel Lodge that used to be here). Nice breakfast in the morning & amazing crib facilities!

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Lynn_260755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Have just returned from a weekend at the Metro hotel and I must say it is a great place to stay for a break. The bedroom and the bathroom were beautifully furnished, and the beds were soooo comfortable. Lots of nice little extras, toiletries, tea, coffee, biscuits etc. The staff could'nt do enough for us to make our stay enjoyable. Great location for sightseeing walking and shopping in Cardiff. Will surely be returning very soon.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jpars0ns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

http://www.bestwestern.co.uk/docs/petfriendly.pdf This is not a dog friendly hotel, even though the web site says it is!!! http://www.bestwestern.co.uk/docs/petfriendly.pdf on the 26th September I booked 2 nights at Best Western Pontypool, arrival date 8th Nov. We checked the Pet Friendly list and Pontypool was listed (and still is, see web address above) but to be double safe we phone the contact number at the top of the web site and double checked. We arrived at the hotel last Friday to be told that they definitely where not a dog friendly hotel and hadn’t been since July when the hotel was refurbished. After the staff (lovely staff friendly, helpful and very pleasant) had discussed our dilemma with the supervisor we were invited to ‘phone’ the manager. She strongly advised us that no way would she allow a dog into the rooms and that the web site no longer had Pontypool as a dog friendly hotel. The twin room has very narrow beds, not really big enough for an adult.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel overnight, while travelling to West Wales and were very pleased with what we found. The staff were very pleasant and helpful, the newly decorated hotel was very attractive and welcoming.
The only small issue was the lack of tables at breakfast, as the hotel meals are served in the lounge bar, so the tip is - eat early!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are lovely and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PetetheHick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Spacious room with very comfortable bed and good en suite with bath as well as shower and lovely big fluffy towels. Well equipped accommodation even down to small details: washing line over the bath, bottle opener, effective hairdryer. Very clean and good quality furnishings. No problem finding it - our sat nav took us straight there. Ample secure parking. No lift, but easy, wide staircase. Ask for a ground floor room if that will be a problem to you. Convenient that a range of nice meals, reasonably priced and with locally sourced meat, is available in the evenings in the bar/breakfast area. Good range at breakfast, mainly continental but also bacon, scrambled egg and baked beans on offer. Nice touches, such as choice of whole or skimmed milk. Generally a very good, relaxing experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Gillstuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pontypool
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Cwmbran Hotel
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Pontypool Hotel
4.1 mi away
The Parkway Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa
6.3 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Newport
Hotel ibis budget Newport
#10 of 19 in Newport
546 reviews
8.9 mi away
Premier Inn Ebbw Vale Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Pontypool Metro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Pontypool Metro Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Pontypool Metro Hotel
Address: Lower Mill Field | Gwent, Pontypool NP4 0XB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Torfaen > Pontypool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pontypool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Pontypool Metro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first thing you'll notice when you step inside the BEST WESTERN Pontypool Metro Hotel is that it's a newly refurbished, boutique-style hotel, designed to put an instant smile on your face. So you'll be able to check in, sit back with a coffee from the on-site Starbucks, relax and enjoy your surroundings. A real gem of a hotel. Situated on the outskirts of Pontypool, The hotel is in an ideal location from which to explore South Wales - you'll be just a short distance away from a wealth of heritage, culture and countryside attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Pontypool Metro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BEST WESTERN Pontypool Metro Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing